We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Staff Service , I defy anyone to tell me why this is only 3 stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
allatim
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant Staff Service , I defy anyone to tell me why this is only 3 stars.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived at this hotel not expecting a lot, it was a lae booking and we wanted to visit the sister hotel in Santa Suzzanna, but could not get the extra days we wanted, thank god for that.
The reception staff with Monica at the helm could not do enough for us, they adored our little boy Andrew and constantly fussed over him , Juan the life guard constantly looked after him as well, the very first day we arrived he gave him a set of arm bands(free), and then a pair of googles(free), the food was well prepared and plentiful and had themed nights like mexican , american , and chinese, lashing of bacon eggs beans and bangers for breakfast,you could also have boiled eggs or sparling wine,huge amounts of breads also, we paid 650euro for 10 days full board, I mean where are you going to get a deal like that?We had 2 rain days , but this hotel has a heated indoor pool and gym, and table tennis and kids club with an excellent animation team headed by Sol, with Nathan , and Freerk.
Our Little boy was loved by everyone, he is just 3 years old but learned to swim underwater while there.
The room we had was on the first floor, perfect, and our room attendant Ana was superb, the girl looked after our room 100%, nothing was too much for the staff , even washed our laundry for free, can you credit that ?
This hotel is a credit to the management and staff, the building certainly a little dated, but credit where credit is due, I have to give it excellence on the amazing staff, definitely a hotel my family and I will return too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allatim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    187
    59
    22
    11
See reviews for
191
152
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here for a week at the end of September, it is the second time I've visited this hotel and was hoping that the standards had not dropped - I was delighted that the standards have improved although every good the first time - this time were even better. We booked a premium room which really paid off as we had a double bed and a single in the room and still had plenty of room to move around. Rooms are a nice standard with a fully tiled bathroom with a shower over the bath. Hairdryers are in the bathroom so no need to take one. Our balcony had nice recliner chairs which was a delight and there was plenty of room on the balcony. Check in was very easy with very friendly staff. Hotel is of a really good size with a huge bar area which is where they held the evening entertainment, can't comment on this as we never stayed in the hotel on evenings. Three outdoor swimming pools, one indoor heated pool and a small childs play area. We stayed on half board basis and there was something for everyone for eat. Drinks are served to your table which you then pay for at the cash desk at the end of your meal. There are computers to use in the hotel with internet connection and if you need anything printing urgently the hotel are very good and will do this at no cost. The hotel is a secure hotel and is locked up on a night but has security to let you in after your many nights out :). All in all we had a fantastic time during our stay and will certainly be back next year especially with how many friends we made while staying in Spain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smiler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Aqua Bella Playa for 10 days in September and what a lovely holiday we had thanks to the bar staff, life guard was so funny, Nathan and the gang. The only problem was the reception staff were not very good at having information at hand and didn't put themselves out or maybe that was because we were from the UK.

The rooms are a bit dated but were cleaned every day and had fresh towels. We would go back there. You will not go wrong by chosing this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexattard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very surprised by hotel standard. There were three people in our party and all said the same thing - more like a Spanish 4-Star hotel.
Plus points - 3 lovely pools with plenty of sunbeds, very amenable staff in all departments, food OK (just) and good location with little noise
Minus points - Forced to buy water with main meals, coffee at breakfast is disgusting (as are the three fruit juices). Shower curtain mouldy when we checked in (but was replaced by maid without being asked)
Wi-Fi costs Euro 4 per 24-hr period and there is a charge for poll towels and room safes.
Would certainly go back if they sorted out the quality of the drinks and offer water with all meals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brownie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I travelled from Barcelona airport to Malgrat de Mar by coach arranged by ResortHoppa. Arriving at Aqua Hotel Bella Playa around 6pm, we were very warmly welcomed at reception by Paco who checked us in without delay. Over the course of our 15 nights there, we would find ALL the reception staff to be helpful, cheerful and obliging, offering advice and local knowledge on a range of issues.

We took one of the three lifts to our “premium” room, on the top (6th) floor (I’d requested a high floor room overlooking the pool) one benefit of which was free wi-fi, and which was spacious enough for the two of us, though a third person (there WAS a third bed) would have made the room somewhat crowded.

Then dinner beckoned, so without further ado we made our way to the basement restaurant, where we received another warm welcome, this time from Antonia, the catering director. Paco had arranged with her that we could ‘buck the system’ so that rather than ‘paying as you go’ which is the modus operandi at Bella Playa, we could settle the bill for our wine and other dinner drinks, at the end of our stay. This arrangement required a little persuasion on my part, however as the holiday progressed it became apparent that it was perfectly acceptable to all parties. The same applied when I asked at the bar each evening for a supply of ice cubes for our room, so that we could keep our Bacardi & Coke chilled. The normal practice was to pay at the bar (€1.05 per bucket), however Paco and the bar manager agreed that I would also add that charge to my bill for the end of our holiday. We did have a minibar, at a charge of €3 per day, but its potential for making icecubes was zero, hence the daily requests for ice..

The hotel is sizeable, with 270 rooms, none being noticeably larger than others. One might have reasonably expected premium rooms to be more spacious than standard rooms. It stands a couple of blocks from the main sea-front ‘drag’ of Malgrat – sea-front in this town’s case is a slight misnomer, since the beach is separated from the hotels and shops by a (mainly) single-track railway line along the entire length of the strip from Callella to Malgrat,. Access to the beach and its walkway/cycleway is by a number of pedestrian underpasses at intervals of a couple of hundred metres.

We were on a half-board basis, but could choose lunch OR dinner each day, according to our daily ‘programme’. In our experience, for a hotel to offer that choice is the exception rather than the norm. Meals were offered on a self-service buffet basis, mostly from a two-sided servery, and for the most part the system was fine. The menu selections at dinner varied quite well from day to day, however there were one or two things which we found somewhat curious. Dinner was timed between 7pm and 9pm so we were a little surprised to arrive for dinner the second night of our holiday at around 8:30, to discover half the food had been cleared away. It was explained that the staff reduced the servery to one side, to take account of the numbers expected for the remainder of the dinner time. We thought that a bit odd in a country where dinner normally STARTS at around 9pm. However we coped.

I have read several reviews of this hotel which paint a rather dreary picture, both of the place itself, but moreso of the staff and some of the clients. “Too many east Europeans”, “The staff don’t speak English”, “There’s not enough English food”.

I ask myself why people come to stay in a Spanish hotel in a Spanish town if they expect non-Spanish food and customs. As for the east Europeans, well I presume their Euros are just as valid as those purchased with the British pound. All the staff we met in the hotel, and particularly those in the restaurant, at least made an effort to speak English, even if it was just “Good morning”, “Goodbye” and a few other words. I didn’t hear TOO many English voices attempting “Por Favor”, “Muy Bien” “Gracias” “Buon Dias” and so on. Above all, pretty well all the catering staff we met were smiling and good humoured.

Rating the hotel.

It’s officially a 3* establishment, however I would definitely rate the staff as 3-4*, the room maybe 2½* and the catering only 2*. We didn’t sample evening entertainment, nor the pool, so we cannot comment on them.

We probably won’t come to Malgrat for a holiday again, though I must mention a few other establishments in the town. We regularly had our post-breakfast mid-morning coffee at a lovely coffee shop/pasteria called Vives, (out of the hotel and walk to the right, between the two large car parks, and along (maybe five minutes) towards the old town – it’s on the right towards the end of Carrer de Ramon Turró. Great caffe con leche, and pastries to die for (inside the shop you can see the bakers at work behind the scenes). There are tables outside on the street, to sit at and watch the world go by, or inside at chillier times. The ladies who run the place are real "people" people.

The other place we visited almost every evening for our after-dinner coffee & Torres 10 Gran Reserva brandy was called Cafeteria Milan, situated on Carrer de Sant Esteve, with a lovely terrace at the back, and a fascinating display of moulds used in days gone by for creating chocolate novelties – Easter bunnies, footballs, and other treats - on the wall. But around the cafeteria was an even more interesting collection of machinery from a bygone era of chocolate manufacture. The staff in Milan, Rosa, Jésus, and Sergio were just brilliant. (Good luck with the triathlons Sergio!) And the cakes & pastries!! One more lovely place, for our late afternoon pre-Bacardi salad is Nuria, also on Carrer de Sant Esteve, just opposite the station. They served lovely fresh salads, and other savoury delights, but one speciality for me was their chocolate cake called Natalie. Fantastic! Especially with a scoop of one of their delicious ice creams!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rugbyfiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Customer,
We thank you for writing a large report on TripAdvisor.
It is very kind of you to highlight the staff of the reception and the restaurant, especially to mention Paco from the reception and Antonia from the restaurant.
We hope to welcome you anytime soon in our hotel.
Best regards,
Aqua Hotel Bella Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just had 14 nights here and will be having another 14 next year too!!!!
Very clean, friendly and helpful staff, good food, excellent location, train station 10 min walk, Beach even less.
Would be good if there was a mini fridge in the room and maybe another socket. Plenty of sunbeds. No need for towel wars but some people do feel compelled don`t they?
Staff work tirelessly to make sure you are happy with everything.
Able to go to Barcelona,Tossa, Loret, Pineda, Callella, Blanes for days out as the train is so cheap and runs every 20 mins.
Not built on top of a night club (plenty are) so it was a really lovely holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MEANDHIM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Customer,
We thank you very much for the good review you made about our hotel and also to mention our staff.
We will be very pleased to see you next year.
Best wishes,
Aqua Hotel Bella Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vosselaar, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed in this hotel before going to the "sisterhotel" Onabrava (4*S) in Santa Suzanna. Had a good stay in this real family hotel. Very friendly staff. Clean rooms with rather old furniture. Little terrace with 2 chairs overlooking the street and a glimp of the sea. Hotel has a new restaurant. Very nice done and much quiter than the one of Onabrava. Very good price-quality for a holiday with your family. Drinks and food not expensive. No free WIFI / refrigerator / safe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flikkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelGrup, Director General at Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Customer,
We are happy to read that you had a good stay in our hotel.
Thank you for your comments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon in our establishment.
Kind regards,
Aqua Hotel Bella Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malgrat de Mar
0.4 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
#1 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#3 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
775 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
Aqua Hotel Onabrava & Spa
#3 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
Aqua Hotel Aquamarina & Spa
#4 of 21 in Santa Susanna
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only

Property: Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only
Address: Roger de Flor s/n, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain (Formerly Aqua Hotel Bella Playa)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a hotel to enjoy a wonderful holiday? Bella Beach is your hotel. Situated in the hotel area of Malgrat de Mar and just 250m from the beach, this hotel consists of six floors all with brightly decorated rooms. The hotel also has a restaurant and coffee bar surrounded by the garden and pool area creating a very intimate setting. Bella Playa also has an indoor heated swimming pool, a newly renovated mini club, a bicycle rental service, outdoor snack bar, a TV / reading room, games room and wi-fi. Enjoy all of this at your own leisure and remember: Our staff are on hand to ensure you enjoy the best possible holiday which is guaranteed to leave you feeling relaxed and looked after. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Malgrat De Mar
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only Malgrat De Mar, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing