We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Hotel de Ferrol
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ferrol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very nice hotel, spacious rooms, comfortable beds and friendly staff. We stayed there during Christmas and they gave us a nice room on the highest floor. The room was very clean and the bed was really confortable.

The place is located in the centre of Ferrol, between the new and old city, so everything is within walking distance. Plenty of places to park around the hotel. I would stay here again, recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libredon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 227 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Staff is friendly and helpful.
Room and bathroom spotless.
Bed very comfortable.
Pillow menu available.
Great value.
Closed and secure parking on the hotel's garage for extra 8€/night.
Quiet and relaxed atmosphere.


Minus points:
- breakfast is basic (no scrambled eggs) and they do not refill yogurt, fruit, juice, etc the last 30min. Meaning if you arrive there just 30min before closing of breakfast you'll be stuck with wherever is leftover.
- bed is small sized (140cm wide).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana09brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Staff is friendly and helpful.
Room and bathroom spotless.
Bed very comfortable.
Pillow menu available.
Great value.
Closed and secure parking on the hotel's garage for extra 8€/night.
Quiet and relaxed atmosphere.


Minus points:
- breakfast is basic (no scrambled eggs) and they do not refill yogurt, fruit, juice, etc the last 30min. Meaning if you arrive there just 30min before closing of breakfast you'll be stuck with wherever is leftover.
- bed is small sized (140cm wide).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank disantos_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very pleasant hotel, extremely helpful staff, the room was clean and spacious. Centrally located, only a short walk from the historic city centre. There were a few shops right next to the hotel and plenty of parking spaces on the street. Good selection of dishes for the evening buffet. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agnieszka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Ferrol was our base for exploring northwest Galicia and we were delighted to find such hospitality at the Hesperia. The hotel room was spacious, well appointed and comfortable. Because it was not tourist season, the restaurant was closed but the hotel breakfast had a good selection, including eggs to order. There is underground parking and the location is great for walking to the old part of town with a selection of cafes and restaurants.

We would like to acknowledge the front desk staff who really made our visit special. Lulu took great care of us, including ensuring we knew where the good beaches were. The hotel also had hot and cold beverages and pastries available in the lounge, a nice touch. Beware if you are spending New Year's Eve in Ferrol: it's a family time and the restaurants shut early.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penderepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The hotel doesn't look modern with its dark brown furniture, but the 2 night we spend there were very good.
The beds were good and the room an bathroom were clean.
The breakfast was is a nice big room and was very good. Very good quality of the products served, nicely presented, clean. Fresh orange and other juices.
Although we didn't do much in Ferrol itself (except for paying a visit to the Alcompo shoppingcenter nearby), the city was good to do different trips from there: visit to A Coruna, Santiago to Compostella or the beach nearby Ferrol.
In the the streets behind the hotel there was some free parking space available to park your car, and in front of the hotel there was some place forseen to load/unload your car.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sweetviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for 1 night at the beginning of our Camino Ingles trip to Santiago de Compostela. The hotel is 4* and service is very good. Rooms well equiped, bathroom full of toiletries. healthy meals at the restaurant. Free apples and mineral water in the room. Booked the room through their website for 49 Euros per double room per night. The hotel has got all you would need in a 4* hotel. It is circa 10 mins from the coach station and 20 mins from the port.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_NWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ferrol hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valencia
Hotel Valencia
#1 of 9 in Ferrol
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silva
Hotel Silva
#5 of 9 in Ferrol
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carris Almirante
Carris Almirante
#7 of 9 in Ferrol
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sercotel Odeon Hotel
Sercotel Odeon Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ferrol
159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parador de Ferrol
Parador de Ferrol
#2 of 9 in Ferrol
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Suizo
El Suizo
#4 of 9 in Ferrol
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel de Ferrol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel de Ferrol

Address: Estrada Castela 75 | Castilla Street 75 . Ferrol, 15403 Ferrol, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Ferrol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ferrol
Price Range: $53 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel de Ferrol 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Ferrol at the intersection of two of the main avenues of the city, the hotel offers high quality accommodation for tourists and business travelers by providing the best facilities and sophisticated decor. High quality, particularly noticeable at the ends, it can be seen from the rooms to the restaurant and bar, without neglecting the extensive facilities for conferencias.Las rooms have been designed with the premise of comfort, and are equipped with access Internet (WiFi), complimentary air conditioning and satellite TV. Our restaurant and cafe-bar serves meals and selected, fresh and high quality beverages to ensure that during your visit you can relax and also have fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gran Hotel de Ferrol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing