We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavoursome foodie pub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Saracens Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flavoursome foodie pub”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely Symonds Yat we have been coming here for years but only recently to the Saracens Head for food pity no Wye Valley bitter but never mind made do with good red wine instead we enjoyed starter, main and pudding, excellent Welsh Black Sirloin steak soo tender no need for steak knife. My husbands pudding was the mixed berry cheesecake homemade of course well done SH we will be back soon Oh and really friendly staff

Sellack

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    112
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
87
304
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night in April and had a fantastic time! The location is breathtaking, right next to the river with views around the valley.

Our room was compact but comfortable, with crisp white linen and fluffy towels. Everything was very fresh and clean. As our room was over the main part of the pub, and looking out to the river, it was a little noisy, but once the bar shuts at 11pm it quietens down!

There are 6 different real ales on tap, plus a huge selection of bottled ciders. The wine list is varied and interesting, and there is a large range of soft drinks and juices.

We had dinner at the pub both evenings. If you're staying in the pub a table is automatically reserved for you in the residents dining room, which is good, as all tables in the pub - both inside and out - were packed to the rafters! It's obviously a very popular place.

We both had steaks, which were easily the best steaks we'd ever had! Cooked to perfection and a good sized piece of meat. The chips were fantastic too and very plentiful. All rounded off with a nice bottle of Malbec. The steaks were the most expensive thing on the menu (£18-£20), the rest of mains are around £10-£15, so not outrageous. In fact, the food and wine were both so good we ate exactly the same the next night!

Breakfast was excellent - juices, cereal, yoghurts, and fresh fruit to start and then a choice of cooked. Full English, smoked haddock, kippers, smoked salmon. All freshly cooked and delicious! Tea and coffee is good too and the friendly staff are very efficient and happily provide refills if you want more.

The Saracens Head is literally half a mile from Symonds Yat rock. There's a lovely woodland walk (uphill!) if you turn left out of the inn and then follow the signposts. There's a stunning viewpoint and details of walks you can do.

The only small niggle is the parking at the inn - there are 5 (free) spaces which are notionally reserved for residents, but as it gets so busy it's a bit of a free for all. The rest of the parking in the area is pay and display between 8am-6pm. Both evenings (fortunately we arrived after 6pm) we had to park in the P&D and then play 'hawks' in the beer garden and watch and and wait for one of the Saracens Head spaces to become free! (If only to avoid getting out of bed at 8am to move it or to pay for parking!).

We had a lovely time, and can't wait for a return visit - thanks Pete and the rest of the team!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a 1 night stay prior to a meeting nearby the following morning. Arrived approx 7pm on mild spring evening. inviting pub, waterfront location, great selection of beer & cider and a good menu.
Room was good for the cost and actually better than expected from the website. Good sized room, SKY TV and a decent modern clean bathroom. The location really makes this place and I'd return with family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank expressaris_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights, as a base for Symonds Yat rock. It's a great location, perfect fit rock climbing, hiking, canoeing and exploring the Forest of Dean. It's an old building so as you could imagine the rooms are quite small, but we had a view of the river, and the bed was comfortable. The shower room was Okay- electric shower lacked punch a bit, but the room and shower room was clean and well presented, no kitch, no dirt. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Be aware that the rooms are right above the pub bar area so if your in bed early you'll be able to hear the bustle downstairs - it's not too loud and if your from the city it's probably normal, but if your used to silence at night it might be a concern. You could ask for a room further along the corridor. The big treat was the wonderful breakfasts. Lovely fresh fruit and hot croissants and pain au chocolat and a great English breakfast, or haddock salmon or kippers to get you going for the great out doors. At £80 per night it's not the cheapest option but the location a breakfasts probably merit it. Plenty of space to park right outside too, which is a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankScottF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a contrast, the last time we stayed it was a winter Narnia covered is snow and magical. This week its transformed into Spring with a Dawn chorus second to none. Delicious food and wine as usual, a restful nights sleep in crisp white linen and then the dawn chorus. We left the windows open so that we could hear the birdsong at dawn and were awakened to the beautiful sounds of the valley and river. Such a peaceful spot at any time of year, and then that bostin breakfast, bliss.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but for a special treat try 10, 11 or 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barry_topping_morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Thanks to all at the Saracens Head Inn for making our break fantastic. We've been going here every year for the last 6 or 7 years. The rooms provide all the necessities and the food at breakfast and dinner is great. Of course the bar is also another plus. It's close by to the Forest of Dean for the many choices of walks and cycling. It's also ideally located for the cycle from Symonds Yat to Monmouth. Already looking forward to next year's trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissK70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The food here is expensive for a pub and the menu pretentious, unfortunately if you are staying at Symonds Yat East and do not want to drive anywhere this is the only place for an evening meal, the staff are very pleasant and the pub is good with a selection of beers but it would benefit from some more basic realistically priced food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
4.0 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
540 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
113 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
375 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saracens Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Inn

Property: The Saracens Head Inn
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saracens Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saracens Head Inn has stood for centuries in its spectacular position on the east bank of the River Wye where the river flows into a steep wooded gorge, on the edge of the Forest of Dean. Popular with walkers, cyclists, canoeists, fishermen and fans of good food and real ales, the Inn has a relaxed ambiance throughout, from the flagstone bar to the cozy lounge and stylish dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Saracens Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saracens Head Hotel Symonds Yat
The Saracens Head Inn Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing