We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel in beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in S'Agaro
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Just got back from a week at this hotel.

Spotless rooms and bathrooms - we had a fantastic seaview over the bay. Plenty of room (even though there was an extra bed). Hairdryer, shower with decent pressure and a good sized bath. No signs of dirt anywhere. TV (though no satelite so no English channels).

Location is actually in San Pol area rather than S'agaro itself - but this really does not matter as it is still a beautiful, peaceful place. The beach front has a few relatively classy restaurants/snack bars and one shop selling a few basics and newspapers. There are a few shops in S'agaro itself (on the main road not on the penisular) - but if you want endless tourist tat or clothes shopping do not come to this resort (Platja d'aro is only a 10 minute drive and there is a lot of nightlife/shops here). The beach is spotless (blue flag), and fairly safe for swimming. Lots of lovely walks on costal paths in either direction. Fantastic childrens play area at the end of the beach (and a mini funfair - but there is a better/cheaper one in Platja D'aro)

We were on half-board - I thought we would end up eating out for half of the stay but we couldn't be bothered (the food is not out of this world fantastic but it is good enough not to be bothered to pay extra for an evening meal - plenty of salad, veg and a choice of main dishes - everything well prepared and fresh).

It was pretty quite when we were there - mainly french guests. (probably explains why the food was relatively good quality). Service was very good - all the staff were friendly and seemed to work well as a team. (No self-important head waiters or managers that we have come across at larger hotels in the past).

There was only one night of hotel entertainment (sic) - pretty dire but that is what I tend to expect. The gym consists of an excercise bike and a weights machine and there is a sauna and a jacuzzi (costs 3E per day to use which is fairly reasonable). There is a computer for internet access (1E = 12 minutes) - not sure if it is possible to print. Pool table and swimming pool plus outdoor bar and jacuzzi - all clean and well maintained.

Would we recommend to close friends - yes

Would we go back - yes

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lilythepink06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 349 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2006

We visited this hotel last year and had a great time.

The rooms are quite basic but the staff are so friendly and it is also very clean. It was really quiet when we were there so the pool was empty a lot of the time which the kids loved ! There are really lovely views from the pool, you look right across the harbour.

Our children are 12 & 14 - if you are looking for a bit of family time this place is ideal but don't go here if you are looking for excitement, it is very quiet, especially in May when we visited as this is just the start of their season.

We have just booked to go again in two weeks time and are really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Julie_Luke67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2005

7th holiday in last 5 years. Staff remain the same always friendly and helpful. Meals have improved and S'Agaro is an Oasis surrounded by larger developments and tourist traps. The bay must one of the safest and best in the Costa Brava.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ArchieG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2005

It was a reasonable place to stay for a short period of time (We stayed in the hotel for four nights). The staff appeared friendly (this is what one expectes in Costa Brava). The main advantage of staying in this hotel is its closeness to a very good sandy beach. The food at the hotel was of a reasonable standard with a good variety of dishes (we had our breakfasts and dinners at the hotel). Our experience with the bar was less positive: at a few occasions we wanted to order cocktails from the bar which were listed in the menu but learned that either the bar attendant did not know how to make them or that the bar was "out of stock" for some of the necessary components. By the way, a primitive knowledge of Spanish is the "must" for those who wants to use the bar. Other things which we expected to find but the hotel could not provide was the Internet connection and a possibility of using a telephone card from our room. Finally, if you are planning on checking-out on Sunday morning and order a taxi to get you somewhere (e.g. go to the bus station in Sant Feliu de Guixols like we wanted to), you should, probably, re-arrange your plans as we were assured by one of the staff member that it was impossible to find a taxi cab.... (so, we had to walk to the station, and sure enough we did see a few taxis which were servicing lucky customers from other hotels in the town..)

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fedor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank frambuesa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Amandine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Albert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'Agaro
0.1 mi away
ILUNION Caleta Park
ILUNION Caleta Park
#2 of 4 in S'Agaro
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
S'Agaro Hotel
S'Agaro Hotel
#4 of 4 in S'Agaro
365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal de La Gavina
Hostal de La Gavina
#1 of 4 in S'Agaro
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#8 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
232 reviews
3.1 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
887 reviews
3.3 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel

Address: Cami de la Caleta, s/n, 17248 S'Agaro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > S'Agaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in S'Agaro
Price Range: $60 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The S'Agaro Mar Hotel overlooks the bay of Sant Pol, surrounded by pine trees and with magnificent views of the Mediterranean Sea, where you can enjoy the beauty of the Costa Brava. It is regularly modernize and is ISO 9001 -certified. It has large, comfortable rooms, some of which can be adjoined. S'Agaro Mar Hotel also has extensive gardens and terraces where one can be at one with nature and enjoy the peace and quiet of this landscape, as well as a relaxation area where there's a jacuzzi, sauna, thermal loungers, and a new area for massages, ideal for those who want to enjoy well-being,..... The meals provided by the hotel restaurant are buffet style and offer all the typical Mediterranean dishes on the barbeque when dinner is served on the terrace. It is an ideal spot for enjoying a few days of wellbeing and tranquillity in a friendly environment. We do not accept pets S'Agaro Mar Hotel, the ideal place for an idyllic Costa Brava holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Otel, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel Spain/Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing