We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for a short break”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wyewood Cottage

The cottage seen from the communal gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage seen from the communal gardens
The beautiful communal gardens The Gardens leading to the River Wye
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
57 reviews
The cottage seen from the communal gardens
The beautiful communal gardens
The Gardens leading to the River Wye
A misty morning over the river Wye
THE view of Symonds Yat from the rock
The light bright sitting room
Washing machine/drier
The modern bathroom with shower
Hall way
Bedroom one
Bedroom two
Hand-pull ferry at Symonds Yat
Canoeing the Wye with one of the cottages' own canoe
Two of the bikes available at the cottage
Playing pool in the garage at Wyewood Cottage
Table tennis in the garage at Wyewood Cottage
Nearby Llantoney Abbey
Early morning view from Symonds Yat rock over the river Wye
Another view of gardens and cottage
Wyewood from the gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
royandnit...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal for a short break”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Smashing cottage, extremely well equipped. Ideal for exploring this part of the country.
River Wye literally on the doorstep. Forest of Dean and and much more a short drive away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in a gorgeous setting”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Wyewood cottage was absolutely lovely and had everything we needed. The views were stunning. We enjoyed our long walks and bike rides and our girls loved the pool table and having a game of table tennis! I would highly recommend the Wyewood Cottage for a holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Thank you. I hope to be able to welcome you back at a future date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobeTrot...
1 review
“Very disappointing holiday”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I can't understand the positive reviews this property has been given. The area is indeed beautiful but we were extremely disappointed with the accommodation.
I would not describe it as a cottage, it is effectively a 2 story flat above a garage with access at the rear. The outside sitting/bbq area is also at the rear and in the walkway between other properties. It's shaded, very public and not at all attractive. The décor inside is very shabby with stains on the sofa arms, scuff marks on the walls, and old and tired fixtures and fittings. The living room is too small too eat in and do anything else. The dining table is folded up in the corner and when extended it takes up all the floor space.
We have stayed in dozens of UK holiday rental properties over the years and this is by far the worst. We were so disappointed we only stayed for a couple of nights and then cut our losses and went home.
Other properties in the same complex looked much smarter with wooden floors, log burning stoves, smart furniture and had doors at the front rather than at the back. They appear to cost the same as Wyewood cottage. I would recommend them or others nearby rather than this property if you want to explore the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2017
Most of my 36 other reviews have been five star (the remainder four star). It has been known as 'Wyewood Cottage' since being built, the photos on the web site make it abundantly clear what type of building it is, and that it is set in extensive grounds. Mr Bradford claimed a refund, but only over a week after leaving Wyewood, at no time did he contact me when he was at the cottage. I do not recognise his description of the cottage and I am confident that future guests will think the same as me on this matter. To suggest that the dining table "takes up all the floor space" is simply absurd. Whilst he is entitled to his opinion, I am confident that future guests will not feel the same way about Wyewood Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaky29
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a location!”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

While i would not disagree with an earlier review about needing a little TLC, given half an hour you see the true character of the location. The cottage was exceptionally well stocked with just everything you could imagine. If there was one thing I would add it would be a clock in the kitchen!
The area, it should be said is completely unsuitable for people with mobility issues.
Beauty of the surroundings, even in the rain made our stay special. The dogs were completely exhausted each and every night.
Particularly enjoyed a visit to Hay On Wye, we went on Thursday which was market day. But we also visited Monmouth, Ross, Chepstow, Tintern, Hereford and Ledbury.
We WALKED up the hill to the Yat Rock and the view was outstanding. As was the 365 steps (just the steps not the rest of the climb) on the way into Chepstow after Tintern. Both climbs are well worth what comes as the top.
To my disappointment I learnt on the last day there was a rope bridge to cross over the river at Biblins which I would have loved to do, but that will have to wait for next time!
If you like nature and walking, give it a go

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. There are maps at the cottage which show the suspension bridge at Biblins.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natsz2016
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed July 4, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely location, within easy reach to The Saracens Head, Ye Old Ferrie Inn, walks and the cycle track. We also really liked the bikes, pool table and dart board in the garage, and although the house itself was good and well equipped, it is in need of a referb, and the area outside the front door also needs some TLC.
This property is great for people who are mobile, however you do need to be aware that there are quite alot steps to get into the property so wouldn't be suitable for people with mobility issues.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
I am in the process of refurbishing. There is now a new oven and induction hob and a new settee in the lounge and new garden furniture at the front of the cottage. It is made clear in the information on the website that there are steps to the door and that it is not suitable for people using wheechairs etc.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn M
1 review
“A little jem”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wow What a Jem, A fantastic cottage ..clean every thing you needed was there.. Good for walks pubs etc . Definitely be booking again. XX.. .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2017
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charwill7...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location.”
Reviewed March 25, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Loved the location with walks along the river - close to pubs and easy access across river via hand ferry!! The cottage was well equipped although we felt it needed a little TLC in places. The garage was a huge hit with our teenagers who loved the pool/ table tennis and darts. A very relaxed weekend , enjoyed by all, including our dogs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing