We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forest View Guest House
Ranked #3 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

After several trips to symonds yat, forest view was one of the places we hadn't stayed in. On our arrival we were met by the owners Jon & Jill, both are extremely friendly & immediately made us feel welcome. It was a quiet weekend & we were upgraded to a lovely large room. The view from room 11 is stunning! The small bar is reasonably priced & nothing seems too much trouble. Breakfast the following morning was delicious & again the view from the dining room is superb. Forest view is clean, friendly & homely. We'll be back in the summer to sit on the terrace & watch the world go by!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bud6317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 291 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went there with my boyfriend for one night (he's 21 and im 18), it was a lovely stay, gorgeous food and a superb view. Ideal if you fancy a romantic meal and then a comfy snooze, we had room 12, it was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and the staff were really welcoming, after having a lovely lamb dinner the other half liked it that much John plated him up a lamb roll! We hope to be seeing you both this August and hopefully for a longer stay! X

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Charlottemariex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I absolutely love the village of Symonds Yat and this lovely little b and b is right in the centre, superbly located on the banks of the river. The b and b is elevated so provides lovely views. The b and b is clean and comfortable with pretty gardens and plenty of outside seating. The breakfast room also has a lovely view of tranquility and beauty. There is a car park (handy, as there is only a small public car park in the village) and a bar which wasn't open on the evening we stayed. We stayed in the room which has a forest view which was a bit far-fetched a description - if you creaked your neck you could see trees and also next door's garden. It was a pretty little room with everything you need for your stay apart from a comfortable bed! We found it hard to sleep in that bed but we were so chilled that it didn't get us down!
Breakfast was good value and a chilled affair.
We would go back but not stay in the same room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda-and-friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our second stay and there will be many more to come. You cant ask for more accomodating hosts. Would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. From walking to site seeing to fishing, whatever your passion , you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in February 2013.
We 'struck gold' both with the weather and this great guest house we found through Trip Advisor!
A wonderful view of River Wye up/downstream from our room (number 4) which was spotless We were the only guests for 2 of our 3 nights being mid week and were very well looked after enjoying super breakfasts cooked up by John and the wonderful hospitality of his wife Jill and staff.In addition to the on site bar you have a couple of pubs/bars within a couple of minutes walk.
For trips go to see Yat Rock with its fantastic views including nesting Peregrine Falcons (seasonal) The Dean Forest is right next door and there are lots of interesting drives and places to visit within a 30 minute drive or closer.
Ray and Chris Milton Keynes

Room Tip: The upper story rooms have fantastic views of river but believe nearly all rooms have great view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

stopped here in late January after travelling all day in snow from Ireland. We had a wonderful welcome from John and Gill and were taken to a lovely warm room with a wonderful snowy view of the valley and river. Shortly afterwards we settled down to a lovely dinner and a few well deserved drinks. We couldn`t have been made to feel more welcome. A great place to stay and we will obviously be returning soon. Thanks again John and Gill.

Room Tip: Any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

John and Gill make you feel very welcome.Rooms very comfortable,glorious views and hearty breakfasts set you up for the day.Food can be ordered for the evening and there is a cosy lounge and bar.I plan to return this Spring and would recommend the Forest View Guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollywoodpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
1.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
527 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
619 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
875 reviews
0 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest View Guest House

Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range: $95 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our four star guest-house. Visitors will be treated to a breakfast of their choice; much needed after the multitude of outdoor activities available on the doorstep. From short breaks to long stays, Gill and John do their best to cater for individual needs to make each stay unforgettable double and twin rooms offer panoramic river views, so for those who haven't managed the cycling, kayaking, hiking, fishing or climbing, they can still appreciate the famous Three Countries View (Gloucestershire, Herefordshire and Monmouthshire) from the comfort of their room. Stunning bed and breakfast accommodation with panoramic views of the River Wye. Set in over an acre of beautiful gardens with lawns, shrubs and ornamental fish-pond. Total of eleven double bedrooms, all with en-suites. Licensed Bar,Free Wi-Fi Internet available. Conveniently located for Cheltenham, Chepstow, Gloucester, Hereford, Monmouth and Ross-on-Wye. Excellent road links to Cardiff and South Wales.Private parking. Pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance. Check-in time from 2.30pm, Check-out time is no later than 10.30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Forest View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest View Guest House Hotel Symonds Yat
Forest View Guest House Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing