We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub right on the Wye River”

The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pub right on the Wye River”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great selection of ales and good food, with some games to keep the family occupied. And we watched the hand ferryman cross back and forth across the river.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jon_walton1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    338
    87
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Farnham
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub and great grub!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My friends and I recently visited this pub for lunch during a weekend in the Forest of Dean. Service was quick and efficient, and the food was hearty and fresh in massive portions!
It is also in a fantastic setting by the river, with lots of activity taking place. We think you can catch a boat up the river just outside. There is also plenty of parking which is handy.
We got to the pub early which was great, as within minutes it was full with a waiting list.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this pub onward.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelbirdHindhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

After a nervous ride down the very narrow road, it was well worth the effort because the meal was delicious, service great and the price very reasonable. The views of the Wye were fantastic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shapaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Lovely grub, fabulous service! A very tranquil Wye river inn”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We parked up on top at the Symonds Yat East car park to see the views before hiking down to the river and discovering by chance the Saracens Head Inn, so it was an enjoyable surprise to find this lovely quiet and friendly spot on the river.
The food was so good we ate there three times in a row, though it was a bit pricey for some dishes. Overall the quality of the cooking was very good, though on one occasion the Rib-eye steak (£19) was not at all pink even though I ordered 'medium' .... it was well cooked. The Faggots (£10) were very tasty (see pics) as was the substantial North Atlantic Squid salad starter (£8). And the Lamb Shoulder with Mash (£16) was great comfort food though slightly dry and over-cooked in parts. The Mullet fillet on cous-cous was perfectly done, and the Sea bass with pak choy also very good. Local ale from the bar was just perfect. Good whisky choice too.
But best of all was the excellent service by the young students working there - well done to all.
There is also free wifi. See the pics for the menu.
Very recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very pleasant spot for lunch.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch after walking a woodland trail at Symonds Yat Rock. The pub is sited on a great spot on the river. We both had a ferrymans lunch and very much enjoyed them, every item on the plate was fresh and tasty. The young staff were friendly and welcoming and we were served promptly. There was an excellent selection of real beer available, I highly recommend the Wye Valley Brewery HPA!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ThisEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing