We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay, wonderful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Saracens Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Enjoyed our night here: stayed for a family party which unfortunately was held elsewhere. All the rooms were lovely, especially the one with the river views. Newly refurbished bathrooms in two rooms were great. All the rooms were well appointed and very clean. Breakfast was very pleasant too. The welsh dresser with all the fresh fruit, cereals, croissants and juices was outstanding and the kids loved it.

We are planning to come back as a couple for a bit more romance because it is a romantic setting and also we did not have chance to eat at the pub which we are reliably informed is well worth the visit. Nice welcome from the staff who explained everything, especially about the route through the pub if you come back late, as we did, and the alarms are set.

Room Tip: River views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 607 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had called in advance to state we would be arriving early and were pleased to find our room was already prepared. The staff was very courteous, friendly and promptly attended to our needs. Dinner, breakfast and the service that went with them were very good. Our room was of adequate size, quite clean and had a nice view of the river. The only drawback to our room was we were right above the door leaving the bar and could hear it open and shut, but that stopped before we went to bed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMac150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

One of the best locations I've had the pleasure of for a pub setting. Great to watch the sun come down whilst drinking a few leisurely beers. However, the pub is more of an institution than a 'boozer' and annoying gripes like serving condiments in sachets and charging for the hand ferry to come from the other side of the river to their pub to spend money didn't sit so well. Great location as I say, just a bit commercial.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AvidTraveller684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolo25, Public Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We thank this reviewer for their comments, but feel we must reply to some of the points made.
To call the Inn an institution rather than a 'boozer' is quite a compliment. There aren't many 'boozers' left - pubs have obviously had to adapt to servive. The 'annoying gripe' of serving sauces in satchets is solely because it is the most hygienic way to serve them
( especially if a huge percentage of your meals are served al fresco, as ours are ). To address the other 'annoying gripe' of charging for the hand ferry crossings, we point out; the hand-ferry has always had a charge ( in living memory anyway ). Also, the reviewer does not grasp that not all of the people who use the hand ferry actually come into the Inn, as it forms part of a very popular circular walk. Hence we do have to pay someone to provide the service daily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

After looking at the dinner menu, my husband and I decided we would have a meal at The Saracens Head Inn. What a brilliant choice. The service was impeccable, the ambience just perfect and the starter of a Fish Platter for 2 was delicious. For our main course, we chose the Pie of the Day - umm it was steak and root veg with more veggies. We also opted for a basket of hand cut chips to share and finished off the evening with a pudding. We were not rushed and it was a superb meal. Both of us are very discerning when it comes to dining out and like to enjoy good food and hate getting ripped off as well as putting up with badly cooked meals. So, if you want great food, good surroundings and the service to match, then choose this waterside inn. The staff were most friendly and welcoming, well trained and it was obvious to us that they cared about their customers. We stayed in the area for 2 nights and unfortunately for us, we made the mistake of having the next evening meal at a nearby establishment which was more expensive and not nearly as good!



We

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cat4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

From the moment we arrived we received excellent customer service. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and generous. We have stayed at some terrible places and were so relieved to finally stay at place that has is worth coming back to. The food was the best we have ever had; we didn’t want to eat anywhere else on our four night stay. Lots of choices for breakfast and the best quality produce. Our room was well equipped and clean. I cannot wait to come back and we will be back very soon.
Thank you for a such a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We decided to escape London for a quiet few days before the craziness of our wedding starts..After a nightmare trip compliments of satnav we arrived but had missed the end of food, The extremely friendly staff soon rallied around to supply us a lovely platter of sandwiches and at gone 10pm it was very much appreciated.
|We had a great long weekend here, Lovely rooms with all you need and a fantastic breakfast included in the very reasonable room rate!
Great evening meals accompanied by well kept and a good choice of beer and wine, considering the pure volume of people in and out of the place all day everyday I think the Management along with their staff deserve a big pat on the back ,With the economic climate hitting so many of our country pubs sideways it was a real treat to see one so bustling!
The hand ferry is a lovely tradition as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smoke81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Large group of 5 families, advance booking and pre order on mains. Steak and ale pie was delicious, children's meals good but price should include ice cream. Service very slow for puddings which were very disappointing. Too many ice cream sundae choices which were over priced. Daughters icecream came out last for the group.

Great location, good main courses, average service, book in advance as very popular due to location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveLifeToTheFull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
605 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
499 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
418 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saracens Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Inn

Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range: $124 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saracens Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saracens Head Inn has stood for centuries in its spectacular position on the east bank of the River Wye where the river flows into a steep wooded gorge, on the edge of the Forest of Dean. Popular with walkers, cyclists, canoeists, fishermen and fans of good food and real ales, the Inn has a relaxed ambiance throughout, from the flagstone bar to the cozy lounge and stylish dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Saracens Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saracens Head Hotel Symonds Yat
The Saracens Head Inn Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing