We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent base or destination hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mataro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An excellent base or destination hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a base for our trip to the moto gp at catalunya track. We were very impressed when we arrived. We took the option of secure underground parking and the hotel were happy for us to put four bikes in one bay and charged accordingly .
The hotel is modern and clean, the rooms are large,air conditioned and have a good view of the marina.
The breakfast was good, the outside bar near the pool was a nice touch.
There are some nice bars and restaurants within an easy walk of the hotel.
There are a couple of nice beaches adjacent to the hotel.
Very good value for money and I would recommend this hotel for a long weekend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stevehassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review on Hotel Atenea Port Mataró. It will help us on our way to improvement.
We hope to receive you again.
Marta Marimón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    199
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
115
184
16
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at this Modern Hotel which is situated on the Port of Mataro for 3 nights as we were going to watch the Motorcycle Grand Prix , The Hotel was spotlessly clean the Staff were friendly and helpful.The hotel facilities are great there is a spa / Gym indoor pool( this is an Extra cost) there is a nice swimming pool outside. The Bedrooms are well equipped with free Wi Fi Flatscreen TV Minibar .We had a seaview looking out over the marina although this can be a little noisy as they work on the Boats . Breakfast was good scrambled egg sausages Toast fresh fruit Tea/coffee hams cheese. There is underground Parking cost us 6 Euros per Night.The train Station is across the road very handy for trips to Blanes/Calella Or Barcelona (better than Driving). We would be happy to return to this Hotel for the Catalunya Moto Gp Round 2014

Room Tip: Seaview is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeldrewManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind words. It is our main goal to go on improving our services.
We look forward to receiving you on your next visit to Mataró.
Marta Marimón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Second time for us at this hotel. Excellent breakfast. Ask for fried eggs or omelettes and they will be cooked fresh for you if you want a change from the scrambled eggs on offer. The hotel restaurant is superb and every meal we had was delicious and excellent value although at weekend the Menu of the day is more expensive (weekdays/evenings 15 Euros for starter, main, desert, coffee, drink and bread).All the staff were very pleasant and the service was excellent. The lounge bar area is ideal for a drink and to relax. Try the jugs of Sangria - gorgeous! The hotel is spotlessly clean. We asked for more coat hangers and they were straight there as well as an iron from Reception. The hotel is in an ideal location for visiting Barcelona and the train service is efficient with no hassle. We visited neighbouring Calella, Santa Susanna and Malgrat de mar as well as Sitges further South along the coast by train (for Sitges we changed at Barcs. Santes station). Beautiful! We have family living in Mataro but would definitely stay in this hotel again to visit Barcelona and other beautiful towns/villages along the coast. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Our sea view room on first floor overlooked the marina and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillipsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review on Hotel Atenea Port.
It's our main goal to go on improving day by day.
We hope to receive you again
Best regards,

Marta Marimón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were surprised, delighted, thrilled with everything about this hotel. First and foremost, Irene at the front desk took our mistake and made everything work out perfectly. Tall, handsome men better capture this girl! The hotel is new, clean and has an overall good feeling. Our room had a little balcony and overlooked the marina. What a joy to wake up to. Breakfast and lunch or dinner were included in our price. The food was excellent but best of all was the service. Be sure to seek out Victor and Romina, an adorable couple working hard to make their way thru school. They make every meal a pleasure.

Mataro is about 30 miles north of Barcelona an easy distance via train. It is so much nicer to stay up here with the long, beautiful beaches and breakwater/walkway around the marina. It is an easy walk into town with plenty of shops and excellent Saturday markets.

We so hope to return to this gem in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the marina. Apartments are also available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your kind words.
I hope to receive you again and send our best regards,
Marta Marimón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a modern hotel with excedllent facilities. It overlooks the Marina & is close to a wide, sandy, beach. The reception staff were welcoming & helpful. There is an underground car park - cost 8 euros/night, which is cheaper than parking outside !
The breakfast was good. There is an outside pool & patio/garden & outside dining area.
To get to the Old Town, it is about a 15 minute walk, through a not particularly attractrive area. The Old Town is worth a visit, but virtually impossible to get a meal before 8.30pm.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the Marina with a Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BELMONTIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your kind review, It will encourage us to go on improving.
we hope to receive you again.
Best regards,
Marta Marimón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We liked the quietness of the place (facing port) and location (near train station, junt half an hour to Barcelona, trains every 15 minutes).
Room has huge bed (200x200 cm) with comfortable viscoelastic matress, nice balcony facing the sea and the port, and rational "design" bathroom.
Excellent buffet breakfast worth its price: real orange juice, first class pastries, good coffee machine, several cheeses, scrambbled eggs and bacon as they should be, "pa amb tomaquet", honey and yogurt, some nice inusual details like dates and pinenuts.
Did not like: Spa is charged and that is not advertised on their web. And they charge all the hotel stay at check in.
Mataró is not a big town and everything is in walking range (Parc Central, Rambla promenade).
We recommend Asador Argentino Malambo, in Cami Ral, 540; they have good pizzas and empanadas argentinas, excellent personal service, acommodate both to adult and children tastes.
The restaurant "Mercat del Peix" has a decent paella menu including starters and wine; it is just the first spot in the port by the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the port and the sea, of course. They get sun all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torremaules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review.
We hope to receive you again soon.

Marta Marimón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in March. Really clean rooms, great views over the marina. Probably wouldn't have booked to stay here if we had realised it was half an hour on the train to get into Barcelona but the train journey wasn't a problem as it is close to the station and trains are very frequent, and the advantages of being out of the touristy areas gave us a much more authentic Spanish experience. The hotel restaurant was great and very reasonably priced, plus there are plenty of other restaurants close by which were much cheaper than city centre but just as good. We definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotntot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words.
We look forward to receiving you soon.
Marta Marimón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mataro
0.6 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Mataro
0.4 mi away
URH Ciutat de Mataro
URH Ciutat de Mataro
#3 of 5 in Mataro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Hotel Colon
New Hotel Colon
#4 of 5 in Mataro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Colon Thalasso-Termal
Hotel Colon Thalasso-Termal
#1 of 2 in Caldes d'Estrac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vila Arenys Hotel
Vila Arenys Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arenys de Mar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro

Property: Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro
Address: Passeig Maritim 324, 08302 Mataro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Mataro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mataro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing