We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Service, Beer”

The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food, Service, Beer”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

A great pub with a friendly atmosphere, the food is a excellent and there is a good choice on the menu to chose from. The staff are very friendly and seem very happy in their work.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LezV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    611
    320
    82
    35
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best pub grub I've ever had! ”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

The most amazing, delicious home made pub grub and very reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful. Can't wait to return!

Helpful?
Thank Bryony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wye Valley wonder”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

A lovely old inn , food excellent , staff friendly . Room 3 has a lovely view cross the river, can be a little noisy if you want an early night.
One teeny complaint. Good wine deserves good elegant wine glasses

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bWANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DONT EXPECT TO BE BLOWN AWAY”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We went for dinner last night and it was our first visit to the restaurant. We were a party of 4 and were up for a evening out catching up with dear friends.

After reading so many positive reviews along with knowing the beautiful setting of the pub we were in good spirits.

Table booked for 8:00pm we arrived just after and on entering we announced ourselves and were greeted by a member of staff who says " Should I show you to your table " we thought it strange as how else would we know where we were sitting. Any hows we went through and enjoyed setting and ambience of theriver through the windows before the sun set completely.

The waitresses who served us were pleasant but we felt rushed from the start. Drinks were offerred without even a winelist being offerred. We asked fif there was one available and were asked if we wanted to see it. We were served by 3 or more waitresses and this made it very confusing. We were asked straight away what we would like to order. We asked for some time to settle and not a minute after the next server was at our table asking what we wanted to order. This was the way the evening was going to go.

Starters ordered was the seared squid and pork belly. The belly was good however chorizo cubes served with it were rock hard. Squid was poor. Tough as old boots ! I asked waitress to return to chef. Not even a minute after returns with a fresh portion ?? Same issue. I found it strange how they could bring another so quickly. The squid was definetly not seared. Very poor starter. The waitress came past again and saw I was eating it. She promptly sais that she would take it off the bill. What about offerring me something else ?

Mains we had the grouse, lamb, stuffed pork loin and fish.Pork stuffing overpowering,beans were raw and potato side was dry and rock hard.

Desserts we had 1 cheese platter and 1 creme brulle. Both were good. We had espresso and brandy as no grappa available.

We asked for bill as we could see all staff just wanted to get out of there. We sat with bill waiting to pay and after 15min had to ask how we had to go about it. We were told to walk into bar / reception area and pay at till. My friend spoke to manager / staff member as we were settling up about experience and he responded that they had a reputation for rushing customers.

Really dissapointing when you think a party of 4 spending over £200 in your establishment are rushed and made to feel uncomfortable for you wanting to go home. I will only go there again if I dont have any other choice. The place has a special position with views a plenty however needs people who love what they do. Hard to believe that in todays enviroment that the chef who controls this restaurant still has a job. Lacks passion to do justice to this location.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jahn1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolo25, Public Relations Manager at The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
We thank this person for their review, however there are points that I would like to mention on behalf of the Saracens Head Inn.
Firstly, if the reviewer thinks it strange that a member of staff should say ' should I show you to your table ?' ( probably 'shall I show you to your table ?' then we apologise.
Secondly, on the subject of having different waitresses - the Inn does get extremely busy, hence we cannot practically assign one waitress to each table - apologies again.
On the subject of the starters - diced chorizo is actually hard in texture, by its nature.
You neglected to mention that 3 of your table had the squid starter, two of which were consumed, and only one returned. The squid does not take long to sear, and added to this, if someone returns a dish we make every effort to deliver a replacement a.s.a.p. Also, if the waitress saw you eating the second dish, why should she offer you a different dish ?
On the subject of the diners being rushed - they arrived at 8.00pm-ish and settled their bill at 11.28pm,and were the last people to leave the Inn. We believe that in no way were they rushed,
and our policy is never to 'rush' our guests.
The restaurant mangeress who attended to your table was actually rather upset about these diners mimicking her Scottish accent, and generally making her an object of ridicule, in the
guise of 'humour'.
Also, she was quite offended as the diners were swearing in another language - obviously they did not realize that she understood what they were saying. To her great credit, she kept smiling and remained professional throughout.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super helpful, efficient and good food”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

The staff were lovely and the food good. This Inn is not just relying on the outstanding scenic location of Symonds Yat East - but they are doing their best to provide good fare at reasonable prices.

Very family and tourist friendly. They also operate one of the two ferry crossings in the village which run until 10:30 pm or so.

Booking seems to be essential but worth it. Excellent beers on tap too.

I should note that when we explained our son had a milk allergy, the chef cooked the fish and chips without batter as he said the batter mix did have some milk. Normally we chance it a bit with things like this, but the extra effort (which was not demanded) was really appreciated and my son cleared his plate and really liked it.

This is a "must visit" venue if you are in the area. Parking have be a bit tight with only about 28 spaces in the public car park, so best arrive early - or park up at the Forestry car park at Symonds Yat Rock and walk down the path.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertsbridge_Watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing