We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed from 9th - 15th October, all I can say was it was ok, nothing for the kids to do, they were ready to go home after 4 days, the hotel charge you 25 euros for wifi which you can only use in the reception area, no entertainment, the pool never sees any sun so no point in having the sun loungers available. The food again was just ok, it was the same thing for lunch and evening meal every day, which was pork and more pork. If you are a vegetarian then your options are salad and the vegetables. yes the drinks are in plastic glasses but that wasn't really a problem. Unfortunately when I was there it was a spanish bank holiday on the friday and the hotel was filled with rude loud spaniards who pushed their way around. they let their kids run riot on skateboards and scooters inside the hotel. Would I go back ...No

Room Tip: If you go you must book a superior room otherwise you won't have air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luvhols4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 861 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

After reading some of the reviews we were a little apprehensive about what to expect, however we went with an open mind. We knew that we would be dropped off at the roundabout, was only a short level walk to the hotel. Our room was small but clean and adequate. We arrived in time for a drink and lunch and were pleasantly surprised by the food being of a good standard. The subway to the beach was right outside the hotel's doors, it was quiet and clean. Jamil was the most freindliest member of staff that we met, one or two staff could be very abrupt. The hotel was in a good position for exploring neighbouring resorts, we recommend the local boat trip and road trains. We think that some of the nrgative reviewers should have donemore homework. What do they expect for the money. Towards the end of the week, the hotel was very busy, many new spanish guests arrived who had no consideration for the other guests. Overall better than expected and very enjoyable.

Room Tip: The beach facing rooms appeared nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Luckytravellers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

i stopped at this hotel 25 years ago and to be honest none of the decor has changed, saying this the hotel is spotless and the statues and wall decor don't look 25+ years old. We had a room with a sea view which was just about big enough to sleep the 4 of us. There was no air con but the room was comfortable enough for sleeping and we never had a problem with train noise either. I found the staff helpful, friendly and hard working. The pool is ok but there is only enough room for about 20 sun beds so get there early. The beach is only a 1 minute walk away and is great the only problem is there are no sun beds. We didn't really like the food and ate out most of the time and in the bar you could only get 2 drinks per person so had to take 1 of the kids with me to our drinks. I would stop there again but would take more money for eating out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank craigbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

the hotel was clean and basic, the food however was disgusting, the chips are warmed up from the meal before, if u like lettuce tomatos olives u b ok, bar staff rude and dismissive, i realise u get what u pay for but the clientele was very jeremy kyle or the elderly on a jaunt, so not much going on. oh and if u want to sleep in this hotel forget it, u can hear people using the bathroom next door and also having sex!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 3rd-10th Oct. After reading the reviews, we went with an open mind and personally I was worrying in case I didn't enjoy the food (I'm quite a picky eater).
We arrived there in the late afternoon to a warm welcome. Our room was decent, quite small, but not tiny like some reviewers were making out. The bathroom (which I'm always funny about) was in great condition and we had a beautiful view of the sea which I took many photos of.

The food actually turned out to be good. My other half was unimpressed with the massive amounts of pork on offer, but there were always alternatives, including delicious fish. I wasn't happy with the breakfast after the first few mornings, as I'm a weetabix and brown bread kinda girl haha but if you like beans sausages crossants and the like then you will be fine. The all inclusive drinks were not as nice, I only really enjoyed the hot drinks and the white wine. There was a nice man who worked on most meals who always had a smile on his face.

We didn't go in the pool so can't comment on that, but I loved the old fashioned feel of the hotel, ie, statues, portraits and paintings.

The cleaners were not too friendly and I found one to be more than rude (we are sure she was cussing in spanish) when she refused to change our sheets. However this was sorted out quickly after explaining the situation to reception.

Loved the fact that the beach was like 10 seconds away! It was nice and peaceful, not too busy and just a gorgeous place to be when the sun was blazing.

The owners of the local shops were mostly pleasant and welcoming. We found lots of decent shops on the road leading from malgrat to santa susanna and came home with a few bargains after bartering with the staff.

My only problem was the trains at night. They were very noisy and I found it hard to sleep but I doubt it would be a problem for most people. On the plus side, it took 90 mins to get into barcelona on the train and we paid only 17euros return for the both of us (the cashier even let us off by a euro to save us having to break into notes). the other areas near to malgrat are also lovely for sightseeing.

Ignore the moaners and go to this hotel. Considering how cheap it was, it was a great place to stay. We plan to visit Sorra D'or again next year.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper and don't mind not looking out at the beach, don't have a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lil_tash87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked a last minute get away and got flights, hotel and all inclusive for £245 a head...

Clearly at that price we did not set our expectations very high......

WE WERE SO WRONG!

Our welcome at 1AM was inviting
Our Room was clean and bright and although at the side of the hotel we got a great view of the hills
Food was plentiful and of a high standard... it just seemed to keep coming!
Our all inclusive package was billiiant... yes we had at most a 3 minute wait at the bar but we had as much as we wanted
The Staff were very service minded and nothing was too much trouble....

THIS WAS A GREAT HOTEL AND A GREAT HOLIDAY

ok so not five star but who needs a spa or gym....

Do give this friendly Hotel a try ...

Room Tip: We were in room 271 ... no sea view but nice and quiet most nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank rubyzBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for seven nights late Sept with our son, his wife and 2 children. Was very apprehensive after reading some reviews and did try to change our hotel before we went. Actually quite glad we didn't fork out the extra money as this place was great for us and just what we expecetd for the money we had paid through Travelsoon.
We were greeted at 12 midnight by a freindly smiling face, checked in quickly and shown to our rooms - which were beach facing which was a bonus as we hadn't paid extra as some people we later spoke to had to do. Yes it's all closed to AI customers at midnight, but hey plan ahead, take a bottle of water with you, pop out and grab a pizza before bed - it's not rocket science !!! We found a local restaurant 5 mins away who were happy to provide drinks and a burger even at that late hour.
The rooms are basic but not as small as some were making out on other reviews. We had clean towels every time we left ours in the bath, and saw the cleaners every morning around 9.30am. A smile and a chat go a long way with all the staff - yes they are over worked and do bussle you along to serve you but being polite to them doesn't cost anything and you reap what you sow in these situations. We had a great rapport with the dining room attendant, bar staff and waiters alike. I witnessed a lot of rudeness from other holiday makers to the staff.
The food was good and quite varied all week, breakfast is a bit samey, but hey what else can you serve for breakfast but toast-cereals- bacon-sausage-cheese-cold meats and yogurts for goodness sake. We had no complaints with the food and the children ate well and we were always happy with our meals. Yes we ate out twice, purely as a treat to ourselves not because we weren't being fed well.
The pool is a let down but who needs that when the beach is across the road - we did discreetly take drinks from the bar and fruit from the dining room over to the beach and were never stopped.
All in all we were more than happy to stay here and would probably do so again at the price we paid.
As a bonus - when we checked out at 11am we weren't due to be picked up until 5pm. They were happy to leave our bands on and allowed us to get drinks and food all day. We spent the day on the beach and showered in the poolside bathroom before leaving. I have paid a lot of money in Rui 5* hotels in other countries only to have my band cut off the minute I hand my room key in regardless of what time your transfer is - so thankyou Sorra Dor.
Ignore the moaners and if you get a good price for htis hotel it's more than worth the money.

Room Tip: Beach facing are gorgeous, but the train noise does get to you - not the trains but the beep beep wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malgrat de Mar hotels
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Planamar
H.TOP Planamar
#17 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
#13 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
420 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Iris
Aparthotel Iris
#12 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
24 reviews
0.4 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel

Address: Passeig de Llevant 1-5, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range: $49 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malgrat De Mar
Sorra d Or Hotel
Hotel Sorra d Or
Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel Malgrat De Mar, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing