We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food!”
Review of Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy food!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I had lunch here in April and then came back with our children in August. The food here is delicious and you get a very good portion too. I'm salivating just thinking about the pork belly I had! The staff are very welcoming and the pub has a very relaxed feel about it. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmokyLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    150
    33
    6
    9
See reviews for
85
275
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I spent a night at Ye Old Ferrie Inn. The owner was extremely warm and welcoming. I had a great room overlooking the river. I had dinner in the evening, the chickpea and sundried tomato burger was excellent (as a vegetarian, its hard to find a good burger, this one was fab)
The building is old and its quirky design is part of its appeal.
I had a peaceful night in a comfy bed and a hot powerful shower in the morning.
Simple honest good place to stay in a beautiful spot.
What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elleve100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our stay at the Ferrie Inn last weekend was awesome. 17 of us 30ish years old were staying in the pubs' bunk rooms, and arrived ready for an evening of dinner, fun and games. It was a fairly quiet evening in the pub, and the very lovely, funny and brilliantly sarcastic Jamie was fab at making us feel so welcome and had a lot of time for us. He offered to light us a campfire out in the terrace overlooking the river, and even asked if anyone wanted anything when he popped to the local shop. Of course, we wanted marshmallows, which he bought back to us to toast on the fire. The generosity didn't end there, Jamie stayed up late with us, providing sambuca for the losers in an intense game of Jenga, then was up again in the morning to sort out our sore heads and bodies with tea, coffee and an awesome breakfast. You don't feel like a guest at the Ferrie, you are made to feel extremely welcome and at home. Its an awesome place with awesome staff, you'll have an awesome time :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faye w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Beautifully situated by the River. No disturbance from traffic, just a quiet place in the middle of nature. It is just outside the village, so don’t expect souvenir shops or many tourists. This is a place for people who look for peace. A place for people who appreciate the atmosphere of an old Ferry Inn. The rooms are spacious and clean, but our bathroom was a bit narrow. The food in the restaurant is very good. On the menu there are delicious meals, even for vegetarians. In the surroundings you find many beautiful walking tracks and places of interest. Just make sure to take drinks and food with your, because you will not find any shops or restaurants along the tracks. In this hotel you are being served with true hospitality. Everything is possible, everything is allowed.

Room Tip: book the attic room! Great river view, and hear the sound of the swallows nesting next to your windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Went to Symonds Yat west, just off A40 nr Ross on Wye on sunday, visited the Old Ferrie inn, I had been before years ago but its been refurbished on the hotel side, looking at the online website. We had lunch, I had a fantastic wiltshire cured ham and mature cheddar cheese sandwich, the missus had Bacon Brie and cranberry, believe me they don`t skimp, it was £5.50 but worth every penny, I was full after the first half of the sandwich, Beer was really tasty and the service was excellent, couldn`t fault anything.

Room Tip: off the A40 follow signs for leisure park, just follow road around to the right, tight country lane...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aggisgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Really great feel to this place, felt at home as soon as we arrived. Jamie, the owner was an absolute legend - nothing was too much trouble and his chat was highly entertaining. The staff working in every area of this business are truely charming and really make the place. The room itself had brilliant views out over the water and was a good size. Food was very tasty - burger particularly good and well keep beer. Just brilliant all round and definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: room called derwent/dorsent, or something simiar has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelguest26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Went canoeing with the Symonds Yat Canoe Hire company and to round off the perfect day we drove down to this superb pub. Nice food, parking is £3 but waived if you are going to be pub customers. Nice outdoor setting watching the boats and canoes go by if the weather is good (it was) and our kids played pool on the pool table indoors.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.7 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
127 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
729 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Old Ferrie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Old Ferrie Inn

Property: Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Address: Ferrie Lane | Symonds Yat West, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Old Ferrie Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful riverside pub has been standing on the banks of the River Wye since the 15th Century. With charming traditional features, warming open fires and stunning views across the valley. Ye Old Ferrie Inn is the ideal place place to enjoy a pint or two....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ye Old Ferrie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Old Ferrie Hotel Symonds Yat
Ye Old Ferrie Inn Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing