We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do Better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest View Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Could do Better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night as part of a recent mini break. As we arrived in the car park we were met by a quite abrupt and rude gentlemen who proceeded to tell me that I could not park where I had and told me to move my car and park underneath the trees as they had seven other cars arriving that day. He stood and watched me park where I had to fight my way to the boot of my car through nettles to get our luggage - not a good start! Later we noticed that a white van had arrived and was able to park in my original spot.
Proceeded to check in and we were asked if we required breakfast in the morning, they should have known that we did as we had booked it, we were then told that breakfast was at 8.45am, no option.
Guest House is situated in a great location and we had a great view from our room, however the proprietors do seem to treat their guests in an unfortunate manner which is a shame as this place could be so much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill H, Owner at Forest View Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are in the fortunate position of having our own private off road FREE car park. We can with a squeeze fit in ten cars. Unfortunately we get people who are not even staying here trying it on by just leaving their cars to avoid paying the charge imposed on the other car parks.
It would appear from this review and a couple of other recent ones that people do not like being told how to park,and that I come over has grumpy or rude, I feel certain that these reviewers would be the first to moan if someone parked in their parking space or on there property.
So be ware if you are booking here, you may be met by an old, grumpy rude car park attendant.
But once inside I feel sure, just like a majority of our guests, you will feel relaxed and happy to be here and most of you are glad that the grumpy old man is keeping your cars and bikes and canoes safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    68
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
192
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

One of our favourite spots in the world and this hotel has the best views out of the available accommodation. It is also slightly removed from the hullabaloo so adds to the peaceful feeling. Stayed here twice and our room has been comfortable and roomy, with of course those views so no complaints. Our friends room however had a bath and over bath shower that was pretty hopeless. Breakfast not bad, made better by the view. Dinner poor, very basic and old fashioned. The terrace could be lovely but a bit neglected. Think would say the place generally doesn't meet it's potential. The breakfast waitress is delightful. The lady owner is pleasant but looks very stressed. The gentleman is in the wrong business! I think he perhaps has a quirky sense of humour as shown by the sign in the bar, says something like 'for dinner there are 2 choices, take it, or leave it' . Unfortunately his attitude comes across as tho he means that. The food, service and surroundings of the Saracens, 2 mins away are superb and the food and garden at the royal lovely.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room with a view, most of them have but make sure as without that view is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill H, Owner at Forest View Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I am sorry that our dinner menu, comes over to you as old fashioned, we did only offer a limited menu Steak, Lamb Shanks Fish and Chips etc Not sure what the in thing is in Birmingham at the moment,In fact we always try to encourage our guests to eat at the Saracens Head or The Royal because they specialise in evening meals.
regarding the terrace, yes it may look a bit tired but ninety nine% of our customers love to sit out there,away from the noise, screaming children and the constant flow of traffic. It has with out doubt the most stunning views in Symonds Yat.
Has for looking stressed, well yes it gets a bit that way at times, trying to please everyone is never easy, and I do have to live with Jon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The views were stunning and the location very peaceful. We arrived by canoe and the reception staff said we did not tell them this in advance, why we needed to was not clear. We found it Was not easy to get the canoe out of the river and store it.
For those who like B&B's from the last century this hotel is perfect as I felt it was dated. The rooms were comfortable and clean though dated in decor.
The rigid breakfast time was annoying, we were told breakfast was at 8.30, when asked if it was 'from 8.30' we were told it was AT 8.30 and if we arrived at 8.45 it would be in the bin! We were a little taken aback. The staff at breakfast time were pleasant however though the options were limited with a traditional English, a buffet style is more usual and preferable and the 'full English' a payable extra if you want it, I would suggest this would make the rigid breakfast time less of an issue perhaps!

Room Tip: River view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KPB1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill H, Owner at Forest View Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am sure some one will appreciate what you have to say.
I will try and respond to your points.
We need to know that you are arriving by canoe in case you are late and in that case we notify the river authorities, so not a case of being nosey more a case being protective.
We have always offered a full breakfast, if you want a buffet breakfast stay in the cities, and about the breakfast going in the bin, lighten up a bit in all our years no one has ever lost there breakfast.
We offer two times usually with a forty five minute gap too give real holiday makers a choice.
We really do like the time warp we are in, I have tried to explain this before, Forest View is a place to relax in and our certificate of excellence goes some way to proving that we generally get it right..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely and thoroughly enjoyable 5 night stay at the Forest View. The guest house is in idyllic surroundings and the minute you arrive you feel comfortable and at home. The sort of place where you can go to breakfast bare foot. Gill and Jon are a very friendly, hospitable couple who were full of useful tips from where to fish to where to eat. Symonds Yat itself is an ideal place to go walking/canoeing/fishing or just as equally do nothing but relax and look at the beautiful surroundings while watching the world go by at a leisurely pace. We will definitely be returning to Forest View in the future for another stay in Gill and Jons lovely home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileysroom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for just one night but wished we could have stayed longer. Lovely spacious room with fantastic views of the river. The bed was very comfortable. The only downfall was the hand held shower over the bath. The pressure was low and you could only have cold or hot water. Jill was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We had to leave early the next morning to spend the day on the river and an early breakfast was kindly arranged for us. The whole stay was a lovely experience and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perez717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We always stay here as a Wedding Anniversary treat! Forest View is in the ideal location looking both up and down stream on the River Wye.The managers are very friendly and alway extremely helpful. The breakfast staff are excellent and very friendly. The breakfasts are delicious and very good quality food.
The beds are very comfortable and we always sleep well!
The views are second to none:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianacathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

For the first time, we used this Guest House for a short stay (4 nights), and we were delighted in every way.
From the moment we arrived, we were made very welcome, the room was good, and the view from our room down the Wye to New Weir was spectacular. Throughout our stay, we felt that nothing was too much to ask for - and were pleased that prices for drinks were reasonable.
The area is beautiful, and we enjoyed getting lost in the woods (!). There are good places about for a meal, but sometimes the Guest House will do a meal. And if you want a real treat, have the Lamb Shank! I can still taste it!
Definitely a place worth considering for a future break.

Room Tip: The room on the left facing the River (No. 5???) has windows facing down river and across the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrygillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.6 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#11 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest View Guest House

Property: Forest View Guest House
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our four star guest-house. Visitors will be treated to a breakfast of their choice; much needed after the multitude of outdoor activities available on the doorstep. From short breaks to long stays, Gill and John do their best to cater for individual needs to make each stay unforgettable double and twin rooms offer panoramic river views, so for those who haven't managed the cycling, kayaking, hiking, fishing or climbing, they can still appreciate the famous Three Countries View (Gloucestershire, Herefordshire and Monmouthshire) from the comfort of their room. Stunning bed and breakfast accommodation with panoramic views of the River Wye. Set in over an acre of beautiful gardens with lawns, shrubs and ornamental fish-pond. Total of eleven double bedrooms, all with en-suites. Licensed Bar,Free Wi-Fi Internet available. Conveniently located for Cheltenham, Chepstow, Gloucester, Hereford, Monmouth and Ross-on-Wye. Excellent road links to Cardiff and South Wales.Private parking. Pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance. Check-in time from 2.30pm, Check-out time is no later than 10.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Forest View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest View Guest House Hotel Symonds Yat
Forest View Guest House Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing