We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice eating experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Picadero

El Picadero
Ranked #69 of 217 Restaurants in Mahon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the outskirts of Mahon and Sant Lluis, the restaurant is set in lovely gardens with a children's play area. Customers can dine al fresco or in the air-conditioned restaurant and can choose from the a la carte or snack menus or opt for the menu of the day or evening both of which offer ample choices at very reasonable prices. Specialities include paellas, traditional Sunday Roasts and Fish & Chips.
Birmingham U.K.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A very nice eating experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went on the recommendation of a friend who lives locally, and were not disapponted. The staff were most welcoming, the food was tasty and the portions were more than adequate, and added to this, the house wine was very good. I managed ( Just ) to eat three courses but my wife could just get through two. The restaurant is in a lovely surrounding to add to the pleasure. We left feeling as if we had been treated in a special manner, but it seems everyone is welcomed in this way. You can even have Fish, chips and mushy peas on the lunch menu it seems, though the restaurant mainly caters for Mediterranean food, I'm glad to say. I recommend heartily.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patbermac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Based on reviews and some local recommendation we had lunch here on the way to the airport for a late afternoon flight. We found the 13 euro menu el dia to be excellent value. There was a wide choice of starter, main and sweet, and bread and a drink was included. The food was prepared and presented to a high standard and the service was friendly and helpful. Other plus points are that there is free wifi and paellas and rice dishes can be cooked for one person. It is a little off the beaten track but if you are staying in the Mahon, San Luis or Es Castell area then I would thoroughly recommend a visit. And, as I said, an excellent stop on the way to the airport wherever you are coming from.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank howhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cala'n Porter, Spain
Level Contributor
322 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting with delightful cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

During September I went along at lunchtime and took the family for the Menu del dia which is on offer and on this occasion for 13.00€ we had a delightful three course lunch served with a very nice house wine included in the cost.

Lets be honest for £11 roughly the choice was brilliant and all cooked with attention to detail

Myself & partner shared a Seafood Paella as one of the main courses and was simply amazed at the great quality on offer and would recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Having looked at there other menus also in the evening there is a Night Menu at 19€ plus a la carte and to be honest prices were of great value and also a lovely team of staff were very attentive making sure diners were well looked after.

If you fancy something off the beaten track.. then look no further

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Loved everything about this restaurant and left feeling as though i should have paid more for the fantastic food!

YOU NEED TO GO HERE!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly staff, superb service, delicious varied food and excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We came upon this lovely restaurant whilst out driving and are very glad that we did. First of all, the staff were very welcoming and made us feel special. Despite being just off a busy main road, not far from Mao / Mahon / Sant Lluis, once in the restaurant area (inside air-conditioned or lovely outside garden), all was peaceful and relaxed. The food is a mixture of simpler fair such as entrecôte steak, roast chicken etc. and much more traditional Spanish fair - paella, fresh tuna ratatouille, grilled hake, shellfish stew etc. Service was an excellent blend between attentive service and leaving us in peace to relax and enjoy the evening.
The fixed price menu which the family had was excellent value - an all in price including 3-course meal, wine, bread, water only cost €15 each - superb value for money and with a good selection of tempting items.
The food that we had was excellent, the setting was beautiful and it was excellent value for money. We would definitely go back and would highly recommend it o others.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raphael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Picadero also viewed

 

Been to El Picadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing