We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!!!”
Review of Reymar Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Reymar Playa
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I recently visited this hotel and must say that for a 3 night stay it was great.
Very well located, just across the road from the beach. Very helpful and polite staff, rooms basic but clean and well kept.
Pool area was nice and clean.
If I had one small (very small) complaint it would be that the buffet food wasn't great but was more than acceptable.
All in all a very good hotel for those on a bit of a budget.
Would recommend!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fonz1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 478 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked a 5 night stay at the hotel and were pleasantly suprised. The rooms were very clean, the shower was good and we had a balcony overlooking the sea and the mountains. The reception were very helpful and the bar staff efficient. We did not stay for the evening entertainment most nights but it always seemed to be busy. Breakfast was always plentiful, we had bacon and eggs most days but there was also pastries and continental options. The evening meals did a large salad selection and 3-4 hot food options followed by ice cream, fruit and jelly. The only small criticism is you had to pay for a drink with the evening meal. The hotel organised trips to Barcelona and also did tickets to the football and Grand Prix. The hotel was within walking distance to Santa Susanna and the town of malgret de mar which had many cafes, shops, pizzerias and bars. All in all we had a brilliant holiday and are already saving to go again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which would have been noisy if we had wanted an early night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Caroline154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We decided at the last minute to take a break and found this place at a very reasonable price. Was very worried after reading some of the reviews but needn't have. The hotel receptionists are friendly and helpful. The room we had was at the back over looking the mountains and was lovely and quite to sit on the balcony, it was a good size and adequate for what we needed. The room was cleaned well as was the whole hotel. All the staff we dealt with were helpful and friendly some of the bar staff were very jokey. The food was plentiful but usually not very warm, and was repetitive especially breakfast. Queues for breakfast drinks could be bad. Entertainment each night was fine to sit with a drink, singalong with or dance too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A good quick and efficient reception at this Hotel nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff, our room was clean and spacious enough and we had a large balcony which overlooked the mountains in front and the side view of the sea, housekeeping was fine, clean towels every day and a changes of bed linen and it had a full bathroom, it also had air conditioning. As it was a budget holiday I was not expecting to see bathroom freebies so I took my own including my hairdryer I also bought a 12 euro kettle from the shop on the corner of the street by the station. The TV only had a news channel and it was a 10 euro deposit for the remote, I only borrowed it for one night to catch up on news at home and on return I got my 10 euros back the next morning. The in room safe was 30 euros for the week again a 10 euro return as a deposit for the key. I would have liked to have given more points to this Hotel to rate it higher than average, but the dining room lets it down, the soup is at one end and the bread at the other, the coffee machine x 2 are at the corner of the room and lines of holiday makers queue up I don't think it will be very good in the height of the season, the toast machine takes literally an age and is on a timer, only tried toast once and gave up on other days, breakfast is basic dont expect a full English it is eggs mainly boiled, baked beans and bacon with continental for your other choice plus a selection of 3 cereals and yoghourt all perfectly edible, dinner time starts at 1pm and a change of menu at 5.30 through to 9pm so if you want it hot without microwaving the food those are the ideal times to go in to eat, plenty of fresh salads, rice, pasta, pork, fish, chicken, rabbit and so on, this Hotel has a varied clientle so it tries to cater for everyones tastes it does have varied potatoes on the selection not just chips as some previous poster suggested, we found that as we where half board we could buy a lunch ticket for 6 euros each and go in at 1 o'clock, we found we actually prefered the lunch menu at this time we enjoyed the selection of food on offer especially the paella on one of the days, the dining room staff are quick to remove empty plates, if this annoys you just imagine the chaos if they where allowed to stack up and if there are no empty tables you will have to stand and wait outside the dining room to get in so a laid back approach to this is needed, at the end of the buffet run they serve a drink if required, wine by the glass etc and water at 1 euro a small bottle. This Hotel is fine for a Budget Holiday if they upgrade to all the other bits and pieces people expect the prices would be a lot higher so if you want the bits and pieces pay a higher price this is a perfectly decent clean budget hotel in a good position.

Out and About

7.50 euro return for a bus and train ticket combined will take you to Lloret and Blanes get on bus No.6 for Lloret and if you are heading to the Market at Blanes it is L1 or bus No.4, the bus stops right by the market which is on the sea front you cannot get lost and to get back to the station just cross over the road from where you got off.

We where told you can catch a train to the Sunday Market at Tordera but its about every hour and as we where not certain opted for a bus trip at 20 euros each for the Sunday outing, we where glad we did this, the market is huge and worth a visit if you like this shopping experience plenty of bargains to be had. Most of the trips advertised came at a high price at 45 euros each if you want to go to Monserrat in the mountains so the train is an economical get around for your holiday we did not go to Barcelona this time having been before, but believe it is reasonably priced pop into the tourist info at the start of the old town and they will give you maps and time tables for any planned visit also near by is the booth for a sea trip to the places along the coast about 30 euros each. There is a tourist dotto train which will take you round Malgrat at 3.50 euros return or 2 euros one way we also went on the one at the start of Santa Susanna this was 4 euros but was an hour long and took you up to the mountain village and around that area. Malgrat is charming if you wander along from the train station and take the 3rd street on your left you will come across a small park and at the end of the road the lift which will take you up to the park at the top which has good views of the town and area, Malgrat still attains the charm of a Spanish 'Village' now lost by Lloret de Mar and its conglomeration of big hotels.

Hope the above helps in your choice for a holiday.

Room Tip: High Floor is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UkJohn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a group of two adults, two disabled adults and an infant. Before we even arrived the hotel did their best to accommodate our needs. Despite booking two of the hotels smaller 'promo' rooms we were given a free upgrade to a disabled friendly family room with a sea view. Even the one promo room we did have had a lovely they of the mountains behind the hotel. The rooms were clean and tidy and while there was no table on the balcony there were chairs. The rooms were cleaned daily by friendly house keepers and while there were no bells or whistles on the rooms they allowed us to use the hotel as a base. It is located a short walk from the train station and beach and a bit further out the way is the old town. The only thing that I can fault with the hotel was the food. We arrived late on our first night and put the cold food down to the fact that we were late arriving but having gone down for breakfast as soon as it opened the following morning found that it was only ever warm to begin with. The selection was ok if not a bit random at times but the restaurant staff were helpful. There was a little bit of a con with drinks at dinner in that you were not allowed to take drinks from the into the restaurant but had to buy drinks at a higher price once you were in the restaurant. I would definitely stay at this hotel again but maybe on a room only basis as there are enough bars and local restaurants to eat at for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckstrike13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Not very impressed with this hotel.
A room is exactly what we got, no separate room for beds just a room and a bathroom. Although the room was clean it was very small and very basic and dated. I was actually a bit shocked when I first saw it at just how bad it was!
The balcony was also very tiny and not much privacy between the one next door. If all of this wasn't bad enough the water in shower was cold and the toilet leaked the whole time!
Food - We were half board and although there was always lots of food and quite a lot of choice it wasn't anything special but ok if you stuck to salad stuff and potatoes. Breakfast was probably the worst.
On the plus side the staff were always very helpful and friendly and the bar was quite good. They did really nice pizzas there!
Would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMAT100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was there with my boyfriend a few months ago. Very good food - so much choice, the nice atmosphere, great live music at the bar, decor and facilities rather average. Hotel for less demanding guests but generally good !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank inzynierka3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malgrat de Mar hotels
0.3 mi away
Reymar Hotel
Reymar Hotel
#16 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosa Nautica
Hotel Rosa Nautica
#5 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
ALEGRIA Maripins
ALEGRIA Maripins
#4 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Papi
Hotel Papi
#10 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
Hotel Sorra Daurada Splash
#13 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropic Park
Tropic Park
#2 of 19 in Malgrat de Mar
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reymar Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reymar Playa

Address: Paseo Maritimo 54, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Malgrat de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Malgrat de Mar
Price Range: $43 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reymar Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reymar Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reymar Playa Hotel Malgrat De Mar
Hotel Reymar Playa
Reymar Playa Malgrat De Mar, Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing