We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly, Unclean, Un - everything!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Symonds Yat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Symonds Yat East Campsite
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unfriendly, Unclean, Un - everything!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

I stayed at the campsite with friends in order to go on a weekend long canoeing trip from Ross-on-Wye to Monmouth. I ignored the previous Trip advisor reviews - big mistake - because the location was so good and I'd heard marvellous things about Symonds Yat. When I arrived at the campsite the staff were rude and unpleasant... the directions for where to park and pitch the tent were non-existant. We were told not to make any noise...but this wasn't a case of "not being too loud" - rather don't make any noise at all. I was scared that the sound my tent made when I unzipped it was too loud for the warden's sensitive hearing! I used the toilet and shower block with great reluctance, since it was filthy. I was booked in for two nights but left after the first night and went to a much cleaner and nicer campsite on the other side of the river - called Tennets. It also turned out to be quite a bit cheaper than the Wyedean campsite. On the plus side, the canoeing was great (although some - but not all - of the staff seemed to have taken lessons from the campsite staff in how to be unhelpful and grim-faced!!), the scenery was beautiful and the pubs in Symonds Yat were fab. So go to the area...just don't stay at the Wyedean canoe and adventure centre campsite. There are plenty of other options available and there are lots of other Canoeng and Kayak hire places.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennyoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    6
    4
    23
See reviews for
18
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

Summary: Poor & dirty facilities - 2 toilets, 1 shower all contained within the "wet room" which had a 3mm layer of urine, mud and strange animals coating the floor. The toilet doors wouldn't close or lock (leaving you to hold them shut while occupied). 50% of the campsite is sloping (if you like that kind of thing). The whole place stinks of sewage from the cesspit located under the site (probably oozing into the river). Awful customer service.

We stayed here for a no-frills place to stay while attending a wedding nearby.

The camp site had less frills than I thought possible, awful, rude and obnoxious "customer service" from the inbred warden. We arrived just before the "gates" were closed while the heavens were open (as they always are when you arrive to set-up camp in the dark).

After circling the "cricket club car park sized" camp-site in the car for 15 minutes observing "Please book-in before pitching your tent" we attempted to find someone (although we had previously booked our place).

The "shop" was closed and there was no obvious sign-age to a warden. Our arrival would've been clear, driving around with headlamps on but no-one came to greet us so we thought as we'd pre-booked we'd just pitch up and sort out the formalities in the morning, after all you don't want to go knocking on random static caravan doors at 10pm.

We were a little hungry having driven from Sussex and with no sign-age saying "no bbqs" we fired up and began cooking. Despite the awful smell of sewage nothing exploded...

Having not noticed our car circling the warden certainly noticed our BBQ, trotted over and was quick to exclaim there are to be no disposable BBQs and that we should've booked in along with the fact we were now encroaching "quite time" (runs from 11pm-10am) and we were too noisy, before we could explain ourselves the warden had scuttled off to his caravan.

We piped down and left it at that only to be woken at 7.30am (during the so called quiet time) by the whole site and staff setting up the canoes and cooking breakfast... one rule for us, another for those on their "adventure package" it seemed.

During our stay we had many encounters with the warden and the owner who don't believe in customer service, are never wrong and the customer certainly is never right.

I'll sign off by saying that if you're in search of a place that will ruin whatever you have planned, leave a bitter taste in your mouth and drive you to an insane rage! This is the one for you!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tcrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antibard
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

I spent three uncomfortable nights camping here.

The whole place periodically stank of sewage, there were only two showers for the entire site, the toilet blocks stank of stale urine in which there were some very strange creatures swimming and neither of the doors in the gents toilets would stay closed, let alone lock.

To make matters far worse, the attitude of the staff was beyond belief. We had planned to arrive quite late (11.30pm) so we sent a letter with our booking explaining this and asking them to call us if there was a problem. They flatly denied receiving the letter, even when we pointed out that they had received and paid in the cheque that was in the same envelope!

There was some evidence of rat infestation at the site. Unsurprising considering the overflowing bin outside the warden's caravan wasn't emptied throughout the three days i spent there.

I could go on and on but in short, avoid this site at ALL COSTS!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antibard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

The static caravan is part of the Wyedean Canoe and Camping Centre and run by the same man who runs this hotel.

Despite being told that bedding was provided in the caravan, when we arrived there was none. The manager was extremely unhelpful and very rude. He was not prepared to give us any bedding unless we paid an additional £30 (nearly 40% on top of the cost of the holiday!) He also refused to give us a full refund and only relented after a much heated discussion! We would not recommed this place to anyone - the service was the worst we've ever come across!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mattius88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.5 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
Ye Old Ferrie Inn
#1 of 4 in Symonds Yat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#3 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symonds Yat East Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symonds Yat East Campsite

Property: Symonds Yat East Campsite
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Symonds Yat
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quiet family campsite based on the side of the River Wye, in the perfect location at Symonds Yat East in Herefordshire. We have newly refurbished toilets and a brand new shower building. With 3 ladies & 3 gents showers with hot water 24/7 included in the camping cost. Pre-booking is advisable as we do get very busy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Symonds Yat East Campsite England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing