We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pictoresque, convinient, spacious”
Review of Hotel Las Olas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Olas
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Brena Baja
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is ideally located for holidays in La Palma. Bus stop, restaurants, the beach, car rentals, groceries etc. are just round the corner. It is also close to the airport, but - fear not. There are very few planes landing on La Palma. During our stay there were never more than 8 per day - there are very few regular conections to La Palma. Planes never fly at night. Comparing to West London - an island of silence.
Rooms are very generous in size, well maintained, in very good decorative order, very comfortable.
Two remarks - the hotel does not provide two bedroom apartments, so in case of family with teenagers you either squeeze in single bedroom apartment (doable, but a bit inconvenient) or book two single bedroom apartments (doable, but more expensive and not very supportive of family life). Secondly - the wheels of cleaning ladies' troleys are disastrously loud. If you dream about sleeping out your problems, catching up with your naps - forget it. Practically during the whole day the rumble of troleys being pushed through corridors, on pavements outside, in rooms above cannot be overheard. Planes are nothing comparing to this.
The staff was always very friendly and supportive. We would like to great Petra, who was always very professional, helpful and solved every of our few problems.
In terms of management we were a bit put of with the large deposits (15 euro) asked for every item rented from the reception. The hotel either suffered from pool-towel-thieves in the past? Anyway - it was extremely inconvenient to carry 15 euro in cash anytime you want to have some fun in the hotel. This distrust was also quite discouraging.
The hotel restaurant offers good quality food and nice ambiance, however we preferred to eat outside just to experience a bit of La Palma's ordinary life. Eating in Las Olas was always a very good option in terms of quality, variety and price anyway and we used this backup few times.
The pool. Great, nice retreat, well maintained etc. etc. however based on the pre-travel information we were expecting one of the pools to be heated. And it was not. I have to admit that at the end we were swimming in the pool anyway, despite the freezing entrance. But lack of heated pool was a disappointment.
Entertainment - we are not fans, but the Spanishman with the guitar was such a delight that we spent the evening listening to his music. Good selection of books in the micro-free-library. We stayed in La Palma building. There is a nice restaurant on the ground floor, playing jazz in the weekends. Absolute hit.

Room Tip: We can recommend La Palma building. All rooms have sea views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zimag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Las Olas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 56 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was our second stay in 2 years at Las Olas Aparthotel on arguably the greenest Canary island of them all, Santa Cruz de La Palma. Plus points - the hotel/car rental deal is very good value, the hotel comfortable with all the usual facilities and mature gardens with interesting flowering trees and bushes. We opted for half-board which includes more than sufficient breakfast choices with lots of fresh fruit (but why oh why is the orange juice a diluted cordial and not real orange juice, this is Spain after all !) and the evening buffet style meal was fine and changed every day. The staff are friendly and helpful with cleaning every day, towels changed as necessary and linen once; not all the rooms with views have balconies though, so specify when you book. There is a fridge and small kitchen with 2 hotplates, enough to boil water and make coffee etc. Airport transfer time to this quiet location is exceptional, 10 minutes. We had a good holiday with sun (February both times) but it has to be said the hotel and furnishings are now looking a little tired, just one BBC World Channel and CNN on a pre-flat screen, small box TV with 12 Spanish channels is barely sufficient these days. Overall, very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Elena9694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank 재완 임
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Välj ett rum med havsutsikt och så högt upp som möjligt
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sumos135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Johan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brena Baja
0.3 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
974 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#1 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
587 reviews
12.0 mi away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 6 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
571 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel
Sol La Palma Hotel
#1 of 6 in Puerto Naos
1,013 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
Hotel Hacienda De Abajo
#1 of 9 in Tazacorte
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Olas

Address: Calle Cancajos S/n, 38712 Brena Baja, La Palma, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Brena Baja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Brena Baja
Price Range: $65 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Olas 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Las Olas La Palma/Brena Baja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing