We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Symonds Yat
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great place to rest and enjoy homemade cakes and other delights”

Rose Cottage Tea Garden
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Symonds Yat
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After our walk best way to rest and enjoy a nice pot of tea and cakes .Had to wait awhile as the lady was busy but she did keep us informed that she would be coming to take our order. It was a lovely day the place was busy Good choice of food on the menu we only had cakes there was plenty of other items like sandwiches /bagettes ,cream teas.Nice place to soak up the river and just relax watching the world go by.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Stopped here for a quick lunch while visiting Symonds Yat.

The terrace outside was lovely in the sunshine with amazing views of the valley and river.

The service was quick and the food was generous and great quality.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Polar_Ski_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

A brief rain shower after a lovely walk up and down the river (across the suspension bridge downstream) made for an unplanned stop at Rose Cottage, attracted by the outdoor seating with canopies and umbrellas.
There were plenty of seats available, just as well as it quickly became very busy.
Service was friendly and very efficient, Helen had "the best scone I have had in a long time", Eddie and i enjoyed our fruit cake greatly (just like mother used to make).
Refreshed ready for our next stop......

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lilacwheaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

The homemade scones were served warm and were beautifully soft and fresh. At £4.50 to include tea or filter coffee, this was excellent value, especially considering it's in a prime tourist area. We also ordered a baguette which again was slightly warm, fresh and a good amount of filling. The staff were pleasant and friendly.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Lovely tea shop. Nice choice of cakes,baguettes,teas and coffees, Lovely views of the river sitting outside. The coffee and walnut cake was delicious.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank WelshLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Cottage Tea Garden also viewed

 
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 

Been to Rose Cottage Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing