We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't trust the locals ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador de Monforte de Lemos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parador de Monforte de Lemos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't trust the locals ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

A nice enough Parador with good sized rooms. We ate in the restaurant and it was one of the better Parador meals AND it was hot and served on hot plates - not a common occurrence! Parking was in the open and as it was a long way from the town we didn't use the garage facilities. However, in the morning it was clear that both cars had been tampered with and damage done to the bonnet of one. Why can't people respect the property of others?

The safe in the room did not work and Reception were unable to fix it - on a Sunday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Budjuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    123
    25
    1
    3
See reviews for
63
174
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here two nights in a superior room. The room and bathroom were both a nice size, and the bed was comfortable. The only real issue we had was that the A/C was only turned on a few hours during the day, forcing us to open the window at night for cool air. The window looked like it was part of the original structure, meaning that it was an odd size and had no screen, so you could close the heavy draperies and not get any air or you could leave them open and risk a bird flying in.

The public areas and interior courtyard were very attractive. The front desk staff was very helpful, although there was no bellman to take luggage to the rooms.The bar and restaurant service was also very cordial, and the one maintenance issue we had was handled immediately. The breakfast buffet was probably the best we had on our entire two week trip.

We did not eat dinner at the hotel (although it looked like many people did), but rather we chose Los Grelos restaurant/terrace, which is halfway down the hill from the hotel - a five minute walk. One night we were the only guests in the dining room upstairs, and the next night we were crowded in to the bar with tourists and locals alike for the Friday night happy hour (8pm-12). The food was very good both times.

There is really nothing to do in Monforte de Lemos except, perhaps, to visit the Nuestra Senora de la Antigua school (referred to as the El Escorial of Galicia because of its grandeur) and its collection of paintings. We took a fabulous, private day trip to the vineyards of Ribeira Sacra with a guide from Vintage Spain. It was our third excursion with them (in various parts of Spain) and they have never failed to offer an excellent experience for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrustedTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is situated between an old church and a fortified tower. It claims to be a 17th century monastry but this must have been heavily restored as, apart from the layout of the clositers around the central atrium, it didn't show much signs of age. Don't expect worn flagstones and stone window seats here. That said, its a nicely decorated and both the public areas and bedrooms were tasteful rather than pretend period - thankfully. The rooms were adequate and comfortable rather than oustanding. We had a room at the back corner and the view was a bit diappointing given the vista from the front of the hotel.

Reception had kindly given us a map and pointed out interesting historical items in the town. Unfortuunately in our haste to visit we forgot siesta time and arrived while pretty much everything was closed. The walk to the village is really not as far as it looks, although walking back mid afternoon builds up a seat even in September. I didn't fancy trudging back both ways later in the day, and we missed most of what the town had to offer!

The restaurant set up was a bit strange as they separated the dining room into dinner and breakfast areas, which meant limited tables at both times and we had to wait for a table.

The pool was till open in mid September which was nice to see as it was still warm enough to use it.

All in all its a nice hotel in a great setting but theres just not enough wow for me to want to return.

Room Tip: Chose the front or side, not the rear if possible for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Businesstravelsadrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Parador de Monforte de Lemos is truly a destination in and of itself! Just loved this luxury hotel in a 9th century monastery!! It has a gorgeous cloister and sitting there having our free wine (something you get at each parador if you become an amigos de paradores which is a free membership) felt just decadent!! Our room was lovely with a terrific view out over the town far below. The pool and hot tub are blissful. The breakfast buffet was magnificent! We just loved this place!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knierim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at several Paradors along the Camino de Santiago. This, like the others, had stunning public areas, and somewhat monastic private bedrooms. Some of the rooms are named for the former abbots. Our room looked out over the town, and the castle tower, and the forecourt of the parador. It was a great view. The rooms surrounded the old cloister. We had coffee in the afternoon sitting in the cloister, reading our books. It was very nice. There is an old church attached to the hotel which we toured. A young boy was getting tutored for his first communion while we were there. Dinner in the Parador was very good. Breakfast was similarly good, but I actually do not recommend the Galician stew for breakfast. Get an omelette.

Room Tip: Get a corner room that has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LA12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Miles from anywhere (we drove 400kms from Oviedo) this landmark hotel was superb in every way - with the exception, perhaps, of finding it first time! No doubt lots has been written about the Parado organization and we chose Monforte based on Trip Advisor reports.

This beautifully converted monastery sits on top of the only hill for miles. Arrival late afternoon on a Friday afternoon was a slight battle for parking as it is a popular spot to enjoy the views. Once at reception 'monastery syndrome' took over. There is a discount for over 55's so the room charge for a retired married couple was almost embarrassing. Our room on the 2nd floor commanded magnificent views; the bed was large and comfortable, the mini bar was modestly stocked and we enjoyed a doze before dinner.

We dined twice in the main dining room, enjoyed excellent service and superb regional food. Breakfasts were in a room connected to the L shaped dining area and the amazing variety of breakfast choices was yet another reason for 5 stars. Dinner was appropriately priced; breakfast seemed very reasonable.

The hotel was rather empty when we stayed and a young staff coped easily with numbers. It was unclear how things might go if all 35 rooms were occupied and guests eating in.

There is a fine restaurant "Le Grilo" close by and associated with the Parador. We eat there the last evening. A magnificent meal slightly spoiled as we were the only diners upstairs. Downstairs the bar and simpler dining facility was very busy with locals from 9-11pm.

We will be back in Monforte and exploring more Paradors in 2014.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilbo726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here as part of a 3 week road trip around Spain and Portugal and this was our first ever stay in a Parador hotel. Firstly, the building itself was simply incredible, the view of the surrounding landscape from it's elevated position was simply stunning - especially in the morning when the town below was lost in a heavy almost surreal mist.

As a hotel the Parador was a lovely place to stay, the view from our room was gorgeous. The inner courtyard made the perfect, peaceful place to sit and enjoy a few beers after the day's drive to get there. The room we had was spotlesslty clean as was the bathroom. The reception staff were friendly and efficient and soon had us booked in. Car parking is either in the public car park in the square at the Parador or in the underground car park belonging to the hotel for which there is a charge. We felt that the public car park was safe (we have a soft top car) so we left the car there and it was fine.

The only downside to the stay was the food at our evening meal and the staff serving it, they were two very humourless almost robotic waiters with a superiority attitude who didn't so much serve the meals as chuck them on the table! The food itself wasn't the best, the steak I ordered was full of slimy fatty veins but this seems to be the way the Spanish like their food - we'd had several meals served to us that were the same during our trip. This didn't taste too bad, it was just that the fat was very off-putting and not terribly appetising.

Breakfast was a vast improvement (this wasn't included in our room rate so we had to pay extra for it - some rooms do come with breakfast included). There were eggs, bacon and sausage on offer and it was pretty good.

We didn't go down to explore the town during our stay but we drove through it on the way in and out. It didn;t appear to be anything very special so not sure I'd want to stay here for more than one or two nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monforte de Lemos
11.6 mi away
Parador de Santo Estevo
Parador de Santo Estevo
#1 of 3 in Nogueira de Ramuin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cardenal
Hotel Cardenal
#2 of 4 in Monforte de Lemos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oca Augas Santas Balneario & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ribeira Sacra
Hotel Ribeira Sacra
#3 of 4 in Monforte de Lemos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Reboiro
Casa Reboiro
#4 of 4 in Monforte de Lemos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel O Remanso dos Patos
Hotel O Remanso dos Patos
#2 of 3 in Nogueira de Ramuin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Monforte de Lemos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Monforte de Lemos

Property: Parador de Monforte de Lemos
Address: Plaza Luis de Gongora y Argote, s/n, 27400 Monforte de Lemos, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Monforte de Lemos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monforte de Lemos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Monforte de Lemos 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Parador de Monforte de Lemos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing