We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Paddocks Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poolway House(Coleford)
View Hotel
Glewstone Court(Ross-on-Wye)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Monmouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chasedale Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveler rating
349
165
37
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
349
165
37
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubthe riverhis teamwye canoesgreat foodopen firecanoe tripstaff were really friendlyrelaxed atmospherestunning locationsymonds yat westtwo nightswarm welcomecomfortable roombedroom windowstayed for one nightevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 566 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My sister and I have just returned from a great two days based in this inn. From the moment we arrived all the staff were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Jamie, the owner, went out of his way to help us plus advise on suitable walks.He even lent us his lovely little dog to take on our first walk! He certainly creates the ethos and atmoshere in the inn and he is very ably backed by his lovely team. The rooms are a little basic but clean and warm with comfortable beds and my room had all the facilities I needed. The bar has a very welcoming atmosphere made even better by the open fire and sofas. All the food we had was well cooked and enjoyable. Delicious kippers and poached eggs for breakfast! On our first night they were having a Thai night which went well and the food cooked by a local Thai chef was lovely. Hopefully it will become a regular feature.The inn is in a stunning location and acts as a great base for walking or canoeing, and even though the river was very full and the Ferries weren't operating there were plenty of walks and places to visit. Symonds Yat Rock presents beautiful views and the opportunity to walk a variety of well marked trails. Would thoroughly recommend this inn if you want somewhere that is unpretentious but thoroughly welcoming and relaxing.

Room Tip: The room I had was the Forester. It was very warm and comfortable. Was above the kitchen but the noise didn't really impose.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynPaul546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here as part of a long weekend in Wales. The hotel is in a quite stunning position, right on the banks of the river Wye. The location is in a small village and this stretch of the river is popular with canoeists. The bar staff and owner (Jamie) were all very welcoming. The room was up 6 flights of stairs of which the last 2 flights were very steep. The room was spacious and had a 4 poster bed.
One major criticism I had of the room was that the bathroom was carpeted. From a hygiene point of view this is a absolute no-no. It costs little to put down tiles and from a cleanliness perspective they are much easier to clean. The bathroom was a good size but the bath was old and in general the room was in need of an update. The power shower managed a dribble but was not adequate in my opinion.
There is enough parking onsite though it could get busy with the canoeists about.
The food was typical of pub food - acceptable and edible but nothing special. Breakfast was very good although it took a little too long to arrive and could have been hotter.
People who stay at the hotel seem to get a nice inside terrace table to eat their food so you have a lovely view of the river when eating.
There is double glazing but overall the hotel was tired looking and in need of a full makeover. The costs was high for the facilities being offered but you pay for the location. But as I said above, the staff and owner were lovely and made the stay worthwhile.

Room Tip: Kingfisher room has amazing views of the river but you have to go up 6 flights of stairs of which 2 flights are very steep to get to the room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlin_de_Manaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights(15/16 sept) and all I can say is it was a pleasure. The boss was away when we arrived so the pub was being run by his staff and what a fantastic job they did. We were made to feel extremely welcome on arrival and it wasnt long before we had checked in , had our table booked for the evening meal and were enjoying a drink by the river. Some may say the place could do with 'tarting up' but if you want somewhere to stay with comfy beds, warm rooms , genuinely friendly staff, good food ( all locally sourced), well stocked bar with excellent local beer and a absolutely fantastic location then look no further. This really is a fantastic place to stay and my only regret is we only stayed for two nights. Thanks to the owner, the young lady from Abergavenny who looked after us when we arrived and the rest of the staff who made our short stay a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tubedriver67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

As locations go it doesn't get much better and it could be easy to slide and get away with average food. That hasn't happened here and a group of us staying after a day in canoes had very good food and great service. Of the ten of us, not one person was unhappy in any way with the food, with all the main courses under £12.

We stayed over in one of the bunkhouses which was basic, but certainly fit for purpose and the breakfast next morning was again very good. Coffee could be better, but was filter and kept on coming. Finally the landlord could not do enough to make us feel welcome without being intrusive. His seagull story was hilarious! A great time had by all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Consideringthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I had lunch here in April and then came back with our children in August. The food here is delicious and you get a very good portion too. I'm salivating just thinking about the pork belly I had! The staff are very welcoming and the pub has a very relaxed feel about it. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmokyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews