We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ambience, lovely food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Migjorn Gran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We have just enjoyed a wonderful meal at this beautiful rural hotel in the beautiful Menorcan countryside. We booked in advance as the hotel was full and it took us back to the peace and tranquility of Menorca many years ago, sitting outside listening to the crickets in good company and impeccable service.
The food was just what we wanted, no overfacing portions of the same old menus but cooked to order and really special. We had a homemade pate and glazed endives with perfectly cooked scallops with a tangy dressing, roast sucling pig and lamb for mains and delicious and beautifully presented desserts. I would say the experience easily rivalled our meal at Koldo Royo in Palma when it held a Michelin star and the price of approx 30 euros a head without wines etc value for money. My brandy would have been a double in England and was well priced.
I would definitely like to return and probably stay at this rural hotel. There are stunning walks nearby to the gorge and the Cueva d'en Colon known as the Cathedral

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Dettorifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 157 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

Beautiful, quiet hotel....some great views all around and incredibly helpful staff! we loved our stay there and it is only a 10min ride to one of the most beautiful beaches in Menorca. Def a great choice if you are ok with rooms who do not have a lot of privacy (double superiors and suites are almost little houses so you enter via a glass door that leads to a small terrace that leads on to a garden). We were a bit dubious at the beginning but our room was quiet and the little chairs outside great to read.

Room Tip: If you dont want to pay full price for junior suite, chose room 6 it is the same as the junior suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Europeancoupleabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights at the end of May/ beginning of June and had a lovely time. It was our first visit to Menorca and we were surprised at how quiet and uncommercialised it was.
Although the hotel was fully booked you would never have known. We wanted a quiet place with a touch of luxury which is exactly what we got. We stayed in the main house in a standard room which was great and although overlooking the pool and main terrace was very quiet - even on lying in in the morning when others were having breakfast outside - excellent insulation and air con meant we slept like babies. Andres and Anna were so friendly and helpful without being overbearing, always happy to answer any questions.
The hotel is well placed for visiting the nearby beaches - we walked down to unspoilt Binigaus beach through the nearby gorge - a beautiful walk but take lots of water, especially for the trek back! This beach although unspoilt is a five minute walk along to the beach bars of Santo Tomas which is more tourist orientated but not overly so, at least not when we were there. We also drove to Turqueta beach which was not commercialised but busy ( perhaps should have avoided Sunday visit). One thing to bear in mind is the lack of shade on many of the beaches so remember to take a brolly!
The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious, with a self service buffet and helpful staff to hand if needed. Dinners were excellent value, so much so that we ate here every night (€30for three courses). It was lovely to come back from a day out exploring to sit on the terrace or by the pool with a drink (from the honesty bar) or a bottle of wine watching the sun go down before strolling over to the terrace for dinner.
We would go back tomorrow if we could.

Room Tip: Standard room was fine, there are suites available for small family groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshSian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I stayed for four nights in May 2012 in this very comfortable, rural hotel. Excellently appointed, full of character and charm. The staff were extremely helpful and a big thank-you to both Andres and to Anna who had many helpful suggestions about the local area. Very quiet (which is what I wanted), I stayed in the main house in a ground floor room which had a small outside area to enjoy the morning sun. Slightly disappointed that there was no bathrobe or towelling slippers. As a 4-star property, I would have expected this - as well as a box of tissues in the bathroom. But this is probably a little picky as I did very much enjoy my stay. Excellent food - superb breakfast buffet and very good dinners. Sitting by the lovely pool was a real pleasure and oh, so beautifully quiet except for the utterly charming bird song. I did visit the stud farm to photograph the horses but, despite making an arrangement of the day & time to arrive, there was no-one there to greet me for at least half an hour and I was beginning to think I was trespassing. The area is just stunningly beautiful and the village of Migjorn Gran is charming. I can recommend walking along one of the Cami des Cavills walks to find unspoilt coast and countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kennedy-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Thank you thank you thank you to the wonderful staff at Binigaus Vell. Anna - what can I say...what a fanatastic week you gave me with your amazing team. I loved my room - I relaxed and had fun and sooooo enjoyed your very kind and thoughful hospitality! Thank you to the patient kitchen for the veggie menu! Thank you to Marti and his stallion for showing us the 'Bot' (not sure of the spelling!) and your dressage moves - the stud is amazing! Do go and visit - I'm heading back for my holiday next year!

Room Tip: I would be happy to stay in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FenellaB776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Rural Buinigaus Vell for our honeymoon for 6 nights. The hotel, grounds, and views were fantastic. The room was clean and modern and perfect for our stay. We loved having the small private terrace to enjoy a happy hour before dinner. The staff went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay in Menorca. We cannot say enough good things about Anna, who always had a smile and a recommendation. Also, we found the location, outside of Migjorn Gran, to be very convient. It is pretty much in the middle of the island (on the southern side) and is easy to get anywhere you need to go. My husband and I would go back in a second and definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amymay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

This review is long overdue...

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in September 2010 as part of our honeymoon and we couldn't have been happier with our experience. From the moment we arrived, we felt very welcomed and the staff made themselves available to assist with local knowledge and advice.

We stayed in the separate building off the main house and had a nice patio to sit out on and enjoy wine and the great local cheese. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. As one reviewer put it, they have managed to keep the charm of the farmhouse while updated the amenities.

We dined at the very good restaurant two nights, and ventured into Mijorn Gran fro dinner the other two nights. The hotel restaurant was excellent and very reasonable. Breakfast was also very good, with eggs made to order and a generous offering of fruit, cheese, meat, and bread.

I think one of the best parts of this property is the location on the island. You are centrally located, halfway between the two main port cities, short drive to the north, close to a great, albeit sleepy, town in Mijorn Gran, and within walking (moderate hike) distance to one of the most beautiful virgin beaches on the island.

We hope to return to Menorca in the future, almost as much for this hotel as for the wonderful culture and food on the island. You will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jryallbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Migjorn Gran
6.7 mi away
Hotel Torralbenc
Hotel Torralbenc
#3 of 10 in Alaior
229 reviews
10.6 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
#1 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
931 reviews
12.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Jardi de ses Bruixes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,375 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
412 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell

Address: Cami de Binigaus km 0.9, 07749 Migjorn Gran, Menorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Migjorn Gran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Migjorn Gran
Price Range: $189 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ancient menorcan farm restored as a 4 stars rural-country hotel. Binigaus Vell counts 20 rooms, refurbished respecting the original menorcan style. They all have any possible convenience (TV, telephone, Internet, safety deposit box, bathroom, etc.). Situated at less than 1 km from the beautiful village of Es Migjorn Gran and at less than 3 km from the sandy beaches of Binigaus and Sant Tomas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell Menorca/Migjorn Gran, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing