We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience at the Servigroup Galua”
Review of Servigroup Galua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Servigroup Galua
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience at the Servigroup Galua”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at the Servigroup Galua for one night in August.
We found the hotel had some positive features, but we were disappointed by a number of things.
The location is great as it's right on the beach, and views from our rooms were fantastic. It's very clean and the pool is nice. However, the hotel itself and the rooms are dated.
The buffet was available, but queues at breakfast and dinner times were surprisingly long. We had to come back for breakfast at a later time as there were no tables available at 9:40am.
The pool was closed until at least 11am and we were not sure why. WiFi service was poor and non existent at times, and air-conditioning in the room was weak.
Generally the staff were polite, just not very enthusiastic.

We travelled with two teenagers and whilst we did not find it was a teenagers paradise, the square outside the hotel and the area around did offer entertainment for our kids. The guest at the hotel itself were either grandparents age or families with very little children, for which the hotel made an effort to entertain.

In summary, this is more a three star than a four star hotel, and at EUR 160 pr/pn half board, we weren't sure that it represented good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathrin_78_Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles_Servigroup, Customer Service at Servigroup Galua, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments because knowing your opinion is the best tool to improve the service that you are offered.
9:40am is the peak time for breakfast and it could have happened that in August, as it high season, there might have been more people but, not more than 5 minutes.
If you had informed at reception that you had a problem with the Wi-Fi connection, we would have immediately, contacted the company and they would have solved it.
It may have been that as you only stayed one night in our hotel, your children didn’t like the entertainment on that day. We have to say that we have a schedule of activities during the week, which sometimes varies depending on the amount of children and their ages.
We are sorry to see that all the efforts that we did to make your stay comfortable did not meet with your expectations.

Kind regards,
Customer Service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    283
    67
    20
    16
See reviews for
300
294
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We liked this hotel. Rooms a bit dated colourwise but v clean and plenty fresh towels etc. AC excellent in the room. We were half board and you could choose between lunch and dinner. We picked lunch most days as easier and it was better- dinner was ok bjt not great- buffet style. Very few Brits which we liked. Staff friendly and appreciated our feeble attempts at Spanish. Beach is really good. Pool is a bit small but still ok- v quiet in afternoons as everyone having their siesta. Small square down the road comes alive at night. Hotel and local restaurants v reasonably priced. Good location. Great for a short break away- we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suze1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
214 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

.I was at Galua in the busiest time of the year (middle of august) with my family. The hotel was in a perfect spot,we had a nice room with a fantastic seaview,clean and the people working at the hotel were all very nice with us and very helpfull.
The breakfast despite to some bad comments was great (big variety of everything included fresh fruit).. the lunch and dinner could be better with more choice(but my opinion is hard because of my origin.. i m italian) .
The only bad point was no towel for swimming pool /beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 69everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. All rooms have stunning sea views and are comfortable and well equipped. The air con was excellent although the sea breeze makes the heat here more pleasant than in other parts of the strip.The meals were delicious with excellent choice and the bar prices are very reasonable.The staff are very friendly, the reception staff speak good English and those in the restaurant were very helpful despite our limited Spanish. The pool has a beautiful view over the sea and there were always enough loungers for everyone at whatever time of the day we went down. We were so glad we stayed here, none of the other 4 star hotels on the strip came close in terms of location. Free Wifi was a huge bonus and allowed us to keep in touch with Olympic events at home.

Room Tip: They're all good! Every room in this hotel has a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beckywilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Hotel is located on a headland which dominates the seaward strip of the resort.The views from all rooms are stunning, We were on the top floor so could see right across the strip to the inland sea (Mar Menor) The sea breezes and general climate in La manga means the resort is comfortable temperature wise .
The hotel was modern with free wifi and a free safe and fridge in the room we were half board and the buffet style breakfast and dinner were ideal with plenty of choice (even for a vegetarian) The staff were very friendly although as this is a hotel for mainly spanish guests a little spanish helps.
The area where the hotel is is also close to a little square which has plenty bars and cafes for lunch and a small market,there is also a kids funpark nearby.
For a middle aged couple without their kids this was a nice chill out hotel but probably not suitable for young families or teenagers.

Room Tip: High floor best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kevinridpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a lovely hotel right on the Sea - we had a room with a view! Lovely beach and a great place to relax. We had the full plan which included 3 meals a day. Were there for 7 nights and the menus varied day to day with plenty of choices. Some food was prepared by the chefs right in front of you at the grill - seafood, steak, pork, turkey, with plenty of fresh vegetables, fruit, pastas and dessert - right down to gelato. Not many of the staff spoke English, which was a drawback for us as we do not speak Spanish - but somehow we were able to communicate.
Guest rooms were clean and decent size with a nice bath.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank misterwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Great location and views. Staff pleasant..
Breakfast good and evening meal not as good... Not very hot.. But lovely fresh Salads and fruit..
Clean and updated.. Wifi works in rooms..
Enjoyed our stay.. We would go back

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank S Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Manga del Mar Menor hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Entremares
Hotel Entremares
#2 of 24 in La Manga del Mar Menor
1,102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villas La Manga
Villas La Manga
#4 of 24 in La Manga del Mar Menor
126 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel & SPA Mangalan
Hotel & SPA Mangalan
#6 of 24 in La Manga del Mar Menor
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Las Gaviotas
Las Gaviotas
#7 of 24 in La Manga del Mar Menor
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aparthotel Londres
Aparthotel Londres
#9 of 24 in La Manga del Mar Menor
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel La Mirage
Aparthotel La Mirage
#8 of 24 in La Manga del Mar Menor
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servigroup Galua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servigroup Galua

Property: Servigroup Galua
Address: Avenida Gran Via de La Manga N0 30 | Indicación GPS Camino rompiente o Camino proa, 30380 La Manga del Mar Menor, Spain
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > La Manga del Mar Menor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Manga del Mar Menor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in La Manga del Mar Menor
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Manga del Mar Menor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Servigroup Galua 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: - The Servigroup Galua Hotel is located on the seafront, on Galua's Beach and close to the well- known Bohemia Square. Nearby are Sailing Schools, Tennis and Golf clubs. - 30 Km from Cartagena and 75 km from Murcia. Facilities and services: - Modern and comfortable hotel, particularly recommended for families. - Large sun terrace and a superb swimming pool for children and adults with sunbeds and parasols (electrolysis disinfection). New pool-bar and lounge bar, which overlooks the sea. -Social lounge, TV room, cafe, several event rooms for conferences and banquets (max. Capacity up to 300 people). - Wellness Centre (supplement), provided with gymnasium, Jacuzzi, massages, and facial and body treatments. -Miniclub and Delfi children's club with its own mascot, workshops and activities (high season - children under 4 years must be accompanied by an adult). - Children's playground. - Entertainment programme (high season). - Free wifi. - Internet zone at reception area (supplement). -Laundry service. - Hotel-owned parking spaces (supplement). Rooms: -The hotel has 6 floors and a total of 194 rooms. There are different types of rooms for the guests: double rooms views to the sea, family rooms, panoramic rooms and Junior Suites. All of them are fully equipped with air-conditioning (depends on the season) and heating system, bathroom with hairdryer, direct dial telephone, LCD TV, mini fridge and safe. -Facilities for disabled people: The hotel has rooms adapted for disabled people, as well as its common areas. Restaurant: - Restaurant with buffet service and show cooking. A selected and varied assortment of dishes including themed dishes, vegetarian choices and delicious desserts. Special celiac menu available on request. Fire and safety installations adapted to the current European regulations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Servigroup, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Servigroup Galua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servigroup Galua Hotel La Manga Del Mar Menor
Sol Galua Hotel
Servigroup Galua Spain/La Manga Del Mar Menor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing