We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
44
45
25
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
44
45
25
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews town centre the rooms were nice lots of restaurants few minutes walk train station great hotel beds spain beaches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 136 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2019

The New Hotel Colon is situated very close to the charming center of Mataro and equidistant from the coast / beaches. the staff were extremely helpful and responded to every request. The meals served in the restaurant were very good quality but the menu a little limited. Parking was an issue and resulted in having to park some way away from the hotel. The rooms are on the small side and not as quiet as hoped, but I would most definitely stay again as the positives out weigh the negatives

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nickbrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018

We liked this hotel. It is a few blocks from the train station. We do not have a car so we always look for hotels close to public transportation.
The room is a bit small but that's ok. We had a balcony with table and two chairs. Has a refrigerator in the room which is a plus. Has an elevator or lift.
Clean. Staff nice. Has a bar and restaurant. Breakfast was about 8 Euro and probably one of the best breakfast we had in three weeks at a hotel. We would stay again. It was very reasonably priced and quiet. The beds are soft.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank painnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

Lovely room ( bathroom can be slippy), fantastic staff, could not be more friendly and helpful. minutes from town centre, beaches & train station. good valie, too. Really enjoyed the stay here and will stay for sure the next time we are visiting Mataro!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Eoin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

This is a nice hotel close to the town Centre. It has a good bar restaurant area in the lobby. Rooms are pretty standard, clean and have all that you require. The staff are friendly and helpful. So if you are looking for a location close to the beaches this could be for you.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 3SteveR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

My wife and I had occasion to stay at the New Hotel Colon in Mataro, Spain which is about 30 miles from Barcelona. This quaint room and board accommodation was quirkily designed but has modern day appeal. In line with the European culture of ecology, ask for a 2nd card key to your room if you wish the room to continue to cool while you are away since the card key not only unlocks the door but also engages the electricity in the room. The staff was always pleasant, polite and helpful. The hotel also houses the best kept secret in the area. Punt 6 is the restaurant where the chef Josep Eiximeno will fashion dining delicacies that awaken your palate as if for the first time. Taste and presentation will blow you away. The mouth-watering tapas were brought one after another as soon as we finished the previous order. The topper of the meal was the bull tail (they should change the name) which was succulent cube of beef which looked as though King Midas had graced it, topped with a dollop of mashed red potatoes and a brown sauce so good we ordered extra bread to use as spoons to get every drop. It was a late dinner and we were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to express our thanks to the chef. One of the staff brought him to the table so we could do it in person and translated. Chef Eiximeno then whipped up a blackberry cheesecake parfait fit for royalty. The front desk staff arranged an early morning wakeup call and taxi for a trip to the airport for our departure. Thanks to Sabrina, Jose, Aitor, Pau, Alba and Rosa. Special thanks to Alba, through our enjoyed lengthy conversation, we were able to experience the fine cuisine of Punt6.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rvastyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colon M, Manager at New Hotel Colon, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Dear Mr and Mrs Rva S,

Thank you for your lovely review!! It certainly put a smile on our faces when we learned you both had such amazing (and very well described!) experience. A big thank you from all our staff and specially from Chef, who is thrilled to hear that the food in our Restaurant Punt 6 was greatly appreciated and enjoyed :)

Hope to see you in a future occasion!

Kindest regards,

Sabrina F GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews