We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of S. Gravalosa

S. Gravalosa
Ranked #13 of 63 Restaurants in Comillas
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

Complementary potato bravado and small toast with dips unexpected and very tasty. First course seafood platter, followed by a Paella, and a dessert/coffee, that's if you have room.
Bonus that it was one of the view that offered the menu in English. Couple next door had tapas, which also looked very good.
Close call to it being a 5

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 442 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2018

I have been going to this restaurant for years now. When my kids were small I loved it because they could run around in the plaza under our watchful eye, now they love it so much that as soon as we go to el corro they ask if we can eat rabas, gambas, mejillones and sardinas here. The wine list is quite limited but a good glass of Albariño goes well with most of the fish and seafood dishes. I will definitely be back to this family run restaurant

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Footprints795045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

Yes. OK. You do have to wait on average 30 mins to get your food, but that's because it's one of the most popular restaurants in Comillas. The food is excellent, very good value for money and it's the only restaurant that we went to where you get small dishes on the house, whilst waiting. One of these dishes was 2 types of homemade pate with small crackers. Delicious. We ate there every day of our 4-night stay.I read a terrible review of the seafood platter, but ours was very fresh and delicious and the newly-made Paella extremely tasty with masses of fresh prawns. If you want to eat well and not pay a fortune, I'd recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Debora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

We choose this place because of the location, without checking TA.. in hindsight that was a bad idea. The menu is cheap, 15 euro for a three course dinner including drinks. However, the taste and quality of the dishes were so bad, that we did not finish any plate. Highly not recommended!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Peter_kljsfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

In spite of some of the less positive TA reviews, we elected to eat here on the busy ‘eve of the Assumption’ Spanish bank holiday when Comillas was very busy and tables in restaurants were at a premium.
It turned out to be a fortuitous choice; we managed to get a great table on the square and then noticed some of the special deals available. Two of our party went for the ‘Mediterranean offer’ which comprised a luxury mixed shellfish starter for two (langoustines, prawns, mussels and razor clams), followed by a seafood paella, all for €42 (including drinks and pudding!) - excellent value and delicious food. Incidentally, a sardine mousse, a cheese dish, croquetas and patatas bravas were all offered as pre-dinner appetisers ‘on the house’.
The third member of our family party opted for ‘Combinado #14’ which was a delicious (large) rib steak with chips, salad and veg. Again, the food was really well cooked and the service was excellent.
Including drinks, puddings and coffees the total cost was a little over €60; this represents excellent value for 3 people who all left the restaurant happy and satisfied.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank CrossyCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S. Gravalosa also viewed

 
Comillas, Cantabria
Comillas, Cantabria
 

Been to S. Gravalosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing