We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely noisy when football parties are on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
2 reviews
“Extremely noisy when football parties are on”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

this hotel is almost right on the beach and very close to railway station, buses and shops. We stayed full board and food was adequate at best although it was usually cold. The staff were brilliant and the rooms were clean. The real bugbear is that they have a lot of young football parties staying and the children were rude, offensive and, being uncontrolled by anyone, ran riot in the hotel. They had no respect for other guests and were extremely noisy from very early in the morning until late at night. This ruined what was otherwise a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerhsHotels, Propietario at Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your constructive criticism, which we must allow to improve our product and service to customers. We would also like to convey our concern and we will try to improve as much as possible any bad points to describe us.

Also we appreciate the comment to our staff and that is very important to be attentive to amble and address some of the other defects

Regards

Hotel Serhs Sorra Daurada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    125
    86
    44
    27
See reviews for
150
121
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I went alone with my 5&10 year old
the service was brilliant
gorgeous view at the front
really helpful staff
we stopped bed n breakfast and it was lovely lots if variety
the rooms were cleaned daily and smelled so fresh and clean
we went out of season so no other kids so very quiet
on a plus side not many british
only downfall was the paving by the pool a little dated so could have been dangerous
the entertainment was ment for older end but i never socialised in the eve so didnt matter
overalll we had a lovely time kids enjoyed it loads and for the money i would recommend

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerhsHotels, Propietario at Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear customer,

We welcome your comments, as customers come first for us and this encourages us to constantly improve our product and the resulting customer satisfaction.

Regards

Hotel Serhs OSorra Daurada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Spent a few days in this hotel, staff very helpful, cleaners were excellent. We went half board-big mistake, the food was cold and disgusting. I cannot fault the hotel itself, but my advice would be to go self catering.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank mcguigan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerhsHotels, Propietario at Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear customer,

We welcome your views on the service and the hotel will help us improve and correct all those things that do not work correctly.

Regards

Hotel Serhs Sorra Daurada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malgrat de Mar hotels

Exeter, Devon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were on holiday 26th Sept for a week on half baord. Yes, it can be a little nosiy but only at weekends. We did have a room on the 1st floor which was at thr rear but we found that a little noisy as were there for a quiet break due to recent illness and were given another room the following day. Yes ALL the staff were very helful indeed and yes, food was sometimes warm BUT there is a mirowave to heat it up. Whilst buffet style there was plenty of choice for both breakfast and dinner and was a cheaper option that eating out which was quite expensive. Wine in the restaurant was around £5 to £8 and quite palatable. Hotel location excellent and worth getting a train into Barcelona as only £4 each way for an hour trip along the coast. Pool water was a little chilly (what pools aren't) and went in a couple of times. The sea was a little warmer but it does shelve quite quickly so need to keep an eye on children. Only 'moan' was the towels as they had seen better days but were changed daily and hotel was very clean. Entertainment the time we were there was good to very good and a bonus as far as we were concerned.

Room Tip: Agree with past reviews that rooms at the back ofd the hotel which overlook the pool will be a quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oakleyhunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerhsHotels, Propietario at Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear customer,

We welcome your comments, as customers come first for us and this encourages us to constantly improve our product and the resulting customer satisfaction.

Regards

Hotel Serhs Sorra Daurada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Despite the rather impressive foyer, the hotel rooms are very, very basic and in need of updating with rather tired furniture and linen, but on the whole they do appear to be clean....The entertainment during the week we were there was disappointing, especially given some children were still off school; having said that the entertainment team (two girls) worked exceptionally hard, as did the reception team who were very friendly, helpful and would do their utmost to assist. There are nightclubs very close to this hotel - one being right underneath - so if it's lots of sleep that you are after, avoid this hotel as it's quite noisy, or at the very least ask for a room at the back (non-sea view) where the noise isn't heard anywhere as much but the view isn't as nice. The hotel is situated right on the front of the beach with the railway line running between you and the seafront (underpasses get you over there). There is little disturbance from trains and the footpaths and beaches are kept clean. Location-wise there are lots of excursions that set foot from just outside the hotel. The beach is just across the road but it’s more like tiny gravel than sand and the water gets deep very quickly, so it’s not ideal for young children or weak swimmers to go into the water. The hotel’s pools is in 75% shade most of the time, so the water can be cold, but the sun bed area does get some sun. Food in the hotel was probably better than we expected, but could have been hotter. The variation was good though and it was always fresh. As with most Spanish hotels the food was buffet style. Our only disappointment here though was that if you wanted a drink with your food, you HAD to buy the water from the waiter's drinks trolley in the afternoon and evening to have with your meal and could not take in any drinks you may have purchased in the hotel foyer or elsewhere. Breakfast time the drinks pumps were on but they switched these off for the rest of the day. This I found very unsatisfactory as you cannot drink the tap water in Spain and so you found yourself paying 2 euro a bottle (when they were cheaper in the foyer) to have a bottle of water with your lunch and dinner. Downside with this hotel would have to be not enough entertainment for families and can be noisy. On a positive note, if you want a cheap gettaway without the trimmings and don't mind the clubs being around you, then this hotel will put you quids in as its a lot cheaper than some, and centrally located to get about. However, if it's a main holiday you are after, I'd recommend shopping around for a hotel further along the coast with better facilities, more entertainment and a lot less noise.

Room Tip: Rooms at front up high enjoy full sun on their balcony but are above entertainment hall so noisy. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflowerlady77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerhsHotels, Propietario at Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Your opinion has been important to improve the services, we would like to have your visit again.

Regards

Hotel Serhs Sorra Daurada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went to this hotel in Malgret de Mar for a budget holiday knowing it wasn’t going to be the sort of place we would normally stay in (we prefer smaller hotels) so I don’t want to sound too derogatory. The rooms were clean but basic and the staff helpful and friendly. A buffet style breakfast was offered with a choice of hot, cold, a choice of breads, etc. The bar snacks offered were very limited and not very good. I can’t comment on the lunches and dinners in the restaurant as we didn’t partake. There was entertainment every evening but it was pub singer-style so not to our taste. If you want an early night don’t request a room at the front of the hotel (sea view) because the entertainment area is at the front and the music doesn’t stop until at least 11pm. Had we known, we’d have gone for a room at the back which overlooks the pool area and hills in the distance. There is a pleasant pool area with sun loungers and a bar. The beach is accessed via subways the go under the road and railway line that run in front of the hotel and is only a short walk.

Room Tip: Don't choose a sea view (front of hotel) unless you don't mind the noise from the entertainm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LorraineWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerhsHotels, Propietario at Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear customer,

Your opinions are constantly improving our motives.

Regards

Hotel Serhs Sorra Daurada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have just returned to England yesterday after staying at this hotel. It is about 3mins walk under a bridge to the beach and close to two strips of shops/hotels. The hotel is very clean and well maintained.

However,

There is a lot of noise!

There is a nightclub underneath the hotel which wasn't any bother to us until Friday and Saturday night which is presumably when it opens mid season. It's opening hours were 11pm to around 6am the next morning and being on the first floor we had the bass pounding our souls. We were at the rear of the hotel, furthest from the club so I cannot imagine being on the front directly above it.

Furthermore, the walls are literally wafer thin, you can hear the grunts, conversations, sniffles and other activities of your Spanish neighbours who generally seem to have no regard for your sleep at all and nearly every night residents arrive in early morning shouting and stamping down the corridors.

The pool doesn't get the sun and is at a constant temperature of 'freezing'.

No English tv.

Not many English people full stop.

If you are on the first floor you have a terrace instead of a balcony which you share with 8 other rooms.

Asked to change rooms and was told the hotel was full twice, even though the pool/restaurant and other parts of the hotel were deserted and we knew every face of the 30 or so people out of the hundreds of rooms they had. This seemed to be a default response.

You have to pay for wifi, this is not included as I was led to believe. You must pay for air con as well!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerhsHotels, Propietario at Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear customer,

Your opinions are constantly improving our motives.

Regards

Hotel Serhs Sorra Daurada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malgrat de Mar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel
Hotel Ibersol Sorra D'Or Hotel
#18 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#3 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
753 reviews
0.6 mi away
H.TOP Cartago Nova
H.TOP Cartago Nova
#16 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
170 reviews
0.0 mi away
H.TOP Planamar
H.TOP Planamar
#17 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash

Property: Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
Address: Passeig Maritim 6 - 8, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serhs Sorra Daurada Hotel Malgrat De Mar
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash Malgrat De Mar, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing