We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night on Wye”
Review of Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed one night. A lovely setting overlooking the River Wye. Pub food very good and good sized portions. Jamie the owner was very pleasant and served up a hearty full english prior to departure. Real ale selection good which made the steep steps up to the top floor seem easy after a few!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 559 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

Thank you Jamie for making us all feel so welcome last weekend! Great to go somewhere where feels like kids just as welcome as adults. They really loved it. Bunkhouse just what we needed and lovely to have views of the beautiful river. All the meals we had were delicious. Kids already asking to go back. Thank you :) Fiona and Leo Young, Oxford

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank fiona y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A very friendly welcome and a fabulous evening meal. Staff were very attentive with a relaxed but professional attitude, breakfast was superb looking out over the river. A nice roaring fire and a comfortable room, would recommend this place happily!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank erictrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a lovely family steak meal on Saturday 15th February 2014. We were staying in the area and booked ahead. I think we were lucky as there has been alot of flooding in the area. The old ferrie inn has loads of oldie worldie charm and great staff. The meal was lovely. Would highly recommend if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Although the promised refurbishment in the Spring is probably overdue, the location,service,cleanliness and value can be little faulted. We suspect the weather conditions/flooding over the weekend we stayed were as bad as encountered there for many years but the staff encouragingly made nothing but the best of awful problems not of their making

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dja40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

When we arrived we had a very nice welcome. They could not do anymore to accomodate us.was happy to keep kitchen open of we was late. Bar staff friendly. The owner could not do enough for you. Food second to none.views amazing. Inside very warmly and comfy.i could happily live there without a quarm. I would recomend to anyone of any age who apreciate the comforts of home away from home

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank card1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A lovely place to stay especially with the warming fire and spectacular sight of the rising Wye River. Food was great although soup was a bit overpriced for what it was. Breakfast was spot on though with a delicious cooked selection. Although the decor of the rooms is a bit more 'odds and sods' than designer it really didn't matter. Bathroom curtain was completely see through - hope we weren't part of the entertainment :) We wish Jamie lots of luck with the place - he's a fun and attentive host. We will definitely go back one day (hopefully when we can canoe).

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the River Wye
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mackalack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.7 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
877 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown at Whitchurch
The Crown at Whitchurch
#2 of 2 in Whitchurch
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#3 of 6 in Symonds Yat
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Old Ferrie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Address: Ferrie Lane | Symonds Yat West, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Symonds Yat
Price Range: $102 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Old Ferrie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful riverside pub has been standing on the banks of the River Wye since the 15th Century. With charming traditional features, warming open fires and stunning views across the valley. Ye Old Ferrie Inn is the ideal place place to enjoy a pint or two....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ye Old Ferrie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Old Ferrie Hotel Symonds Yat
Ye Old Ferrie Inn Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing