We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Wye Canoes Ltd, I wish we had!”
Review of Wye Canoes Ltd

Wye Canoes Ltd
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in Symonds Yat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in beautiful Symonds Yat on the banks of the Wye, Wye Canoes are the Premier Adventure Company in the Wye Valley and provide highly Experienced and Professional Canoe and Kayak hire, River Guiding, Paddlesport Instruction, Climbing, Bushcraft, Gorge Walking etc. With the best location and the most experienced Instructors we have everything you need for an unforgettable experience for a half day, full day or multi-day trip anywhere along the Wye Valley and both Bunkhouse and B&B accommodation is available. We hold an AALA license for Youth Groups and are an approved BCU Centre and Duke of Edinburgh Activity Provider.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Avoid Wye Canoes Ltd; they have the customer service skills of a spoiled child!

They are clueless to the needs of someone visiting the river, and are self absorbed in arguing between each other about all the cock-ups they have made! One of the many, was not having enough canoes for the trip. Useless.

2  Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart W, Owner at Wye Canoes Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2014

I am sorry that you were not happy with your day with us, we provide fantastic days out for thousands of happy customers every year and I would certainly not consider us to be "clueless to the needs of someone visiting the river" and we have never NOT put a customer on the river due to not having enough canoes.
We are the only company as far as I know that operates 12 months a year on the Wye, providing canoe and kayak hire in the warmer months and guided trips over the winter. We try to make everyday perfect for our customers but very rarely (maybe once every few years) we can encounter a logisitcal issue, flat tyre or a trailer, bad traffic due to an accident etc, when part of the business is transporting people and boats up and down the Wye Valley I am afraid it inevitable that someday that will happen. We hope that customers are understanding if and when this happens but we do understand that it is their day out.

We hope you accept our sincere apologies and would try our services again to make a fair judgement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"ferrie inn"
in 8 reviews
"kerne bridge"
in 18 reviews
"great fun"
in 13 reviews
"the river"
in 50 reviews
"the pub"
in 8 reviews
"left a message"
in 2 reviews
"let loose"
in 2 reviews
"many thanks"
in 4 reviews
"great weekend"
in 4 reviews
"launch site"
in 3 reviews
"day trip"
in 7 reviews
"booking process"
in 2 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 4 reviews
"caravan park"
in 2 reviews
"on arrival"
in 2 reviews
in 23 reviews
in 16 reviews

109 - 113 of 124 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

All we have to say 830 collection on time. Safety brief ok jazz hands more about wildlife than safety or information then a drive of 15mins to launch. Launch has 3 boats we ordered 5. After over an hours wait a van turns up with more boats but then the people on the can have none as we demand to take the boats after over an hour of waiting. Staff swearing at each other on the phone no apologies and even less how can we help or sorry we are late.

1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very good company to use if you're planning a trip on the wye. They give good instructions and are always there to help if needed. A little lateness due to their popularity but well worth the money

Thank dondavisplc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went on the half day trip with 'Canoe the Wye' in Symonds Yat, West (I think!) Absolutely fantastic, one of the best half days we've had in many a year. Very friendly / helpful staff and good equipment. Highly recommended

Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The company has well located facilities to enjoy the river wye on a canoe. Their service is efficient, and their canoes are in good condition.
Staff were helpful and friendly, however at times came across as condescending and bossy, which i wouldnt expect for a paid service.
Overall would recommend to anyone.

Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wye Canoes Ltd also viewed

Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye

Been to Wye Canoes Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing