We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveler rating
485
140
38
15
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
485
140
38
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saracens head the pub boat house the river great food steak ate here pie for sunday lunch lovely lunch fresh fruit beautiful location selection of beers fish and chips cooked to perfection sit outside without exception
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 688 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2018

Came to visit for a meal - got a free brochure on walks in the area, a free pint of milk as we had run out, an excellent meal, free treats for our two dogs and a free ferry ride home across the river as we had dined at the pub. What an amazing experience at this restful relaxing waterside retreat. We would like to return and stay here as the rooms look great too.

Room Tip: We ate here we did not stay here and I cant get rid of sleep quality post sorry!!
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BackPacker537567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Visited the Saracens Head on numerous previous occassions over the years, but our visit this week whilst taking in the usual walk down by the river was very disappointing. We came away feeling almost ripped off given the price of the food on what was a very limited lunchtime menu. I'm sorry, but nearly £14 for fish and chips and £7 for a baguette (plus £3.25 for chips) is simply too much in my humble opinion. They advertise themselves as a AA 4 Star venue, yet you have to queue up and order your meal at a "hatch" in a room to the side of the bar. Having paid at the point of ordering there is no comeback if you're not happy with your meal. When your meal arrives at the table, any request for salt, pepper or other condimemts is met with the response "get it yourself from the baskets over there". Hmmm, not very 4 star service. After reluctantly deciding to skip eating here purely down to the high prices, we opted for 2 packet of crisps, a pint of Abbot Ale and a Carling shandy. I wish comeone could explain to me how a pub justifies £4.20 for a pint of Carling Lager shandy. Anyway, paid a visit to the gents on the way out to find no hot water and the hand air dryers not working.
I fear the Saracens Head has got too greedy, and is able to get away with their prices given the lack of competition in the area. Sorry Saracens Head, but you're just lost a long time customer. Pity.....

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolo25, Public Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

We thank this reviewer for their review, however there are a few points that we feel it is important to respond to.
The Saracens Head Inn has an AA rating of a 4 star INN ( which is clearly stated on our signage ). This is not to be confused with a 4 star
hotel. Should this reviewer have BOOKED a table, they would have been given table service - but, being a rather busy establishment, we cannot offer table service to non-bookings at lunchtimes.
Regarding the pricing - we strive to serve high quality food, and due of the cost of high quality ingredients and the cost of employing top quality chefs, we have to charge these prices. We would like to think that if this reviewer had ACTUALLY EATEN at the establishment, then they might realize that the pricing matches the quality. We are certainly not driven by greed as is suggested - this is an affront and a real cheap shot that should be seen as what it is.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

There are only two choices for dinner in Symonds Yat East if you do not want to drive. We tried the Sarcens Head and never had to look elsewhere. Perfect, classy but unpretentious pub food. Mussels to die for!

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank GeoffRuthHudds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

Spent 10 days in the area in early September and visited on three occasions. The pub is situated on the river with lovely views and operates the hand rope ferry including a singing ferryman who draws applause from the garden patrons on each crossing.

A good selection of beers and the pub burgers are amazing (double deckers, bacon, relish, pickles and fries. Very filling!). Can get busy here although there seems to be plenty of staff.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Had a friend to stay so did a boat trip on the Wye followed by lunch. Order quite slow to arrive - it was busy - then friend’s meal incorrect. Quickly redone and food was excellent - soft shell crab, mushrooms on toast and smoked salmon sandwiches - with chips. Not inexpensive but food and views worth the premium. Helped by sitting outside in glorious sunshine.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank diannefdix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews