We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday Roast”

The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Symonds Yat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Efficient, friendly , attentive staff. Generous portions, tender meat, flavoursome gravy and delicious veggies. Thoroughly recommend the Bakewell tart with plum compote and figs.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sedentarywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very friendly meeting place to unwind. drink and eat at the end of the day whether walking or on the river. The food and service are excellent.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had lunch here on a sunny day by the water. Beautiful day and very good food. We had Tandoori chicken and a fish n chips. Both were very, very good, surprisingly. Very dog and child friendly, at least outside. I was hesitant to visit yet another tourist Mecca but this one lived up to the hype!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank barinr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I were staying nearby so decided to pop in for an evening meal and given it was a Monday night didn’t think there would be any issue getting a table, however the place was full so having decided to go back to our hotel to eat we left only for one of the staff to run out after us to let us know a table had become available!

We were shown to a table in the restaurant and ordered a burger and a fish and chips both of which were excellent and the service from what appeared to be a fairly young group was first class.

Overall I would certainly recommend the Saracens Head albeit maybe book a table in advance!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rrw666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited this restaurant on a couple of occasions with 6 friends as part of a lads trip away. It was a great find at the end of a tough walk. Beer is good, service was friendly and quick and the place had a great atmosphere. Other customers appeared to be a mix of walkers and locals. The food did look good with a choice of bar meals such as loaded fries and nachos to a full blown al la carte menu in the evening. We booked a table ( and I had planned what I was going to eat...pulled pork with some good accompaniments) but it involved a 2 mile walk in the rain to get to from our accommodation so we cancelled. The Sunday lunch also looked good with fresh vegetables and portion size was good.The staff run the Hand Ferry situated directly outside the pub giving access to the opposite bank.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 149dicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant also viewed

Whitchurch, Ross-on-Wye
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
 
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing