We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Migjorn Gran
Certificate of Excellence
lichfield
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in September for our wedding anniversary. Our first child free holiday in 10 years. We stayed in a superior double in the outer building. The room was certainly 4 stars with a small terrace to sit outside. Andres and Ana were so helpful and gave us lots of good tips on beaches to visit.
The hotel is so peaceful will lovely views across the countryside to the sea.
The food was delicious we had breakfast and a couple of dinners. It is a fairly small menu for dinner and I'm not sure how often it changes but suited us for a couple of nights. The quality of the food was superb.
The hotel is a short drive from Migjorn Gran up a single lane road with only a few passing places, I wouldn't have liked driving but didn't bother my husband. We walked down to Migjorn Gran one evening for dinner - plenty of restaurants to choose from and only a 10-15 min walk but take a torch as not lit.
We didn't use the pool as went to the beaches and sightseeing but it looked lovely.
Wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LichfieldCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
94
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Binigaus is a little piece of heaven. We spent 5 nights here on the final leg of our honeymoon in Spain, and it was the perfect way to end the trip and completely unwind. Andres and Ana at the concierge are so amazingly thoughtful and helpful. Andres was in touch well in advance of the trip to inform us of things to do on the island and even reserved our rental car for us. Every day, they would recommend activities and restaurants based on our mood and desires, and never led us astray! The hotel space and grounds are peaceful, thoughtful, simple, and stylish. We loved listening to the goats near by and hearing roosters in the morning. They also have an honor bar system where you can get snacks and drinks at all hours- definitely try the local gin and tonic with lemon! We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallymcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great place, in the middle of Menorca that is really wonderful. Maybe it is not so cheap and the rooms are not 4 or 5 stars, but the complex is brilliant. All the buildings, all the exterior and all the common places are perfect and very well mantained. Two or three days in Binigaus are the best vay to see the island, but if you spend more time there it is better to take an apartment. Avoid the buisy Mahon and Citadela and try to find something in the middle of Menorca, so you can see everyday different places .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 405AB2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This converted farm, where they still breed cows and horses (ask for an early morning ride with Marti...), has found the right balance between being a stylish retreat with excellent service and family-house where Anna and her colleagues will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. It is a healthy 45' walk down to the beach across the propriety (or 15' drive) that gets you ready for a short but hype-fresh dinner menu (and wine selection). Located in the center of the island, Binigaus Vell is an ideal home base to go visiting this charming island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Four_Parisians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for 5-days in August and it was the perfect retreat from the crowds. Although the hotel was fully booked for our entire stay, it never felt crowded, even though there were children of all ages staying at the hotel . This alone is amazing, but this was just the start. Beyond this...

(i) The location is beautiful. It is midway between Ciutadella and Mahon and is an easy drive to many gorgeous beaches and/or jumping off points to get to many gorgeous beaches. It is apparently about a 30-40 minute walk to a beautiful rural beach and is a short drive to the beaches of Sant Tomas. It is in the middle of beautiful fields, small farms, and sheep. The closest town is within walking distance and provides basic services - super market, cafe, pharmacy, etc.

(ii) The grounds itself were well-landscaped and incredibly well kept-up. The house is a beautifully restored old farm house and the additional apartments on site fit nicely with the landscape. There were little touches such as the cheese press, the ox plow etc, that add an old-world feel and charm to the location as well.

(iii) The accommodations were comfortable, simple but tastefully decorated, modern, clean, and quiet! There are three tiers of rooms - those in the hotel, then the double superior rooms, and then the junior suites. The double superiors and junior suites are small-bungalow types of structures set in rows and within sight of the hotel. The junior suites have an extra sitting room (with a pull out bed) and a front porch that overlooks a beautiful vista including views of the pool and in the distance, the ocean. The double superior rooms are a little further away from the main area down a longer path. They have just the bedroom and a bathroom, with a small sitting area outside, in front, that doesn't have much of a view (the walk path and a wall) but it was a nice post-swim area to relax and a good place to hang wet clothes. What I was amazed by was how quiet the rooms were. Not only were there guests on either side of us (and one with a small child), but there were children all over the hotel and yet, we were not once woken up at any point by anyone. To me this is incredible!

(iv) The service was personalized and incredible - Anna and Andreas in particular are wonderful. First, before we arrived, Anna sent me the menu and an alternative vegetarian menu from which I could order as long as I gave them a day's notice. Even though the main menu had a veggie option for each course, it was such a treat to have an additional menu with multiple possibilities for both starters and main courses. Furthermore, we arrived at 8am and were able to check into our room at this time and start enjoying the services. Once there, Anna and Andreas were at the hotel from early in the morning until late at night and were always willing and able to answer our questions. What´s more, they both have extensive knowledge of the island, and provide a wonderful introduction to the beaches, the differences between the north and south side, the types of services available, etc. Lastly, on the day of check-out we missed breakfast as we hadn't realized what time our flight was. Without even having to ask, Andreas took off the breakfast we had charged the first day we arrived (which was not part of the payment) since we missed our last day's breakfast (due to our poor planning). This type of thoughtfulness is representative of the level of customer service provided there.

(v) The food was pleasant and good quality. The breakfast was plentiful - with fruit, cheese, meats, tortilla and several different pastries and breads. It was also possible to order eggs. There is a self-serve bar with a selection of drinks (and potato chips) for off-meal times which was convenient. The dinners also were really well-prepared and provided a nice selection of fish, meat, and veggie dishes. And, the terrace where you eat is beautiful - nestled under several large trees with views of the ocean in the distance and farmland in between.

There were a few things that I would have liked to change, but these are personal idiosyncrasies that probably for most are irrelevant.
(i) I like sleeping with the windows open. However, the expectation is that you will sleep with the doors closed and the AC on (which we did, and enjoyed it :)). However, I would have liked the option to have more windows (there was only the window in the bathroom and the front doors) which we could have kept open at night in lieu of the air conditioning or to have a screen so that keeping the front door open wouldn't seem quite so invasive (as it opens directly onto the bed).
(ii) I found the lay-out of the paths in general, a little curious, as one of the main walking paths goes directly in front of the sitting rooms for the junior suites. Although these have nice privacy screens between them, they all look out onto this path and the doors to the rooms do as well. Similarly, the double superior rooms seemed like they could have had a wonderful view out the back of them (where the bathroom was), but the rooms were oriented to the front, where the walking path was. So, you walk past everyone's outside sitting area and can look into their room through the front doors there (although there are two layers of curtains in front of the doors to prevent this). This was never a problem, but it did seem like a strange choice in lay-out.
(iii) The pool is very scenic and has an interesting organic shape. However, it was not very deep, not very cold, and is salty. The organic shape made it hard to do much in the pool besides lounge and play with kids (e.g., swim laps).

This was our first trip to Menorca. But, based on the reviews from the other hotels in league with Binigaus Vell, I think Binigaus Vell is clearly a stand-out. I hope we have the opportunity to go back!

Off topic - 3 other recommendations:
(i) Menocar or Owners Direct seems to have the cheapest prices for cars on the island.
(ii) If you rent from Menocar, you pay for whatever gas is in the tank and then return it empty. DO NOT GET A FULL TANK OF GAS. You will not need it. We drove everyday (for 5 days) and barely made it to half-way.
(iii) We rented a motor boat for a few hours and it was a blast zipping from rural beach to rural beach. This would never have occurred to us except a friend recommended it. It's a fun and easy way to see the island and some of the less accessible areas. Kayaking also is a must.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ln2inSegovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked our family holiday one year ago and were not disappointed by the wait!! Andreas, Anna (especially) and the staff made our stay very special. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food is of a very high standard and our junior suite with terrace was perfect with young children. We could not fault anything at all. I am a Menorca veteran (11 visits since 1978) and this hotel blows everything else out of the water....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldfield89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We have just enjoyed a wonderful meal at this beautiful rural hotel in the beautiful Menorcan countryside. We booked in advance as the hotel was full and it took us back to the peace and tranquility of Menorca many years ago, sitting outside listening to the crickets in good company and impeccable service.
The food was just what we wanted, no overfacing portions of the same old menus but cooked to order and really special. We had a homemade pate and glazed endives with perfectly cooked scallops with a tangy dressing, roast sucling pig and lamb for mains and delicious and beautifully presented desserts. I would say the experience easily rivalled our meal at Koldo Royo in Palma when it held a Michelin star and the price of approx 30 euros a head without wines etc value for money. My brandy would have been a double in England and was well priced.
I would definitely like to return and probably stay at this rural hotel. There are stunning walks nearby to the gorge and the Cueva d'en Colon known as the Cathedral

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dettorifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Migjorn Gran
10.4 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,248 reviews
10.6 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
13.8 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
6.7 mi away
Hotel Torralbenc
Hotel Torralbenc
#3 of 10 in Alaior
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell

Property: Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell
Address: Cami de Binigaus km 0.9, 07749 Migjorn Gran, Minorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Migjorn Gran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Migjorn Gran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ancient menorcan farm restored as a 4 stars rural-country hotel. Binigaus Vell counts 20 rooms, refurbished respecting the original menorcan style. They all have any possible convenience (TV, telephone, Internet, safety deposit box, bathroom, etc.). Situated at less than 1 km from the beautiful village of Es Migjorn Gran and at less than 3 km from the sandy beaches of Binigaus and Sant Tomas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell Minorca/Migjorn Gran, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing