We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and restaurant!”
Review of The Staff of Life

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Staff of Life
Ranked #1 of 2 Ticknall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
“Great hotel and restaurant!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was skeptical about booking, having read the mixed reviews, but was happy that I did. My room was nicely decorated and comfortable and spotlessly clean. The welcome from the landlady couldn't have been nicer and all of the staff were pleasant, helpful and friendly. The dinner and breakfast were both delicious. I would happily stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine1000London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    20
    17
    12
    16
See reviews for
26
47
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We called in for a quick drink and a spot of lunch as it looked so lovely from outside. It was a shame the land lady didn't give such a good impression. After a conversation trying to sort out our order, she refered to my husband as "The one over there with the bald head". I couldn't believe it (especially as half the men in the room were bald!) I told her that she was very rude and unprofessional. The way she was with her staff was disgusting, I feel sorry for anyone having to work there. Don't bother giving them your custom, the Wheel is only round the corner and puts them to shame.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After a beautiful visit to Calke Abbey with friends we called at the Staff of Life for a late lunch. After ordering drinks and then some food a waitress came over and asked if we had paid with an out of date £10 note. When we said we had not done so ( paid for drinks with £20 and food with 2 £5 notes and a card) she remememberd we had done so. The landlady then proceeded to accuse us to the staff of having done so loud enough for us to hear. Highly un-professional ! When we asked the landlady if there was a problem she was extremely rude and would not accept our version of events. So much so we cancelled our food order asked for a refund, quickly finished our drinks and left ( for a meal elsewhere, favourable trip advisor review submitted ). The waitress staff were very courteous and subsequently appologetic. Shame the owner does not adhere to their high standards
Cannot review the food which may have been satisfactory but the welcome and atmosphere was appalling. Unfortunately cannot recommend this establishment ! All this for a £10 note I believe the banks will still replace with an in-date note.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AlGil50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently stayed here whilst visiting friends and even though the Staff of Life was not our first choice, we cannot wait to return. The room (a standard) was really clean and tidy with everything we needed easy to find and the lady checking us in was very useful, explaining all we needed to know.
Last minute our plans changed and we needed a table for sunday lunch for 8 of us. unfortunately Kaye informed us that they were very busy on sunday but managed to squeeze us in. we expected to be cramped on a small table and have to wait hours for food however we were seated in the 'snug' with plenty of room for kids to roam. the food was perfect and only took about 20 minutes to arrive when we were warned on seating it could be anywhere up to 40 minutes due to us running late. the meals were obviously cooked from fresh and it was nice that the kids meals were proper food for a change.
overall a wonderful stay and delightful pub/B&B that we look forward to returning to! Massive thanks to all the staff for their kind help despite us being awkward at times!!

Room Tip: Room 6 is my personal favorite - very homely and cosy with underfloor heating Room 5 - perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asd89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I took my walking group of 11 people for a meal here on the evening of 9 August. We were asked to pre-order at 6.00pm because we were a group. They confirmed, as previously arranged, our meal would be served at 8.30pm after we had returned from our walk. We arrived back at 8.20pm.
The food only started to arrive after 9.00pm (after a complaint was made) in a slow stream which lasted until 9.20pm, which meant we could not all eat together. No one came to clear our plates or ask if we wanted desserts - at around 10.30pm we gave up in disgust. The restaurant was not full and the service was slovenly, one person who ordered steak had his knife taken away in order to be replaced by a steak knife(needed) but then the waitress forgot to bring it!
The quality of the food varied from average to poor and the presentation left a lot to be desired.
All the group live locally but are unlikely to repeat the experience.
I recommended the Staff of Life as I had had an enjoyable lunch there some 6 months ago and also because they welcome walkers on their website, but I won't be doing it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NarasFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Recently we occupied four rooms at the Staff Of Life at Ticknall for a family get together. There were 3 generations of the family and we were all made welcome. The rooms in the garden are superb, and the rooms in the pub very good.
Kaye was a great host, nothing was too much trouble.
The evening meal was excellent and the full english breakfast certainly sets you up for the day. The Timothy Taylor Landlord was in great condition.

Room Tip: If you want a spacious room book one the garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were staying in the area, looking for property and drove by this charming building in Ticknall, which is idealic. Whilst we chose not to stay at the property we did go for a Saturday evening dinner there. We were so disappointed. It is beautiful inside but the service was dreadful. Got both our starter and main courses wrong (yes it is true), took cutlery away after starter and forgot to bring a new set. Took our order for dessert, gave us cutlery for that, then someone else took it away! They then forgot to bring our desserts. We went and complained at the bar, three times during the meal, due to slow service, and all these things, plus lack of pepper, salt etc and no-one asking if we would like extra drinks. All of this and the restaurant/bar was not that full. The young girl who was serving us really was too inexperienced and junior. It's a shame as we would have become regulars here, now we have moved down, but instead of taking family and friends to it - we avoid it. Such a shame as beautiful village and beautiful building and nicely decorated. Food was unmemorable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clymping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ticknall
2.4 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
164 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
739 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
4.6 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
0.1 mi away
The Stables
The Stables
#2 of 2 in Ticknall
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Staff of Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Staff of Life

Property: The Staff of Life
Address: 7 High Street, Ticknall DE73 7JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Ticknall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ticknall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Staff of Life 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Ticknall, next door to Calke Abbey & Park. About 10 mins from Donnington Race Circuit, 10 miles from both Derby & Burton on Trent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Staff of Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing