We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend's mountain biking”
Review of Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great weekend here - was made to feel welcome from the minute we stepped in the door. Handy base for mountain biking in S. Wales and the Forest of Dean. Brilliant food, beer and hospitality. Had to be dragged out when it came to home time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank wfj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 545 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from my 40th birthday celebrations in 'the yat' although we did not stay at the 'YOFI" we did spend an awful lot of time in there on our weekend :-0) very cosy, serves the best pint of stowford you'll ever drink and team it with some wasabi peanuts in front of the open fire and you wont want to leave!

Food good value for money.

Warm and accomodating staff - thanks Jamie and the team.

We cant wait to return to synods yat and of course the YOFI !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great value, lovely room, friendly service, fresh home cooked food, what more do you need? We will definitely be returning again to the perfect place to stay in a wonderful area! Beautiful walks and views, peace and tranquilty.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a base for kayaking in the Wye Valley or mountain biking in the Forest of Dean then look no further! Excellent, friendly service, lovely log fire and great food. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdShaw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We we greeted by Jamie with a friendly welcome. We had a few drinks by the log fire before being shown to our room. Very comfortable four poster bed in a clean room which overlooked the river. Breakfast was just as good as our evening meal.
Will definitely be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youngys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Ye Old Ferrie Inn Feb 2012 and loved it so much we stayed some extra nights. The area is excellent for walking and the food at night was restaurant quality. Our room looked over the river and was so cozy. We really want to go back this summer to experience the place with sunshine. A definate must for all walkers!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for just the one night in November, the weather was terrible but the welcome we got made up for that. We were shown to a lovely room overlooking the river. We had our evening meal in the restaurant, the food was lovely but we were seated in a very dark area with no lighting. The manager/landlord was a really nice friendly chap, though we noticed the place needed a little work doing here and there, so apart from lacking an odd job man this little inn by the river was great. The following morning we had a memorable trip up symonds yat, which is just a 10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizjacks0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.7 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
145 reviews
5.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
593 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Old Ferrie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Address: Ferrie Lane | Symonds Yat West, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Symonds Yat
Price Range: $98 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Old Ferrie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful riverside pub has been standing on the banks of the River Wye since the 15th Century. With charming traditional features, warming open fires and stunning views across the valley. Ye Old Ferrie Inn is the ideal place place to enjoy a pint or two....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ye Old Ferrie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Old Ferrie Hotel Symonds Yat
Ye Old Ferrie Inn Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing