We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice site and staff were friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Symonds Yat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Symonds Yat East Campsite
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice site and staff were friendly”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I stayed here in early Sept 2011 with a group of friends. The site is a bit on the small side but this isnt too much of an issue. When we stayed (10 of us = seven tents) there were also two other large groups with all their kit and vehicles. Still plenty of room on the field and didnt feel like it was too crowded. The toilet and shower facilities were fine and fully functional. The staff that we dealt with were helpful and polite. We all found the £30 noise bond a little odd, however we were warned well in advance and just made sure we kept the noise down beyond 11 pm.
We did canoeing the following morning with the on site canoe company (same folks that own the site I believe). We had an excellent few hours on the river and I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone. I will be back with the family.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnner28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYECAMPSITE, Manager at Symonds Yat East Campsite, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
We like to thank guests for their comments/feedback.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently improving the site once again for next year.

We do unfortunately have to use a noise bond in order to help all of our guests get a good nights sleep. We make sure all prebooked groups are notified upon booking and again in their confirmation. As you can see it works very well.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Many Thanks
Symonds Yat East Campsite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    7
    4
    24
See reviews for
19
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

When I booked the campsite I was told that we would be asked to pay a £30.00 noise bond on arrival. This seemed reasonable for a party of ten. When we arrived in the rain, I was told that the £30.00 charge was "per head". This meant we were expected to produce a total of £395.00 in cash immediately. Have just stepped out of a wet canoe into the middle of nowhere, I explained that I felt this seemed unreasonable. The response was that "The kind of people who say that are the kind of people who make lots of noise". This was accompanied by a smirk and a roll of the eyes from the schoolkid who appeared to be in charge. Before making a decision on whether or not to drive to the nearest cash point (which is miles away) I went to look around the site. It's just a grass car park.

I rang other campsites and thankfully managed to find an alternative. I would never stay at this place for any reason. The staff are rude, the pitches are crammed and you can get much more for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Herefordshire74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYECAMPSITE, Manager at Symonds Yat East Campsite, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
We Like to thank our Guests for They're feedback / comments.

We do have a noise bond rule of £30 per head on any groups over 4 persons. We inform all parties of this on booking and also it is confirmed again with the confirmation we send out. It is also on our website syecampsite under terms and conditions.

we allow a fair amount of space for all pitches on our campsite and it is separate from the adjacent car park

Thank you
Symonds Yat East Campsite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2011

...can't see what some people are complaining about. The camp site is basic, granted, but surely people read reviews about sites they intend to stay at BEFORE they set out? Canoe/kayak hire side was absolutely great: excellent advice and help from qualified, professional staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muskei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYECAMPSITE, Manager at Symonds Yat East Campsite, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Many Thanks for your Feedback.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed yourselves with us and also with the Adjacent Canoe Hire.

Hope to see You again in the future.

Many Thanks
Symonds Yat East Campsite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I can see that the site used to have problems from the reviews, but we had a different experience. The camp site was lovely, we got to camp right next to the river, quiet, but no one got any hassle for chatting. Lots of families as a well as a few bigger groups.

It was well run, though the warden's caravan wasn't well signed - they came and found us and nicely showed us where they wanted us to pitch up.
Our friends arrived late, but that wasn't an issue. Showers were warm, though i could see how they could get dirty, they have signs up asking people to not bring boots in.
They clearly told us that the group needs to pay on arrival, so we expected that.

Our boating and boat hire experience was good also, even though we were late back, they were friendly, and we really enjoyed the coaching on the second day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYECAMPSITE, Manager at Symonds Yat East Campsite, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
We Like To Thank Guests for Their Reviews.

We are Very Pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks

Symonds Yat East Campsite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We booked into this campsite for two nights at the beginning of August before we read the previous reviews on Trip Advisor, so were very apprehensive on the journey down. How anyone can call this a campiste is beyond me, we drove round the car park (as that's all I can descibe is as) and drove out again.
We stayed at Symonds Yat West at [--] - it was lovely - basic but just what we wanted and the staff were lovely too

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
4 Thank jonesyLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I have visited this site before and love it for its location although I agree that on previous visits the staff were a little off hand and the facilities left much to be desired. However we stayed here for the weekend recently and the staff were very friendly and there is a new shower block. I know they take noise bonds of around £120 for a group of four; there is no cash point readily available so groups should bear this is mind before travelling all the way there. It’s a stunning area with limited space for car parks, campsite, restaurants and tea rooms who have the monopoly, so be prepared to pay the price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYECAMPSITE, Manager at Symonds Yat East Campsite, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Thank You very much for your review.
We have worked very hard over the winter to redevelop our campsite with more work planned for the end of this season.
We are very pleased that you chose to come and visit us again and that you have seen a vast improvement in our facilities and our staff.

We hope to see you again soon.

On behalf of Symonds Yat East Campsite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Shocking, I have never experienced such rude staff surely people go to a camp site to relax and have a good time this was not allowed here which we found out when one of the staff barged into are caravan shouting at us for noise and then slamming our door before we even had a chance to reply, i wouldn’t of minded if we had been making excessive noise but this was not the case! We also experienced a gas leak into the caravan to which the staff did nothing just turned the gas off and left us all night with no gas thus no heating or cooking facilities. Amazing place shame about the staff luckily good company got us through it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peanut_nutty25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
0.5 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
127 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
480 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#3 of 6 in Symonds Yat
285 reviews
2.2 mi away
YHA Wye Valley
YHA Wye Valley
#2 of 17 in Ross-on-Wye
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symonds Yat East Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symonds Yat East Campsite

Property: Symonds Yat East Campsite
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Symonds Yat
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a quiet family campsite based on the side of the River Wye, in the perfect location at Symonds Yat East in Herefordshire. We have newly refurbished toilets and a brand new shower building. With 3 ladies & 3 gents showers with hot water 24/7 included in the camping cost. Pre-booking is advisable as we do get very busy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Symonds Yat East Campsite England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing