We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Saracens Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Saracens Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My in laws have just returned from staying two nights/three days at the Saracens Head for their 54th Wedding Anniversary!!! So have more than a little life experience to draw upon to comment on their stay there.
They stayed in room 10 overlooking the river Wye and cannot speak highly enough of the care and attention paid to them by all the staff, from breakfast to their evening meal they found the staff to be very friendly and helpful whether they were busy or not.
They were very impressed with the food and extensive menu and so loved the 'Family' run element to this privately owned business and already talk about returning. Management and staff if you do get to read this, THANK YOU for making their stay a lifetime memory.

Room Tip: stayed in room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    112
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
80
288
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Having visited the Saracens Head for lunch and dinner in the past, we had no hesitation in booking a short stay at this marvellous Inn. The setting is stunning and the rooms, food and service are excellent. This is an ideal location for anyone wanting to explore the Wye Valley, or further afield. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willaston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at The Saracens Head, Symonds Yat, whilst on a business trip, on Sunday 15th September. My room was in the boathouse & was large with a super ensuite. The staff on checking in were very helpful & this followed with my meal which was excellent with great attentive service. Breakfast was really good - they even served this early for me as I had an early meeting. I cannot recommend this pub/hotel highly enough as it is a little gem - privately owned & extremely well run by the staff & owners. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were very fortunate to find this delightful old inn right beside the beautiful River Wye. The location is magical with wonderful views along the river and a quaint old hand pulled ferry across the river. The staff were very welcoming on arrival and throughout our stay. Our room was first class and the food delicious. The selection of beers in the bar overlooking the river was very impressive. We climbed the path behind the hotel to the viewpoint at Symond's Rock which has tremendous views over the winding River Wye valley including sheer limestone cliffs where peregrine falcons nest. Then we walked west along the riverside path across the footbridge to the iron age Little Doward Hillfort inspecting a limekiln on the way. The hotel staff had told us about these walks when we arrived. Altogether a lucky find to be highly recommended.

Room Tip: If desired, some rooms have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hundalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Called here on a circular walk from Christchurch. Really lovely lunch ..can recommend the ploughmans' which had a choice of meats and cheeses husband chose the beef which was absolutely perfectly cooked ...such a change these days. Only criticism is maybe too much for one person!

Dog friendly ,unique trip across the Wye what's not to like?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had always fancied stopping here and was thrilled to discover they had a room available as we were passing through. The room was compact but very comfortable and had a lovely view overlooking the river. The en-suite bathroom was spotlessly clean, comfortable and very modern. The staff were hardworking and very friendly and breakfast was excellent. Dinner was good and there was a friendly, lively atmosphere. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I stopped by when half way through a days kayaking along the River. We had worked up a serious appetite so were thrilled that the 7 of us could order food and sit together by a fire. The menu was nice and offered something for everyone. I had a Chicken and Paprika pie served woth veg and swede mash.. it was amazing! Would definitely visit again if in the area!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
4.0 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saracens Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Inn

Property: The Saracens Head Inn
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saracens Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saracens Head Inn has stood for centuries in its spectacular position on the east bank of the River Wye where the river flows into a steep wooded gorge, on the edge of the Forest of Dean. Popular with walkers, cyclists, canoeists, fishermen and fans of good food and real ales, the Inn has a relaxed ambiance throughout, from the flagstone bar to the cozy lounge and stylish dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Saracens Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saracens Head Hotel Symonds Yat
The Saracens Head Inn Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing