We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for?”
Review of H.TOP Planamar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H.TOP Planamar
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for?”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just back from a week All inc at this hotel, with my daughter. Very basic rooms, but clean. We had a room to the front overlooking the pool and the sea, which was nice. Cant fault the hotel staff all where very pleasant.

Food- well as the title says you get what you pay for , if the food isnt used at lunchtime its reused at dinner time :( not much of a variety but as I said you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    220
    219
    126
    191
See reviews for
337
286
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

i have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel ..the food was good and varied the dinning staff was nice helpfull ..the bar staff very nice ..rooms were cleaned daily ..pool was cleaned and treated daily ..the STAR of the week must go to jessica helpfull entertaining good with children,and will book again...............bad bit baths could be bigger but shower excellent (shower heads changed and sink filter changed daily)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DerbyshireJohn_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msida-malta
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have just got back from a lovely 4 nights stay (16th-20th.April 2013) at H.Top Planemar Hotel in Malgrat De Mar. This was again a hotel booked for us by Travel Repubic.
I was worried reading some bad reviews on this hotel. But we have ignored these bad reviews and booked this hotel. We found this hotel good and we found better things then we was expecting. Sure those who do such bad review are those people who are used to eat and stay in poshy and expensive hotels, so these class off people must not look for such low cost hotels,or by those so called born complainers.
Staff are so friendly both at hotel restaurant and at the bar and at reception. Room was done daily.We always found those English speaking staff around. We was on Full board basis and at restaurant we always have found something nice to choose to eat. Breakfast was nice too. Our room was big enough for the two of us a room was with a balcony on the pool area Garden and with a sea view. Bathroom was small yes but as we are used to only have showers for us was big enough. Entertainment was there every night,while drinks was reasonable priced. We had much more then the value for what we payed. What i can say is that we just payed 146 euros for the two of us for 4 nights full board which is less then we pay every year to spend 4 nights in UK for just a small BB room in a small guest house .
To conclude this hotel looks so busy and i am sure that the majority of the guests there staying expecialy those on All/In looked satified and like us was having a wonderfull time too. A big thanks to Planemar Staff.
Antony Arpa
https://www.facebook.com/anthony.arpa

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesegmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I would like to start with the staff, who make this hotel what it is.. Especially the two women bar staff during the day. They were so polite and friendly. The entertainment lady Jessica will keep you laughing she is also very friendly. However I must criticise the reception staff apart from Antonio who was very helpful.. apart from that I found the other rather rude and not to polite but do not let that put you off! food is great value for money and I don't ever know why anyone would fault the food for the money paid. once again staff were very friendly and polite also. Rooms are basic but the time you spend in the rooms is very little so this did not matter to me. But definitely would recommend this hotel and any bad reviews about the food especially is utter rubbish. Recommend to anyone!:)

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a pool view and not get a room on the side facing the opposing hotel as sunli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GOOLE
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel many times. we are always greeted by friendly staff at the reception,the bar and even the cleaners say hola. The hotel is clean and the rooms are more than adequate. the food can be repeated some days but there is always something to eat. if you are all inclusive the drinks are served in a plastic tumbler and sometimes there is a large queue but the staff work quickly to reduce this.i would recommend this hotel for travellers on a budget. we have never had anything to complain about and will keep going back time after time....

Room Tip: ask for a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLACKERGoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

me and my girlfriend have just come back from a 5 day stay at the planamar and we had a great time. the food and drinks are good there was always a meal to eat and it was never cold.the entertainment is good and all the staff are really nice and work very hard. we paid £150 each and that included our flights and transfers and we were all inclusive and also had a sea view and aircon so for that sort of money you cant complain! the hotel is in a good location and a 2 minute walk to the beach. you can also use other htop hotels bars and restaurants with your all inclusive cards which was ideal for us as my family were staying at the htop royal sun.only thing that qs annoying is the walls are so thin you can hear every noise around you so sometimes hard to get to sleep but all in all we had a great time and had a good laugh in the sunshine and would return again tomorrow

Room Tip: request a sea view room and take some ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyandyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have just arrived back from the planamar on the Costa Brava. Having stayed at H Top Olympic in July didn't think Planamar was as good, snacks were sandwiches and cake if you could get it and meals not as great as two of the other hotels we had lunch at . Took the train from Barcelona 4e 30 to the hotel. Didn't get there till 11:30 pm but dinner was put aside for us. Had two rooms on the top (3rd) floor was not disturbed and over looking the pool and sea. The weather was not great so took advantage of the small indoor pool at H Top Palace in Calella , there is a larger pool at Royal star Lloret .The free bus not running so three stops along on the train. a larger pool is also on offer at H Top Royal star Lloret. Your allowed to vist all other H Top Hotels but can only eat once pre booked otherwise its drinks only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bishop71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malgrat de Mar
0.5 mi away
H.TOP Cartago Nova
H.TOP Cartago Nova
#18 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
H.TOP Summer Sun
H.TOP Summer Sun
#21 of 21 in Santa Susanna
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel
Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel
#14 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
624 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
#13 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Planamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Planamar

Property: H.TOP Planamar
Address: Paseo Maritimo 10-12, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — H.TOP Planamar 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star H·TOP Planamar hotel is located on the maritime promenade in Malgrat de Mar between the areas of Calella and Blanes in Costa del Maresme-Barcelona. Posisioned just 25 metres from the beach, a selection of bars, shops and restaurants are just a short walk from the H•TOP Planamar. It is the ideal choice for young couples and groups looking for a centric hotel with a young, lively and friendly atmosphere and a good standard of accommodation. It is situated 71 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 29KM from Girona Airport. Malgrat de Mar is a quiet town, with traditions and a rich cultural life, with numerous green areas and 4.5 kilometers of beach. Historically, it was a fishing village, with miners and farmers. Malgrat de Mar is a great choice for families, couples or small groups looking for great hotel amenities, lively nightlife and clean&safe beaches. Just a few meters from the Hotel, you can find our Simpatia Restaurant. A new chic and modern restaurant where to eat burgers, cheese fingers, “tapas” and all kind of sweet deserts such as crepes, gofres or ice-creams. There is also Sand Beach Club which offers hammocks and parasols and special rates for clients with TOP All-Inclusive service. The 154-room H·TOP Planamar provides many facilities and services for adults and children. FACILITIES Rooms • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pool • Sun terraces Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Currency exchange* • Car hire* • Fax & copy service* • Medical service (external service)* • Air-conditioning • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage • Lift • *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Planamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Top Planamar
Top Planamar Malgrat De Mar
H.TOP Planamar Malgrat De Mar, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing