We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location and nice people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest View Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bray nr. London U.K
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely location and nice people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Forest View basically for the fishing in the area. However we were very pleased with the lovely views of the river,the nice outdoor seating and garden area, and the general pleasant ambience of the Guest House and indeed the surrounding countryside.

We had some great fishing with Dave Harrell with some good barbel,chub and dace. Jon at the guest house is very knowledgeable about where to fish and can arrange fishing tickets and give advice.

Accommodation and breakfast were both excellent. A lovely weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela-Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    68
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
192
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blandford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay, lovely views from the room, really helpful staff, and very friendly. The garden was really nice place to sit to watch the birds and the canoes on the river. Would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the river although all the rooms can see the river but the ones at the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very pleasant stay at Forest View this week. The weather was stunning (which always helps) but possibly a bit too hot for the Barbel - although I managed to eek out a couple. Jon and Gill were very welcoming and Jon's expert knowledge of the River Wye is ideal to put you on the fish. Great setting, great place

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Olthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

excellent break at the forest view , on our arrival we was made welcome by John and Gill and shown to our room the rooms both had terrific views of the river and the forest of dean truly stunning , we had arranged to meet up with Dave Harrell the following morning for a days fishing
on the river wye , john had advised us where to fish and we where soon catching stunning barbel and chub in a picturesque setting , after the fishing it was back to the forest view for a few pints of the local cider which went down well and a lovely cooked steak dinner , the next day after a hearty breakfast we walked around the area , there are loads of well marked walks in the area including yat rock the site of nesting peregrines , there is also canoes , boat trips ect on the doorstep , I will be certainly be returning to the forest view maybe taking my bike next time ,thanks again John and Gill

Room Tip: Get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDoc456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Utterly fantastic location and extremely friendly and helpful staff. The view of the river is astonishing - especially in the morning sun. Best of all, despite Symonds Yat being overrun with people when we arrived (it was a beautiful day ... and it is a truly fantastic place) ... despite the throng of people, once your drive to the guest house it's like you're in a little oasis of calm. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Fantastic weekend, Jon and gill were very welcoming and friendly, the guest house is fab, clean and it a fantastic location, rooms were nice tidy and clean, nothing was too much trouble for both Jon and gill and as anglers Jon was on hand with his local knowledge!

Definitely will be returning, thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich13583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a great room with a large bow window that gave us views in both directions, up and down the river. Early each morning I would look out and see two big white swans and mallards, and later kayakers and canoers. There is a lovely walk you can take down one side of the river and then cross by a suspension bridge and walk back along the opposite bank until you come to a hand ferry where a ferryman will come in his boat to take you across - hand over hand by the cable above his head. Fascinating!
The people who run this place made us feel so welcome and the staff were great. We ate dinner 2 out of the 3 nights we stayed (excellent) and the 3rd at the nearby (walking distance) Saracens Head (also excellent).
I don't think you could find a better spot on the river: I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.6 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#11 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest View Guest House

Property: Forest View Guest House
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our four star guest-house. Visitors will be treated to a breakfast of their choice; much needed after the multitude of outdoor activities available on the doorstep. From short breaks to long stays, Gill and John do their best to cater for individual needs to make each stay unforgettable double and twin rooms offer panoramic river views, so for those who haven't managed the cycling, kayaking, hiking, fishing or climbing, they can still appreciate the famous Three Countries View (Gloucestershire, Herefordshire and Monmouthshire) from the comfort of their room. Stunning bed and breakfast accommodation with panoramic views of the River Wye. Set in over an acre of beautiful gardens with lawns, shrubs and ornamental fish-pond. Total of eleven double bedrooms, all with en-suites. Licensed Bar,Free Wi-Fi Internet available. Conveniently located for Cheltenham, Chepstow, Gloucester, Hereford, Monmouth and Ross-on-Wye. Excellent road links to Cardiff and South Wales.Private parking. Pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance. Check-in time from 2.30pm, Check-out time is no later than 10.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Forest View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest View Guest House Hotel Symonds Yat
Forest View Guest House Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing