We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sumus Hotel Monteplaya
Nearby Hotels
ALEGRIA Maripins(Malgrat de Mar)(Great Value!)
$78
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Luna Park Hotel(Malgrat de Mar)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Papi(Malgrat de Mar)(Great Value!)
$87
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Camping Resort Els Pins(Malgrat de Mar)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aqua Hotel Silhouette & Spa - Adults Only(Malgrat de Mar)(Great Value!)
$109
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Luna Club(Malgrat de Mar)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reymar Hotel(Malgrat de Mar)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reymar Playa(Malgrat de Mar)
$101
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Rosa Nautica(Malgrat de Mar)(Great Value!)
$101
$95
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveler rating
388
221
100
26
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
221
100
26
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar staffsuperior roomshearings coach holidayplenty of choicelovely hotelacross the roadhalf boardvery clean hotelpool arealovely holidaybuffet styleall inclusive packageweek holidaylots of shopsthe air conditioningfishlunch and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 758 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

but the noise from our balcony during the night was really bad we were facing the beach with the street just below, do not ask for a beach facing room it will keep you awake most of the night ask for a room facing the swimming pool much quieter the hotel is spotless and the staff are friendly most of the people who stayed here where in there middle age and above so if you are in your teens or early twenty,s this is not the hotel for you better of in callela or tossa de mar The food is good and plenty of fresh fruit but if your a couple they will seat you with strangers at evening meal times. the lower swimming pool is not child friendly and if you are taking children please keeping an eye on them when around it could all so could be iffy for none swimmers as well. the air condition is free there is a charge for the fridge in your room and the remote control for the t.v all in all not a bad stay but if the weather turns bad not much to do in the hotel

Room Tip: try and get a room facing the swimming pool on the third floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed for a week Sept 2012. The hotel is good value for money. Well located on the seafront and the train station is only a few minutes walk away. The beach is accessed by a subway as the train runs along the seafront. The hotel and room was very clean and comfortable. The food was very good, buffet style with plenty of choice.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just returned from Malgrat Sept., 2012. Hotel was very clean, food good and although on the main road across from the beach, very quiet. Only minor downs was no kettle (take your own) and evening meals are set times (ours was 7pm and we had to be out by 8.15pm as the next sitting was waiting to come in to the dining room, we had to swallow our wine down) we found we had to rush to get there for 7pm especially when we had been out for the day.

Room Tip: We had a view over the garden but the opposite hotel rooms were looking in to ours so we had to remember to close the curtains. Pool view probably best.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Just got home hotel is spotless great food the Scotsman who said the food was rubbish really doesn't know what he is talking about I'd would recommend this hotel to anybody do try pika pika in bar street fantasic value and better value than all the English bars thanks again Monteplaya

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Petelid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Spent a week at the Monteplaya from the 12th to 19th September. As stated by other reveiwers the hotel is spotless. The room, general areas inside the hotel and around the pool and sunbed areas were all dirt free. I thought the food was excellent. Loads of choice, particularly regarding salads and fruit and a vegetarian option for every course too. All food looked fresh and well presented. Why an earlier Scottish reviewer described the food as rubbish, I don't understand. You can't expect the hotel to serve haggis and scotch broth. Malgrat is in Spain! The only real criticisms I would have are that they charge for wifi access and also the cost of a smallish bottle of water to accompany the meal is 1.8 euros. You can get a bottle of water twice the size from the 2002 supermarket just round the corner for around 40 cents, so obviously the hotel could offer a cheaper option and still make money.

A few travel tips. If you take a train from the airport to Malgrat, buy a single ticket rather than a return. There is no relative difference in price. We bought return tickets at the beginning of the week and found that they had expired by the time we travelled back a week later. The journey from the airport to Malgrat takes about 2 1/2 hours. From the airport, travel 3 stops into Barcelona Sants and then change for a direct train to Malgrat You need to look for a train with the destination of Blanes or Macanet Massanes.

In summary, the hotel is spotless and the food is superb. Also, prepare for a slow journey by train if you choose that option.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are a bit noisier being closer to the railway but obviously have a pleasant outlook. Quieter rooms at the back but they overlook the Reymar Playa hotel next door or could be back to back with the Reymar's guests' balconies.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews