We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location, great food, attentive staff”

The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fab location, great food, attentive staff”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We really like this place. Very relaxed atmosphere, good local beers. The menu changes but offers plenty of choice including vegetarian options. We recommend the rib eye steak. Our meals were perfectly cooked; the service is attentive without being over fussy and the staff extremely welcoming and friendly. Located directly facing the River Wye, the evening sunshine makes it an ideal place to sit outside and watch the canoes and boats that frequent this most beautiful part of the country. We paid £50 for two courses with wine (and went back the following night). Its popular and can get busy - best to book a table if you can.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    331
    85
    36
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bustling river side pub with great food.”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Very popular and rightly so. Good selection of great food and good selection of wines and beers. Patience needed to get to it by car. Down a narrow road which services a very popular canoe hire venue, but does have passing places.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trolliedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“best supper on the wye”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Had supper here last Thursday , best view of the Wye and warm welcome.
The local ales were very good , the bar staff friendly , and to find good honest food on the menu , a simple but excellent meal , very good value .

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Newtontj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great end to our Bank Holiday”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Four adults and Nine Children went on bank Hoilday Monday Evening. The location is magical set at the bottom of the gorge overlooking the River Wye. We sat outside and while the children took a trip on the ancient ferry across the river and back , we ordered and within ten minutes were receiving our high quality gastro food. Pork Belly and perfect steaks were supplemented by good value childrens meals and enormous desserts. A great end to our day with minimal fuss and welcoming staff.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShrimperKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely pub, fantastic food, great atmosphere in the perfect location!”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

What a fantastic wedding anniversary meal! its a very well organised pub with superb food and excellent staff, although one member was particulary rude and his attitude was not what i expected at such a lovely pub, He introduced himself as Greg and I feel that he let The Saracens Head down, although I had the perfect anniversary.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Saracens Head Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing