We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal de La Gavina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal de La Gavina
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in S'Agaro
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here; we ate lunch at the pool restaurant which was excellent and had a romantic dinner in the courtyard at night. The room was on the small side but was excellently equipped. My complaint which is small regards the lack of outdoor shaded space for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelleralways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    40
    20
    6
    14
See reviews for
57
112
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
416 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place is located North Barcelona not far the French Border. It is an small coast town where views are nice and relax is guarranteed. Place has a very nice pool where you can relax. Other actvities are posible but I just went there to relax and doing nothing and mission was acomplished. Very good place to charge batteries if you are having a busy life.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Armando_74a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had read so many wonderful things about this grand hotel, that we could not wait to vacate Barcelona and arrive at the Costa Brava. We learned rather quickly that you want to avoid summer weekends. The hotel is surrounded by lovely seaside mansions - some of which are inhabited by raucous teenage parties throughout the weekend. Our beautiful (best room in the house) room with amazing balcony overlooking the water was ruined by non-stop, head banging music and screaming. We tried other rooms but could not avoid the noise. We eventually opted for a cheaper room (with no balcony) overlooking the parking lot. Lousy view but at least quiet. We were told by the front desk "yes - there is nothing we can do about the noise - it will get much worse". Great news for people who just travelled across the ocean and were anticipating a relaxing vacation by the sea. The food was just average but extremely pricey and the pool was nice but had only one attendant and no one came by to ask if you wanted a drink. You had to go up to the bar and get it yourself. The coastal walk was the one saving grace but you don't have to stay at this pricey hotel to enjoy it. If you visit this area - find another hotel off the strip and close to the coastal walk.

Room Tip: Try to find a room that is not adjacent to the private homes along with sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We enjoy staying here! Amazing view and friendly stuff, really perfect place for couples!! Quite and romantic, best opportunity to relax during your holiday!! It was very unexpected trip for us, that is why we like it even more;) Highly recommend to visit restaurant La tarerna del mar, only 5 min for hotel and definitely worth visiting!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastasiya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have stayed at La Gavina many times. It is a truly wonderful hotel in a fantastic location. The service is superb, and the whoe place oozes splendour. The restaurant is magic. In the summer the tblaes in the courtyard a re great. The pool is uperb hand has a view to die for. It is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CityboyNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was surprised to find very big open sea water swimming pool with perfect views.
One and ten minutes walk to absolutely different beaches .
The food prices was absolutely the same , not higher ,than in good city restaurants along the beach. May be too firm bed ,but tastes differ.

Room Tip: I had a suite sea -oriented ,it was rather quiete, i think do not get parking side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexander49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

James and I stayed at La Gavina for ten nights at the beginning of July and had a really fabulous experience. I would recommend this beautiful hotel to couples and families and would not hesitate to return. I hope it will be very soon! The hotel is traditional in it's design and is like stepping back in time but in a very positive way. We experienced friendly and professional service throughout and we were made to feel very welcome by all management and staff?.
The location is exclusive and has lots of lovely coastal walks and beaches just a stones through away from the hotel.
Pere who manages the Front of House is superb and nothing was too much trouble. He even had my necklace repaired within the first half an hour of our arrival (a birthday gift - which was so appreciated).
The General Manager, Manuel is charming and is obviously dedicated to managing and delivering the very best with his team to their guests.

Room Tip: The majority of rooms has a sea view which I would recommend for the wonderful views go the coastlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near S'Agaro
2.6 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
S'Agaro Hotel
S'Agaro Hotel
#5 of 5 in S'Agaro
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
ILUNION Caleta Park
ILUNION Caleta Park
#2 of 5 in S'Agaro
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel GHT S'Agaro Mar Hotel
1.9 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#9 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal de La Gavina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal de La Gavina

Property: Hostal de La Gavina
Address: Pza Rosaleda s/n, 17248 S'Agaro, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > S'Agaro
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in S'Agaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostal de La Gavina 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal de la Gavina is a luxurious resort on a private estate. The setting between two lovely beaches on a small peninsula is exquisite. It is elegant in the European, grand-hotel tradition, with splendidly decorated rooms and antiques. Each guest room has direct-dial telephone, electronic safe, mini-bar, hair dryer, and satellite color television. It is the only Five-Star Grand Luxe resort hotel in Catalonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hostal de La Gavina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal De La Gavina Hotel
Hostal De La Gavina Spain/Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing