We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”
Review of Cavanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavanna Hotel
jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed here for a week, very few english here, although the retired Spanish are extremely polite and nice. We stayed half board, the breakfast is fine, the evening meal was just ok, not very warm, but edible especially bearing in mnd how cheap it is.
Quite noisy at night so take ear plugs.
The pool area is fantastic with plenty of sunloungers etc.
would recommend for a cheap week aWAY IN THE SUN

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frostyJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    233
    208
    60
    58
See reviews for
347
223
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
no
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Overall it's ok, not special but ok. It was clean, quiet. Athough breakfast was poor. We were there for just one night. Though I don't think this hotel it's a four star... I'm not a fan of such big buildings but overall it was ok.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beereefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Just came back from La Manga - and stayed at Hotel Cavanna.
When you arrive at the Murcia airport your only options of travel to the resort would be to book a transfer online before going, hire a car, or have someone pick you up, or get a taxi which costs 50 euros one way. Althought La Manga is a very picturesque resort,
Off season there is not alot to dot, if you are not interested in water sports. The few shops and bars that are there, arent always open. The Bus service is not brilliant, buses seem to turn up when they please and we had difficulties finding a timetable.
We stayed at the Cavanna hotel classed as a 4 star built in 1965, although some parts of the hotel had been refurbished, it was still in need of some work in places. During May the vast majority of quests are retired spanish couples, which was not a problem as they were very polite and friendly. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable we had a room which overlooked the Mar Del Menor which was beautiful. The food at the hotel was average. However food that should have been hot was on occassions cold. When I asked about this I was told that the catering staff were not allowed to touch the food to see if it was hot?? they obviosuly had not heard of temperature gadges? Also the breakfast was the same thing every day. When we booked this hotel it advertised a Gym (there is no Gym). Evening entertainment was ok if you were spanish but not if you were any other nationality. I would probaly calss this hotel as a 3 star, it needs to update a little to attract a mixture of quests. I did enjoy our break but one week was enough for me.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sueandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Just come back from staying a week in the Cavanna Hotel. The hotel is perfectly situated overlooking the Mar Menor (salt water lake) and just across the road is the beach and the Med. We stayed on a half board basis and found the choice of food to be very varied and enjoyable. Plus we got a free litre bottle of wine at the evening meal. We were the only English people staying in the hotel, most of the guests were elderly Spanish, who were very pleasant. There were also a few Germans. We didn't mind that we were the only English but we did miss out on the enternainment and the announcements as they were all in Spanish. However overall the hotel was fine. The weather was 28degrees which was very pleasant.
Barbara Tong

  • Liked — The situation
  • Disliked — Not much English spoken although we manged with our little bit of Spanish.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Della7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2005

The hotel is situated just dozen steps from Mar Menor. Was well built. Has a plenty spa-like facilities. And is fully prepared to accomodate peoples with disabilities. This is good part.
The bed part is that food was monotonous and badly cooked. Sometimes meat and fish were just spoiled beyond edibility. Breakfast were absolutely inadequate. I thought before that scrambled eggs are too hard to spoil. I was wrong. No meat for breakfast, two or three лштвы of boiled sausage you will most probably not taste second time. One of the two water boilers was broken through two weeks i stayed in this hotel and the functioning one collected a quite a lot peoples around it. Fruits aren't washed before placed on tables. You must prepare to search for free table for up to ten minutes and then spend ten minutes more in queues. The restaraunt just can't accomodate all peoples staing in hotel. Me and my friend we missed some evening meals and have been never in a harry to return to lunch.
It seems that during refurnishing most cheap parts were choosen both for beadroom and for bathroom.
Floors were dusty after room cleaning. And since hotel is rather big some rooms were cleaned after 15 or even later. Pepople at reception tried to be helpfull but simetimes just snaped at us. We were late for the evening meal, not a big loss though, and we asked why we weren't informed about the change. Manager at reception said that they had made announcements and if we can't understand espanol that's our problem.
Clearly, four star rating is too much for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shadowtramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Manga del Mar Menor hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Manga del Mar Menor hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Entremares
Hotel Entremares
#2 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
1,275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Servigroup Galua
Servigroup Galua
#1 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
719 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel & SPA Mangalan
Hotel & SPA Mangalan
#9 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Las Gaviotas
Las Gaviotas
#8 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
105 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel ROC Doblemar
Hotel ROC Doblemar
#4 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas La Manga
Villas La Manga
#5 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavanna Hotel

Property: Cavanna Hotel
Address: Plaza Cavanna | Gran Via, 30380 La Manga del Mar Menor, Spain
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > La Manga del Mar Menor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Manga del Mar Menor
#5 On the Beach Hotel in La Manga del Mar Menor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavanna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Cavanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavanna Hotel Spain/La Manga Del Mar Menor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing