We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mataro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just arrived back after spending three nights at this hotel visiting relatives living in Mataro. Very good hotel with lovely rooms with sea views and pleasant staff. Easy to get from airport using the train from the airport to Sants and then from Sants to Mataro (Blanes train). Station really close to the hotel so ideal for getting train into Barcelona. Substantial breakfast. We did not eat in the evening at the hotel but wish we had as on our last day we met people who had eaten several times there and they were full of praise. Would definitely recommend this hotel for visiting Barcelona and other coastal regions in that area. We used the lounge bar for a nightcap. Nice staff.................lovely Sangria!! Just wish the background music had been a little different but that's my opinion. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillipsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear guest,
we hope to receive you again to be able to thank you for your kind words.
Best regards,
Marta Marimon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 514 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is really new and fresh with spacious, clean areas and friendly staff (most of them speak very good english). Hotel's location is ideal in Matarο, near the train station and city center (15' minutes walking).
The room was great with very nice view at the marina and the sea. I am still wondering why the fridge/mini bar was so small but it wasn't really a problem for me.
Only disadvantage of the hotel from my point of view is the really slow WiFi. I was on a business trip and it was sometimes impossible for me to work.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karametosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for you kind words about our hotel. We will verify our WIFI immediately so that we can offer our guests our best service.
yours sincerely,
Marta Marimón

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel doesn't look much from the outside but once you get inside its very modern, lovely designed, spacious and spotlessly clean.
Reception: Very friendly & helpful reception staff, always willing to help and give advise
Bar area (internal): Modern bar area with quiet area with newspapers
Bar area (outside): Modern bar area, relaxed atmosphere and nice lighting at night
Restaurant: Good choice of food at breakfast (continental) & excellent menu offered at night with lots of fish dishes.We went H/B basis and this was excellent value for money!
Pool area: Very quiet and pieceful, not many people around - relaxed!
Bedrooms: We had a side view room which looked out up the coast and over the marina area. we didn't bother asking to change rooms as the view was just as good from the side. Bedrooms spotlessly clean, very modern, comfy beds, lolvey bathrooms.
Spa: Spa area quite small but not complaining as i had it all to myself for 1.5hrs (6 euro charge to use spa if you don't book hotel direct).

Location: This is a great hotel from a business perspective with easy commute into central Barcelona by train & car in 30 mins. Train station is a 5min walk from the hotel. We were on a leisure break and made day trips into Barcelona for just under 8 euro per day (return). Trains run between Mataro & Barcelona from 5-6am until 11pm at night.

Beach: Lovely quiet beach located within 5min walk of hotel, great marina with walkway for walkers/runners and local bars/restarants offering some good food.

We'll definately return to this hotel and would recommend to friends as a good base for travelling to central Barcelona but also north towards Costa Brava.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWaugh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear guest,
Your kind words help us to improve day by day. We hope to receive you again on your next visit to Mataró.
Marta Marimon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is beautifully designed, with a spacious reception, pool and decked sun lounger area. The rooms are spacious enough, clean, modern with small balconies overlooking the port area - the bathrooms are modern, with walk in showers, black tile decor with a boutiquey feel. Breakfast is fantastic with a large choice of patisseries, fruit, eggs, meats, cheeses and a choice of breads. Its well placed with a 5 min walk to the nearby town centre. The gym is small but useable, and theres a spa massage area. This is a predominantly business hotel, that sits weirdly at times with the bikini wearing sun worshippers, theres sadly no pool side service. I like this hotel the staff where helpful, but somehow the bar areas are a little cold and stark and needed staffing better.

Room Tip: Choice a port side room and book on Travel Republic for the best deals
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laineydesanvito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Madam,
Thank you for your words. They will help us to go on trying to improve day by day a little more.
Best regards,
Marta Marimón

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Nice clean hotel, but only for business, with some very negative points.
Rooms are nice, bed is perfect, bathroom is nice ,
BUT walls between rooms are made from carton I guess, so extremely noisy which is very bad. No potable water in your room, we had a double room in the fridge was 1 small bottle of 300 ML, we asked the reception but we are still waiting.
Hotel in general is full equiped, a few things which we dont like, for example bycicle available but for 2 people you will pay 50 euro for one day, CRAZY

Room Tip: If you like to stay there, be sure that you don't have neighbors as the rooms dont have "wa...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanVeghel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Nice new hotel, within driving distance from Barcelona (about 25-30mins away). Very serene area and with a good beach walking distance.
Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
As the hotel is new, the room were in very good condition. both pool and spa were also nice (small but nice).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the marina have a nice sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macieira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to receiving you on your next visit to Mataró.
Marta Marimón

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel can truly be called a Hotel. It is very clear that the traditions of a real hotel are all there.
The staff from reception to direction have the time and the intention of listening, answering, and helping with any questions or problems.
How fine it is to have dinner served by profoundly friendly and excellent waiters, with a good knowledge of the different dishes, and menus that are on the card.
If there is nothing on the card that you can eat or like, then they are ready to have the master chef put it together as you would like.
To some up this new hotel it is superb in all ways, and although there are modifications and changes that need to be made, the staff are tremendous in dealing with your requests.
Excellent food, fare prices, a Hotel with a future.

Room Tip: Choose a room to suit the size you need.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta M, Gerente at Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words. We look forward to receiving you soon.
Best regards,
Marta Marimón

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mataro
0.6 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Mataro
0.4 mi away
URH Ciutat de Mataro
URH Ciutat de Mataro
#4 of 5 in Mataro
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Hotel Colon
New Hotel Colon
#3 of 5 in Mataro
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
426 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mas Salagros Ecoresort & Aire Ancient Baths
6.5 mi away
Vila Arenys Hotel
Vila Arenys Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arenys de Mar
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro

Address: Passeig Maritim 324, 08302 Mataro, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Mataro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mataro
Price Range: $79 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing