We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe this is the same pub described by some reviewers.”
Review of Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here earlier this month, thankfully only for one night. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was good, but the whole place was terribly run down and untidy inside and out. The bedroom was reached by a drab narrow corridor and the room was beige woodchip wallpaper in need of some fresh paint. There were no hooks in either the bedroom or the bathroom (badly in need of decoration with the skirting board hanging off). There was no bedside table, just a tall standard lamp for the bedside light.
Having sat at a grubby table for a while and finding little on the menu of interest, we dined elsewhere when a group who had been hogging the fire all afternoon pulled their chairs across, thus cutting off any sight or benefit we were getting from the fire - not strictly the landlord's fault but he could have done something about it.
Breakfast was served in a cold converted veranda which had been filled with cheap plastic double-glazing with daylight and a stiff breeze coming through all the gaps where it had not been fitted properly.
This pub has a stunning location but it is simply not good enough: come on! invest some capital, you need a re-vamp and get the paintbrush out!

David and Sarah

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_RB969UD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 554 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

I spent a relaxing and wonderful weekend here. The staff were exceptionally accommodating and very friendly. The food was always very nice and the prices were certainly not expensive. I loved my stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zigzag1234abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Beautiful setting and fantastic warm welcome. Perfect for a winter break. Amazing walks from the doorstep and the food is nothing short of excellent!! Jamie is a legend, and nothing was too much trouble. Looking forward to re-visiting in the Summertime and do some canoeing!!!

Room Tip: I believe all the room have a river view. Really comfy rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vincent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We went to the Ferrie with friends and our two children. I reserved a table and requested the one high chair that the Ferrie had. This meant we needed to bring our own high chair too, as both children are only toddlers, which wasn't a problem.

When we arrived they had given the high chair to another table. That was annoying.

They also didn't seem to have a table set up for us. We were squeezed into the extension overlooking the river. The view was lovely, but the extension was very scruffy. It doesn't really have room to seat 6. They tried to seat us on a tiny round table but we wouldn't possibly fit so they put a table length ways which we could only just squeeze into. I wonder whether they actually gave our table away to the people who they gave the high chair to.

The food was very tasty, but the mains were a bit cold when they arrived. I didn't say anything to the staff about the cold food, as we had children with us and we just needed to eat. I'm sure they would have offered to reheat the food for us.

The rest of the pub is really nicely decorated, but the extension was disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0_White
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We booked a table for a before-Christmas family get together and were pleasantly surprised at the setting which was really picturesque. The Inn is situated right on the river, which was swollen today, and gave the Inn a peaceful presence, We were greeted by Jamie who was very pleasant and accommodating, The menu was simple and we could not fault the food and service.
When we had finished, Jamie gave us a brief run down of the area where we could walk the dogs. We had a lovely walk along the river and back across the top of the valley through the woods.
All in all we had a lovely day and will look forward to the warmer months when we will definitely return and perhaps take a canoe down the river (Wye Canoes is based next door).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Had a wonderful time. Stayed 28th Nov 2013. Very warm welcome, room was very nice and comfy with lovely views of the river. Had a 3 course birthday meal for eight of us, this was excellent. Staff were very helpful, nothing was to much trouble and we were all made very welcome. real ales, local cider's, mulled wine and winter Pimm's made for a very relaxed stay I must say...Would defo go back again. Thanks Jamie and staff for making Mum's 80th such a good one....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michellepipthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I can only describe our stay at Ye Old Ferrie Inn, as perfect. We were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff who could not do enough for us. The room was well equipped, clean and tidy with very very nice views. If we ever get the opportunity to stay here again we will not hesitate..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Petewill1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.7 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
507 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
602 reviews
5.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
862 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Old Ferrie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Address: Ferrie Lane | Symonds Yat West, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Symonds Yat
Price Range: $97 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Old Ferrie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful riverside pub has been standing on the banks of the River Wye since the 15th Century. With charming traditional features, warming open fires and stunning views across the valley. Ye Old Ferrie Inn is the ideal place place to enjoy a pint or two....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ye Old Ferrie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Old Ferrie Hotel Symonds Yat
Ye Old Ferrie Inn Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing