We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't suit everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garth Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Symonds Yat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garth Cottage
Ranked #4 of 6 Symonds Yat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Won't suit everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Reviewing Garth Cottage is rather difficult because, as they say, style is easy to spot but difficult to define. If you like comfy slippers and are looking for warm hospitality and a very, very homely B and B, then you will love Garth Cottage. If you are a fashionista and are seeking chrome, glitz and modern facilities, you’ll probably hate it. We had a wonderful stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IMPartialDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peak District
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came with another couple who, like ourselves, were really impressed by both the location and the hospitality shown by the owners. From the private car park and lovely views to those amazing breakfasts, one could ask for nothing more.
We walked up to the Rock where the views are breath-taking and spent quite a lot of time exploring the tracks of the forests around and about.
Mark, Val and Bertie are most obliging and nothing is too much trouble. Mark’s collection of model cars provoked lengthy discussions over the odd drink from the bar!

Room Tip: Room 2 has dual aspect for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roylance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Yes we came to Garth cottage last year, 2012. Enjoyed it so much we just had to come back. This time we took our 23yr old daughter with us and she fell in love with it all. Tucked away in the Forested of Dean offering Walking,Climbing. Canoeing and kayaking.
Garth cottage is right on the riverbank Mark, Val and Bertie worked endlessly to make our stay a relaxing one. Form just having a parking space ready for us right out side, a cup of tea and slice of cake before we were taken to our room. The rooms were very nice and clean and we had a room with seats and a table but we liked sitting on the verander watching the the world go by. Mark cooked an evening meal for us the night we arriver (Roast pork) I just gave him 24hours notice and my daughter said it was the best pork EVER. We had a afternoon out on the river Wye Canoeing now that's really good fun if you can stop the girls screaming..... lol
As we were leaving make told me he has FISHING LICENCES so next time I'm taking some sort of fishing rod. Very very enjotable few day rest we'll be back rod in hand.

Room Tip: All room face the river we enjoyed roon 4 last year but room 2 is the better room if you want to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

It was such an enjoyable stay we decided within a matter of hours to re book for the end of august. Fantastic warm welcome coupled with wonderful rooms, food and hospitality made this a truly memorable long weekend. Thanks to Mark, Val and Bertie.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lukeandkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Garth cottage is so much more than your typical B&B. For me, a good B&B has to do two things well. The first being Bed and the second, of course Breakfast. The bed was deliciously comfortable with high quality mattress, duvet and sheets. The breakfasts were outstanding - some 5* London hotels would struggle to match the cooked breakfasts that Mark magically conjures up! So that's two big ticks right there, but what makes this place stand out by quite some margin is the hosts. We could not have possibly asked for anything more given a million years! The Eden family are unbelievably accommodating, generous, kind, incredibly interesting and a real pleasure to stay with. We felt as though we had known them for years! I can't even explain just how fabulous our 2 night stay was! We felt right at home which is why people choose a B&B over a hotel in the first place,but these guys are different beasts altogether! A huge thank you again to Mark, Val and Bertie. I can say with confidence that we will be back! We only got home yesterday and are already trying to make space in the diary for our next visit!!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 is the largest of all the guest rooms, however, I wouldn't worry too much if its already...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZeusnGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the moment we arrived, greeted by Mark with a tray of tea and cakes to the morning we left, nothing was too much trouble. One of the best B&B's we have stayed in. The room (No 4) was not overlarge but was more than adequate for our needs; very comfortable with a lovely bed and the shower / toilet was fine. Mark is an excellent chef, so be aware to pre book dinner; the variety of his dishes is great. This is definitely one to go onto the 'must visit again ' list. We stayed just two nights but it will be more next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

A lovely guest house in a lovely setting. Our room was large with a great view of the river (our host said all their rooms had river views). It had a good sized bathroom - no bath but a large shower. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Unusually for now-a-days there was no TV in the room, though the downstairs lounge had a large flat screen which would suffice if you were desperate not to miss anything! Breakfast was cooked perfectly. Despite a time window of just 8:30 to 9:00, our host offered to make breakfast earlier if we wanted so it wasn't an issue.
As to our hosts, they were most friendly, very chatty, very accommodating and helpful. Lovely people. All in all I can highly recommend staying here and fully expect to return someday myself

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Symonds Yat
5.4 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Paddocks Hotel
The Paddocks Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest View Guest House
Forest View Guest House
#3 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saracens Head Inn
The Saracens Head Inn
#1 of 6 in Symonds Yat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garth Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Cottage

Property: Garth Cottage
Address: Symonds Yat East, Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Symonds Yat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Symonds Yat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Garth Cottage Symonds Yat, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing