We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean friendly and easy going”
Review of Las Gaviotas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Las Gaviotas
Reviewed June 27, 2012

A bit difficult to get to but easily spotted from the road. all maps show you can turn left off the carriageway but infact you have to travel to a form of roundabout a mile up the strip to be able to come back and do a right.tip watch for the sign posts they will help. The hotel itself is very grand on entry to reception, parking is outside (keep off yellow area's though) and also the hotel has underground parking area's that a charge is made for. Wireless is free with a password from reception. The reception staff were lovely and helpfully nothing was to much trouble. Drinks were priced as hotel drinks are but with loads of options just a short walk away no problem. The pool was lovely. The rooms clean well presented and curtosy water provided. breakfast was all you could wish for and opened at 7.45. Which is good. All in all a great location and you are spoilt for choice for beaches to swim from if you got kids great if not enjoy the tranquility yourself as they are far from busy.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank michael_ludwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 113 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

Staff here we're helpful.. The buffet dinner was easy if you have been struggling with Spanish for weeks and very good quality. The rooms were clean but not 4 star. Facilities were basic and noise travelled between rooms. The pool was great. The near by beach was clean but deserted which added an eerie aspect when most of the beaches we have visited have been packed. under cover parking for cars at an extra cost.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKEUtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

I just recently returned from taking a group of high school 20 students on a 10 day trip to Spain. This was one of our stops (for 2 nights) and this place stands out for its hospitality, flexibility, the quality of the meals, and our overall experience there. The weather was unusually awful: extremely cool, windy, overcast the entire time. This is a beach town and April is not the high season, obviously, so it had the feeling of a ghost town; in the summer it is packed with people and I am sure that it has a totally different feel to it then.

There really was not much to do in La Manga because of the weather and most shops were not yet open but we did find a Go-Kart track not too far away (by bus, taxi, car) and we had a great time there. We also spent a good while at Parque de Calblanque, watching the surfers and playing on the beach. In good weather, it would be amazing. As it was, we still enjoyed the natural beauty...well worth the visit.

Back at the hotel, the rooms were delightful, with either a view of the Mediterranean or El Mar Menor...it was quiet, the food was delicious (we had the buffet for breakfast and dinner), the people at the reception desk were unusually lovely and accommodating; our kids wanted a place to hang out and not annoy the other guests and we were given one of the private meeting/dining rooms to use, along with a variety of board games to entertain them.

There is a lovely little restaurant within a short walk of the hotel (in the direction of the end of La Manga) and the folks there were very warm and friendly...the food was home-cooked and really delicious! I want to say that it is called Isla Cristina but could not swear to it...just ask at the reception desk...

The hotel has a lovely outdoor patio with a very pretty pool - some of the kids jumped in despite the chilling temperatures!

Due to the weather, we decided to do some shopping and headed for the closest city, Cartagena, about 30 minutes away by taxi, an hour by the public bus. It is a small city with lots of shops and restaurants. There are some Roman ruins nearby, but we opted to leave and head straight for Granada instead, mostly because we wanted to go someplace warmer.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggbCalvertCounty_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We stayed at the hotel end of Easter for one week with Saga this was the first time we had booked with them. The hotel was very clean and well cared for our room was a decent size and the furntiure was new and clean and the balcony furniture was the same. The food was enjoyable, we stayed on all inclusive there was plenty of wine, cava and water at meal times. A variety of food was available, the salads were especially fresh and crisp. The staff seemed hard working, but some were not always friendly. It has a nice pool which was cleaned daily. Our only complaints were that the walls of the rooms were very thin and our neighbours had their TV on very loud from early morning till often late at night. The beds were also very hard with no give in them at all, but at least the pillows were clean. On the whole we had a postive experience marred only by the quietness of the resort and the hotel as there was only eight of us there in total. The area around the hotel was equally quiet and all the resturants and bars were closed. I don't know what it is like in the summer months but my advice is that if you don't mind being bored out of your minds then this is a very nice hotel to stay in. Unfortunately it wasn't for us.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank lbmking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

My husband and i have today returned from Las Gaviotas and would like to say it is an excellant hotel,all very well looked after great room,daily linen change,the quality of the food was great with a wide choice for every taste,free bar,for 11 hrs daily well maintained pool,the overall cleanliness of all areas was very high and all staff were pleasent and helpful,and seemed to understand our limited Spanish!! evening entertainment was good.This is really a Spanish holiday resort and we had Spanish people staying there,which meant that the evening dance sessions were really lively a good time was had by all.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LancashireBeatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

The Las Gaviotas claims to be a four star hotel but having stayed in many 4**** hotels throughout Europe this one is definitely towards the lower end of the scale.
The hotel is relatively new but lacks soundproofing between rooms. All bedrooms are built around an atrium which means that the noise from the bar area on the ground floor can be heard throughout the hotel.
The buffet, although plentiful, lacked imagination and was of average quality.
Staff throught the hotel had a very poor understanding of English and demonstrated favouritism towards the Spanish clientelle.
Regrettably, we could not recommend the Las Gaviotas to potential guests.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2007

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. It was an excellent hotel with definitely no complaints. Rooms were cleaned every day, The food was very nice and reception and waiter/bar attendants very nice. The hotel had a beautiful swimming pool which was maintained to the highest standards.
There were people on a saga holiday and we were able to enjoy their nightly entertainment in the hotel, even though our ages are in the 40's and not over 50's that cater for saga holiday makers. The hotel was near the beautiful sandy beach and the water was crystal clear and clean. Weather was beautiful and we were out and about every day. Resort itself was very quiet at that time of the year. Nice relaxing holiday and would definitely recommend the Las Gaviotas Hotel for people to stay.

Stayed: February 2007
5  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Manga del Mar Menor hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Entremares
Hotel Entremares
#2 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
1,347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Isla Grosa
Isla Grosa
#15 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
7 reviews
3 mi away
Aparthotel Londres
Aparthotel Londres
#13 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel ROC Doblemar
Hotel ROC Doblemar
#4 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
234 reviews
1.6 mi away
Servigroup Galua
Servigroup Galua
#1 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
760 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Delfines Hotel
Los Delfines Hotel
#20 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Gaviotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Gaviotas

Address: Gran Via s/n, 30380 La Manga del Mar Menor, Municipality of Cartagena, Spain
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Municipality of Cartagena > La Manga del Mar Menor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Manga del Mar Menor
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Manga del Mar Menor
Price Range: $84 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Gaviotas 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Gaviotas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Gaviotas La Manga
Las Gaviotas Spain/La Manga Del Mar Menor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing