We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cardenal(Monforte de Lemos)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ribeira Sacra(Monforte de Lemos)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Molinos de Antero(Monforte de Lemos)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Condes De Lemos(Monforte de Lemos)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Medievo(Monforte de Lemos)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
MON comeysuena(Monforte de Lemos)(Great Value!)
$42
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Hotel Terra Galega(Monforte de Lemos)
    $33
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Hostal Galicia(Monforte de Lemos)
    $47
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (520)
    Filter reviews
    521 results
    Traveler rating
    269
    198
    41
    6
    7
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    269
    198
    41
    6
    7
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssurrounding countrysidehistoric buildingswimming poolbreakfast buffetold churchhill overlookingamazing viewsnice locationfew hoursexcellent valuecommon areaswi figreat settingexcellent stayinteresting townparadorgalicia
    Filter
    Updating list...
    19 - 24 of 521 reviews
    Reviewed June 30, 2017

    You can see this hotel as soon as you drive near to the town of Monforte de Lemos, as it is perched on top of a hill dominating the area. As we are Amigo members of the Paradores we were given a voucher for a food discount from our previous Parador hotel and a voucher for a welcome drink from this hotel.
    So we settled into a table in the outdoor courtyard and shared Veal Hock and a platter of vegetables and sweet potato puree. We then shared two desserts, cheesecake and crepes with chestnut puree. The food was excellent and the hotel is a beautiful building.
    We appreciated the public spaces of the hotel, including a resident's lounge and spacious corridors with seating on each floor. We were even joined by a long-eared bat one evening!
    The outdoor pool enabled us to have a chill day, armed with our books, we collected the pool towels from reception, drinks from the bar and enjoyed watching a duck and a drake have a quick swim.
    It was possible to visit the church next to the hotel and we were lucky to meet a local who had spent 5 years in Australia, though had not used his English for 35 years! He took us up to the minstrel's gallery.
    The other side of the hotel was a tower, Torre del Homenaje, which means tower of honouring. For a small fee we were able to climb the tower and received information in English from a helpful guide. There are 4 floors and then you can climb out onto the roof. The view from the top was incredible.
    This hotel is an excellent base to explore the Ribiera Sacre area, with its forests and many hidden monasteries.

    Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    2  Thank LGNpton
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Sara E, Front Office Manager at Parador de Monforte de Lemos, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

    Dear Sirs,

    thank you so much for your words.
    It seems that you have spent a great time, not only with us, if not at the City of Monforte.
    Experiences like the yours, as we can read, are the ones that are always reminded.
    This will be your home, always.
    Our best regards.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 25, 2017

    Great base for visiting Galicia's inland wine regions with exceptionally helpful and welcoming staff , spotlessly clean rooms , ample and stylish public areas and very good breakfast.

    We would definitely use this as a base for future wine tours.

    • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
    1  Thank philippajaneh2017
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Sara E, Front Office Manager at Parador de Monforte de Lemos, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

    Dear Philip,

    thank you so much for your review.
    All of we are here to help, as long as we can, to our guests.
    As you have seen, we are to close to the vineyards, that if you come back during the harvest, they will make you work on it (joke).
    Seriously, we'll be happy to see you again some other time.
    Our best regards.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 20, 2017

    Historic monastery is situated on top of the hill with an excellent view over Monforte de Lemos. Good place to relax with outdoor pool only 10 minutes walking to the city center. The center i lively with several good bars and restaurant.

    • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
    2  Thank Benelux C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Sara E, Front Office Manager at Parador de Monforte de Lemos, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

    Dear Mr. Benelux,

    thank you so much for your review.
    It is a good summary. Brief and very clear.
    Thank you very much for writing here.
    We hope to see you on another occasion.
    Greetings from Monforte!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 2, 2017

    Highly recommended, fantastic location overlooking Monforte de Lemos, Very comfortable rooms with a range of facilities and bathroom amenities. A selection of books in Spanish (poetry, art, culture, etc) are in the room for general use. Common areas around the stunning central courtyard are well worth relaxing in. Rocio and Sonia in Reception are fantastic and aside from being helpful are very knowledgable. Patricia in the Restaurant is very thoughtful and considerate. So, in summary, a wonderful historic building at the top of a hill with great views, excellent staff, comfortable rooms, good food and a gym. Minor drawbacks: wi-fi very variable (to be expected in view of the thickness of the walls) and swimming pool closed over the winter months ( also makes sense)

    • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Paradores Hotels
    1  Thank PajaritoLondon
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Sara E, Front Office Manager at Parador de Monforte de Lemos, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2017

    Dear Mr. PajaritoLondon,

    we are extremely happy to have found your review.
    Rocío, Patricia and me (Sonia) we are very grateful for your kind words.
    If you come back to Galicia, please, como to visit us again.

    My best regards (again)

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 5, 2016

    Excellent location for the towns of Monforte and Lugo as well as several castros.
    Superb building in an amazing situation. large comfortable room
    Excellent service and food, particularly the extensive breakfast buffet.

    • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank whinaem
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews