We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Rate Staff - Great Food - Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Saracens Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just spent a brilliant weekend at the Saracens Head. River was high but not at all a problem.
First prize regarding this place does not go to the absolutely fantastic location or the great food it goes to the staff. We have stayed in hotels all over the world and can say without doubt that the staff are up there with the best. They could not have been more attentive, helpful and professional. Whist the evening meal was highly commendable the breakfasts were superb. We can not recommend this place highly enough and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank db08132014h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 607 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Ate here Saturday evening, had a starter to share, beetroot tarte tatin with goats cheese ice cream, a really weird combination that worked incredibly well despite not really being a fan of beetroot, I loved the rest of it! As for our mains, I had lamb rack which was totally amazing, but so much that I couldn't finish, and my husband had pheasant, which he only just about managed to finish. I was not expecting the quantity of food received and was pleasantly surprised by the amount and the quality, it wasn't cheap pub food, but well priced excellent restaurant food, I would happily eat here jagain and again if only to try the other 4 or 5 things I had my eye on, on the menu! I ended up having a doggie bag and eating the rest of mine for my Sunday dinner, just as nice then too!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SJG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We went here last Sunday after a walk, we were nearly 30mins late for our table and got there with 10 mins to spare before the kitchen shut. The staff were helpful whilst encouraging urgency for ordering and the food was good - sadly I diidn't fancy a roast as that was our prime reason for going. However, everyone-elses looked lovely! My partners in grime had spinach and goats cheese stuffed pasta which was way tastier than I thought it would be (not a pasta fan) and my lemon sole was very good. The kids food was bought out first and quickly which was perfect. Thanks guys. Main disappointments were down to our own planning and no fault of the pub :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We visited the Dog and Muffler in Jan 2014 and received terrible service, the Saracens head is polar opposite.
We turned up at 2.45pm and the staff were very attentive and couldn't help us enough. Basic sandwiches were avail at this time but very well priced and nice environment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenEgerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend and can definitely say I would return. The place oozes olde-worlde charm, and the location can't be beaten. The food is outstanding, in terms of quality of ingredients and the chef's skills at cooking & presenting it. Someone below suggested the focus was on "plentiful comfort food" and while there is plenty of it, and they do make their own pies, it's far from "pub grub". This is a restaurant to match any inn.

The beers were also outstanding, with 4-5 real ales, all in perfect condition.

As you'd expect with a building of this age, the rooms are not ultra modern, and the windows do let a draught through, but the log fire downstairs keep the radiators scorching constantly, and with temperatures close to zero outside, I was never cold in my room.

Walking in the valley and forest is superb, but the good weather certainly helped. I would definitely recommend this place for both food and accommodation, but I don't think I'd want to go In Season - it clearly draws the crowds, and the lane is narrow - if you like peace & quiet, then Out Of Season or midweek is the way to go.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Real_Yorkshire_Kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

lovely place to stay for a short weekend overlooking the river. rooms small but spotless view stunning, food fantastic the steak is superb and the breakfast is plentiful but you do the walking to burn it off. really good walks brilliant place to chill out for a few days.

Room Tip: river view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevorhealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having lived nearby 45 years ago I decided to go back for a visit as a tourist. We had a great trip which was made very nice with our overnight at The Saracens. The room was very comfortable if a little pricey. The evening meals were very good and the breakfast great (its nice to have one cooked for you rather than from a buffet!). Staff were friendly. Its a great location

Room Tip: River views cost more, but it was worth it for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesNMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
605 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
511 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
418 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saracens Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Inn

Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range: $124 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saracens Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saracens Head Inn has stood for centuries in its spectacular position on the east bank of the River Wye where the river flows into a steep wooded gorge, on the edge of the Forest of Dean. Popular with walkers, cyclists, canoeists, fishermen and fans of good food and real ales, the Inn has a relaxed ambiance throughout, from the flagstone bar to the cozy lounge and stylish dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Saracens Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saracens Head Hotel Symonds Yat
The Saracens Head Inn Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing