We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day!”
Review of Wye Canoes Ltd

Wye Canoes Ltd
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in beautiful Symonds Yat on the banks of the Wye at the 15 century pub Ye Old Ferrie Inn, Wye Canoes are the Premier Adventure Company in the Wye Valley and provide highly Experienced and Professional Canoe and Kayak Hire, River Guiding, Paddlesport Instruction, Climbing, Caving, Bushcraft, Gorge Walking, Mountain Biking etc. With the best location and the most experienced Instructors we have everything you need for an unforgettable experience for a half day, full day or multi-day trip anywhere along the Wye Valley and both Bunkhouse and B&B accommodation is available. We hold an AALA license for Youth Groups and are an approved BCU Centre and Duke of Edinburgh Activity Provider.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful day!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was a fantastic day out - loved every minute! We go every year (sometimes twice) and we are both over 60 so don't be mislead into thinking that it is a young person's sport. You will feel tired when you finally get back to the start point but the views alone make it all worth while. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    12
    3
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Spend the extra £5 for the others”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

These guys couldn't oraganise a p up in a brewery!!!

We got there at 8:45 like told and the guys had the canoes all loaded and ready to be hooked up and go very fast we were well impressed! Ths lasted all of 5 mins. People kept turning up and then not having a canoe but kayak now the company new this so weren't they already on the trailier simple really! It got to 10 and having heard excuses of truck having a flat tyre and the keys were taken by someone else for the spare mini bus, they couldn't fit us all on the bus so we had to wait 30 mins for another, we were told that by the time the other bus had dropped the people the boats would be waiting for us at Ross!!!! We got to Ross and waitied 45mins all the kit no boats. Whilst there we saw other companies packing up as they had already put the people in the water! So from getting there at 8:30 it was 11:45 when we got into the water, we were still told as full day booking we have to be back for 4:30-5!!
It's well worth going to the river Wye it's really fun small rapids and there's one place all you hear is birds and animals its AMAZING.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyeCanoes, Owner at Wye Canoes Ltd, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
I am so sorry for your inconvenience on the day of your trip. As you mention in your review we do go to great lengths to get our equipment ready prior to our customers arriving, and on the day of your trip we had loaded trailers with all the proposed equipment. One problem is that a number of separate customers join together to form a group and a scheduled trip, and sometimes some customers in that group can arrive late or have brought more or less people with them than they had previously booked for, and although we try to accommodate changes in individuals circumstances as much as possible, this can result in having to change what canoes or kayaks we loaded that previous evening and unfortunately sometimes this also can have a knock on effect to a tight schedule. We are very clear that we ask customers to arrive 15 minutes before their start time which it sounds like you did, so for 9 am trip it's 8.45 am which allows for traffic etc, then it takes 30 minutes to fill out paperwork, kit you out and give you a paddle and safety briefing, then at 9.30 am we leave to travel to your start point which can be up to 30 minutes drive away, then we have take canoes and equipment of trailers if they are not already there and allocate boats to people, the a final check and it's time to hit the water, so ideally we are looking at a start paddling time of 10-10.30 am and 99% of the time that is the case. We have introduced a new policy that if customers are late we will try to still get those customers on the river ASAP but the customers that turned up on time will take priority and will leave at the allotted time without waiting for the rest of the group. Its difficult because traffic can be an issue for people turning up but we feel that it is not fair if those issues effect the day for customers such as yourself that did manage to arrive in time. Issues like flat tyres sadly I'm afraid can not be helped and although are extremely rare are unfortunately part of life, most of the time there is a spare vehicle to take its place rather than wait the few minutes to get it repaired, if I remember correctly the day you are referring to the puncture was on the canoe trailer so there is no quick substitute and the spare tyre would have had to have been put on, but we apologise that you had to wait. I am sure that our staff would have made the repairs as soon as possible and tried their best to get you on the river ASAP. With regards to the wrong equipment being at the start point I can't really comment I'm afraid, we either drop canoes off at the launch sites well in advance of your trip or tow your canoes behind your minibus so this should not be an issue but I apologise if this was the case and we appreciate all feedback either good or bad so that we can apply the necessary changes to our procedures so that we avoid situations like this happening in future. You certainly should not have been told to be back at the time you were, and you should have been given longer to complete your trip, again I am not sure who told you when you needed to be back, we do have a cut off time for return for safety reasons but we do adjust return times for unavoidable delays in launching should they happen,so again I'm sorry that this was not the case in your situation. It is not right to have to make excuses for bad customer service we should have got it right the first time, we go to great lengths to make sure we have the highest trained staff in the industry and that we provide a fantastic experience to thousands of people that book with us, and we can only do this by receiving feedback from people such as yourself so I would like to say a big thank you an hope that you would consider coming back to us again, so that you can see how the 99% of happy customers see their Wye Canoes Wye Valley Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wye Canoe with this company?”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Decided to book this as a family treat. We were disappointed by the whole experience. Firstly we were sent to the wrong meeting point and waited for an hour. No one bothered to call us. We finally got on the water an hour and a half after we were due to start. Because we waited so long to start, we were put on a shorter trip (1.5 hours rather than 3). The canoeing was lovely. However, when we finished, we waited an hour and a half to be collected. No one from the company called to let us know why they were so late (they used the holiday traffic excuse). We spoke to a lady on the phone who was rude and seriously needs to work on her customer service skills. We were reimbursed half the cost but spent more time waiting than canoeing. Terrible communication and customer service. Would not use again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank laura r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart W, Owner at Wye Canoes Ltd, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
I am very sorry for the confusion and I am very sorry that we were unable in this instance to provide you with the fantastic Wye Canoes experience we pride ourselves on, but we did try so hard to deal with some variables that we had no control over that day.

Firstly I am very sorry for the mistake in sending you to the wrong location, we had planned on opening a second location just half a mile away from our main base but there was a change in date of the move and although we were able to make sure just about everyone knew where they were going I am afraid that we didn't manage to speak to your group for some reason, and you were left at the wrong meeting place. Our two Managers working that day also were caught in dreadful holiday traffic that meant they were a little late returning from putting other customers on the river. I remember dealing with your group and when we picked you up from Monmouth after your trip we did show you the miles of traffic jammed up that created the issue. But to begin with when we knew it would take too long to get you to the launch site to start your proposed unguided trip due to the traffic we sent you on a different trip leaving Symonds Yat with Morgan one of our excellent guides through the rapids and down to Monmouth for free. I also remember speaking to you along with other members of staff when you reached Monmouth explaining that our vehicle was on route but stuck in traffic and unfortunately you may have to wait to be picked up which you were not at all happy about. I am afraid we had no control over the traffic and as the issue was due to an accident we and hundreds of other vehicles had no choice but to wait until the issue was cleared. That day Herefordshire was littered with holiday traffic and accident and unfortunately there was very little we could do but apologise and ask you to understand.

We hoped that providing you with a memorable canoe trip at no cost would go some way towards making up for our mistake with the meeting place and the holiday traffic.

We hope you accept our sincere apologies and would try our services again to make a fair judgement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good day on the river”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent a day on the river hiring 2 kayaks for the day and doing a days kayaking from Ross on Wye to The Olde Ferrie inn,,, All in all a very good day out, fantastic scenery and good equipment,,, Although I did email/FB 3 times to enquire and try and book a day, still waiting for a reply.. In end we went down to the site and Olde Ferrie Inn and managed to book a day with the lady there, we booked and were told to turn up at 9.30am the next morning,, on arrival they chap on duty did not have our booking !!! Luckily for us he was efficient and very helpful and sorted us out for the day,, so thanks to him we got out day on the Wye... Highly recommend a trip down the Wye....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank taffy1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Exciting Day Out”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Wasnt a thing i didnt like, prompt service, well organized trip. Pretty much left us to it which i loved as was there with all my family and meant we could stop off and eat or go for a walk up river without being rushed, was so relaxing (and got an amazing tan, bonus!) Plan to go back very soon! Well worth it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamesMcDonald-Reade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wye Canoes Ltd also viewed

 

Been to Wye Canoes Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing