We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest View Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place, great people, great location”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights and fished for two and a half days, weather was disappointing but this didn't dampen our spirits as we managed 6 decent chub and met and chatted to Dave Harrell who was very friendly and offered some great tips and advice and even gave us some of his own floats to help us fish better, a true gent, Jon and Jill are wonderful hosts and can't do enough for you, I will definitely be back soon, can't wait!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    71
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
198
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Gill and John were/are excellent hosts. Comfortable stay, food excellent and a pleasant stay with good company. Cannot wait to return. Well recommend Forest View. Good place to stay for walking, fishing and touring. Peaceful and tranquil

Room Tip: they were all facing the river wye
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed one night for wedding anniversary last minute booking.....Jon and Jill very welcoming attentive but not overboard....we had room 4 great view of the river, clean and comfortable..evening meal was fab...jill made a vegetable pie as I requested a vegetarian option when booking excellent choice.

Overall a great place to stay when visiting the area....would use again.

Room Tip: Go for a front view room of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toadaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Forest View is tucked at the bottom of the Symonds Yat East road. I think it's safe to say it's in the best place on the best side of the river. It's secluded but only a minute walk up the road to the pub, and it's the right place and side to get up Symonds Yat Rock, which overlooks this and all the other beautiful parts of the gorge.

You get to the free car park in front of Forest View by a U-shaped bend to the left (plenty of space to do the turn). Jill and Jon (Gill and John?), the main people who run Forest View, are more than decent people. They're accommodating, honest (Jon had misquoted me over the phone and, unsolicited, put that right soon as I arrived which was a pleasant surprise), eager to please but in no way overbearing. My girlfriend and I went through our breakfast choices and then Jill showed us to room 2. It's modest compared to other Forest View rooms apparently. It's lovely, though. The large window overlooks the river, and it gives a panoramic sweep of the east side of the village.

We aren't early risers but at least had the choice of breakfast at 0830 or 0915, thank God. (The worst I can say about my experience at Forest View, by the way, is that the shower is certainly no more than average.) We had a handful of breakfast options, including vegetarian and fish. I forget all the details: we both zoned in on the full English, which turned out to be an excellent decision. (I always wonder how the meat will be. We both as usual for us skipped black pudding, but I can attest sausage and crispy bacon were both tasty as hell.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just back from an excellent weekend away at a friends wedding Jon and Jill and all the staff were really great. We loved our room which was so comfortable and with lovely views (4), the welcome and care we received over the whole weekend was to a very high standered but at the same time it felt like home. As it was our first trip to Symonds Yat we have only been left feeling we want to return thank you again to Forest View and well done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halesowen
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

After several trips to symonds yat, forest view was one of the places we hadn't stayed in. On our arrival we were met by the owners Jon & Jill, both are extremely friendly & immediately made us feel welcome. It was a quiet weekend & we were upgraded to a lovely large room. The view from room 11 is stunning! The small bar is reasonably priced & nothing seems too much trouble. Breakfast the following morning was delicious & again the view from the dining room is superb. Forest view is clean, friendly & homely. We'll be back in the summer to sit on the terrace & watch the world go by!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bud6317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went there with my boyfriend for one night (he's 21 and im 18), it was a lovely stay, gorgeous food and a superb view. Ideal if you fancy a romantic meal and then a comfy snooze, we had room 12, it was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and the staff were really welcoming, after having a lovely lamb dinner the other half liked it that much John plated him up a lamb roll! We hope to be seeing you both this August and hopefully for a longer stay! X

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Charlottemariex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
1.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
117 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
819 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest View Guest House

Property: Forest View Guest House
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our four star guest-house. Visitors will be treated to a breakfast of their choice; much needed after the multitude of outdoor activities available on the doorstep. From short breaks to long stays, Gill and John do their best to cater for individual needs to make each stay unforgettable double and twin rooms offer panoramic river views, so for those who haven't managed the cycling, kayaking, hiking, fishing or climbing, they can still appreciate the famous Three Countries View (Gloucestershire, Herefordshire and Monmouthshire) from the comfort of their room. Stunning bed and breakfast accommodation with panoramic views of the River Wye. Set in over an acre of beautiful gardens with lawns, shrubs and ornamental fish-pond. Total of eleven double bedrooms, all with en-suites. Licensed Bar,Free Wi-Fi Internet available. Conveniently located for Cheltenham, Chepstow, Gloucester, Hereford, Monmouth and Ross-on-Wye. Excellent road links to Cardiff and South Wales.Private parking. Pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance. Check-in time from 2.30pm, Check-out time is no later than 10.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Forest View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest View Guest House Hotel Symonds Yat
Forest View Guest House Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing