We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a drink but better nearby”
Review of Wye Knot Inn

Wye Knot Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Symonds Yat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wye Knot Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2013

having stayed at the nearby paddock cottages for a canoeing trip this pub was recommended to me for evening food and drinks. inside it looks ok and there was a decent selection behind the bar although the bar staff did appear to be a little offish. we ordered food which didnt take to long to arrive but for what it cost it was definitely not worth the money and quite expensive anyway.

some of our group asked if they could have a morning breakfast if we came back at 9 am to which they said yes for £6.95 a head. although again this seemed to be a little expensive the bar maid did indicate that it was a decent sized meal. when they received their breakfast the following morning they were extremely dissapointed to have the tiniest full english you could imagine. the breakfast was so tiny that one of the group asked if they could have a couple of slices of bread to make a sandwich! eventually the server reluctantly gave my mate his bread but you could tell he was not happy to do so. when it came to paying the same gent tried to add another £1 onto everyone's breakfast! eventually we all left still feeling hungry and ripped off.

the following evening we dined at the much better olde ferry inn and went to a local cafe on the A40 the morning after for a proper full english at a more reasonable price

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chill6834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 60 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We had to go to symonds yat at short notice and I needed somewhere we could take the dog. First thing that came up was a review on trip advisor that just mentioned they were fine with dogs staying so I just rang and booked.

Really nicely done room and our dog felt very at home as each member of staff kept bringing her biscuits over. The owner was completely besotted with her and even gave her more sausages at breakfast than I got myself.

The food was really nice pub grub and it was a friendly relaxed atmosphere. Also the Butty Bach on tap is worth a stay in itself.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Staying locally so popped in for a drink on the Saturday. Nice pint, friendly staff, and a number of specials to eat. Booked a table for Sunday evening for 8 people. Nothing left of specials, and 3 choices of main not available. Roast dinner 2 of us had was tasteless, and not much better for other main meals.
However the really low point was the service we had. The barmaid made us feel as if we were an inconvenience, and did not have any real appreciation of customer service(it wasn't busy). We were intending to stay for the quiz, but payed and left. Would not return

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Stu331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a good meal in here which was basic pub grub but plenty of it and well cooked. We can recommend the home made chicken curry which although the chef said was over spiced by her, was in fact delicious!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were a party of ten, staying in Symonds Yat for a week. Based on a recommendation from our property owner we booked for a Saturday evening meal. We were given the choice of the bar or the back room. We opted for the back room. The service was excellent and so was the food, with some good choices on the blackboard as well as the menu. It is not 'fine dining', but very good value.

Room Tip: We only ate there so cannot comment on the rooms or facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our family and friends have eaten in this pub a few times now and have never been disappointed. The first night was my daughters birthday and when the landlady found out, she brought out a large slice of chocolate fudge cake complete with lit birthday candle and the whole pub (full of locals) sang happy birthday. I'm not sure what sort of a diet some of these visitors have, but to say the portions here are small is ridiculous. And as for the quality, the dishes on the specials board are homemade and good value for money with locally sourced ingredients. I was told exactly which farm/butcher the meat in my mixed grill had come from. I can highly recommend the homemade steak and ale pie, it's delish. One visit we popped in for a drink and one of our party fancied liver so we were advised to come back in a couple of days and it would be on the menu. We did this and true to her word Liver and Bacon Casserole was added especially for us!! Always a warm welcome here, especially when the huge log burner is lit. Well worth a visit. Don't be put off by the comments of some very greedy visitors!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Carter067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stopped off en route to cardiff for a sunday roast. Lovely home cooked food, fresh veg and reasonably priced. Also, friendly staff. Thoroughly recommended and the parents were happy with spotted dick being served for dessert.
Will definitely be returning. Many thanks :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Columbus118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.4 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
#1 of 5 in Symonds Yat
545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#3 of 6 in Symonds Yat
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wye Knot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wye Knot Inn

Address: Main St, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Wye Knot Inn Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing