We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mataro
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling/Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hotel was lovely. Staff really friendly, we were given a free bottle of Champagne well cava really. But it was very nice. The town of Mataro is not a holiday resort and we didn't know this until we got there, it's a commercial town mostly head offices for companies. We were about the only 2 tourists . The locals were lovely as we're the beaches. We were their aug 2012 and there was a lot of jellyfish, so be carefully. Not many restaurants mostly local chafes. We got the train up to Malgrat de Mar a few times and into Barcelona a few nights.the train all seem to terminate at Mataro so if you went to Malgrat de mar your last train is 10pm, if you go into Barcelona the last train is 1am ish.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing as its a new hotel, only opened in April 2012. Toilets are to die for. Hop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latedealers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
dear guest,
Thank you for your kind words. They help us to go on trying to improve.
Best regards,
Marta Marimón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    209
    37
    10
    11
See reviews for
120
191
17
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in November. Chose the hotel for its location just over half way between Girona airport and Barcelona and its setting overlooking the modern marina at Mataro. Right next to the railway station (only 40 minutes to centre of Barcelona) but no noise as most bedrooms on the opposite side facing towards marina.
The secure parking inside the hotel grounds costs Euros 9 per day but less than 5 metres away the public spaces are free and generally available.
I would describe the hotel as very modern and stylish and worthy of its 4 star rating. The rooms make up in length what they lack in width and the balconies overlooking the marina catch the sun for most of the day. Well equipped, compact gym and small outside pool (too cool to try!).
The staff were particularly helpful during our stay. They were always polite and provided some brilliant recommendations for excellent restaurants in town although the hotel's own restaurant also looked good value for money.
We would certainly stay here again in the future. Great value for money.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your words. We hope to receive you again on your next visit to Mataró.
Best regards,
Marta Marimon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just arrived back after spending three nights at this hotel visiting relatives living in Mataro. Very good hotel with lovely rooms with sea views and pleasant staff. Easy to get from airport using the train from the airport to Sants and then from Sants to Mataro (Blanes train). Station really close to the hotel so ideal for getting train into Barcelona. Substantial breakfast. We did not eat in the evening at the hotel but wish we had as on our last day we met people who had eaten several times there and they were full of praise. Would definitely recommend this hotel for visiting Barcelona and other coastal regions in that area. We used the lounge bar for a nightcap. Nice staff.................lovely Sangria!! Just wish the background music had been a little different but that's my opinion. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillipsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,
we hope to receive you again to be able to thank you for your kind words.
Best regards,
Marta Marimon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is really new and fresh with spacious, clean areas and friendly staff (most of them speak very good english). Hotel's location is ideal in Matarο, near the train station and city center (15' minutes walking).
The room was great with very nice view at the marina and the sea. I am still wondering why the fridge/mini bar was so small but it wasn't really a problem for me.
Only disadvantage of the hotel from my point of view is the really slow WiFi. I was on a business trip and it was sometimes impossible for me to work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karametosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for you kind words about our hotel. We will verify our WIFI immediately so that we can offer our guests our best service.
yours sincerely,
Marta Marimón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel doesn't look much from the outside but once you get inside its very modern, lovely designed, spacious and spotlessly clean.
Reception: Very friendly & helpful reception staff, always willing to help and give advise
Bar area (internal): Modern bar area with quiet area with newspapers
Bar area (outside): Modern bar area, relaxed atmosphere and nice lighting at night
Restaurant: Good choice of food at breakfast (continental) & excellent menu offered at night with lots of fish dishes.We went H/B basis and this was excellent value for money!
Pool area: Very quiet and pieceful, not many people around - relaxed!
Bedrooms: We had a side view room which looked out up the coast and over the marina area. we didn't bother asking to change rooms as the view was just as good from the side. Bedrooms spotlessly clean, very modern, comfy beds, lolvey bathrooms.
Spa: Spa area quite small but not complaining as i had it all to myself for 1.5hrs (6 euro charge to use spa if you don't book hotel direct).

Location: This is a great hotel from a business perspective with easy commute into central Barcelona by train & car in 30 mins. Train station is a 5min walk from the hotel. We were on a leisure break and made day trips into Barcelona for just under 8 euro per day (return). Trains run between Mataro & Barcelona from 5-6am until 11pm at night.

Beach: Lovely quiet beach located within 5min walk of hotel, great marina with walkway for walkers/runners and local bars/restarants offering some good food.

We'll definately return to this hotel and would recommend to friends as a good base for travelling to central Barcelona but also north towards Costa Brava.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWaugh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,
Your kind words help us to improve day by day. We hope to receive you again on your next visit to Mataró.
Marta Marimon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is beautifully designed, with a spacious reception, pool and decked sun lounger area. The rooms are spacious enough, clean, modern with small balconies overlooking the port area - the bathrooms are modern, with walk in showers, black tile decor with a boutiquey feel. Breakfast is fantastic with a large choice of patisseries, fruit, eggs, meats, cheeses and a choice of breads. Its well placed with a 5 min walk to the nearby town centre. The gym is small but useable, and theres a spa massage area. This is a predominantly business hotel, that sits weirdly at times with the bikini wearing sun worshippers, theres sadly no pool side service. I like this hotel the staff where helpful, but somehow the bar areas are a little cold and stark and needed staffing better.

Room Tip: Choice a port side room and book on Travel Republic for the best deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laineydesanvito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your words. They will help us to go on trying to improve day by day a little more.
Best regards,
Marta Marimón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veghel
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Nice clean hotel, but only for business, with some very negative points.
Rooms are nice, bed is perfect, bathroom is nice ,
BUT walls between rooms are made from carton I guess, so extremely noisy which is very bad. No potable water in your room, we had a double room in the fridge was 1 small bottle of 300 ML, we asked the reception but we are still waiting.
Hotel in general is full equiped, a few things which we dont like, for example bycicle available but for 2 people you will pay 50 euro for one day, CRAZY

Room Tip: If you like to stay there, be sure that you don't have neighbors as the rooms dont have "wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanVeghel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mataro
0.4 mi away
URH Ciutat de Mataro
URH Ciutat de Mataro
#3 of 5 in Mataro
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Mataro
0.5 mi away
New Hotel Colon
New Hotel Colon
#4 of 5 in Mataro
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
381 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Colon Thalasso-Termal
Hotel Colon Thalasso-Termal
#1 of 2 in Caldes d'Estrac
408 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mas Salagros Ecoresort & Aire Ancient Baths
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro

Property: Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro
Address: Passeig Maritim 324, 08302 Mataro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Mataro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mataro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing